This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2008-02-09 19:44:06

TomxMorello
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-02-09
Posts: 1

How do i make a "start" menu?

I want to have a menu at the beginning of my game. So i was wondering how i go about this?

Offline

 

#2 2008-02-09 19:45:30

Mayhem
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-05-26
Posts: 1000+

Re: How do i make a "start" menu?

You build it out of sprites that appear at the start of the game but that disappear when the selection has been made.


Web-spinning Spider:  http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/Mayhem/18456
3D Dungeon Adventure:  http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/Mayhem/23570
Starfighter X: http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/Mayhem/21825
Wandering Knight: http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/Mayhem/28484

Offline

 

#3 2008-03-14 16:27:44

Doftis
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-03-07
Posts: 2

Re: How do i make a "start" menu?

Check some of mine and download them so you can see how I did  wink  and belive me the way I do menus on are really easy just take some few minutes ^^

Offline

 

#4 2008-03-14 16:51:12

47fg74
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-10-30
Posts: 100+

Re: How do i make a "start" menu?

just make sprites that say things like "start" "help" etc and if click they do  this


What emo means....
E is for emontional ruins everbodies day
M is for misrable people
O is for on the dark side... cause we have some fresh cookies

Offline

 

#5 2008-03-14 17:47:01

EdnaC
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-08-28
Posts: 100+

Re: How do i make a "start" menu?

One approach is sprites that say the instructions, another is sprites that are just text.

Text Menu: http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/EdnaC/81934

Sweet "talking" menu: http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/EdnaC/33613

I usually test for a key to be pressed, but many Scratchrs use clicking on a sprite to start their game.  Chalkmarrow has some really nifty menus that you should check out...

-MrEd

Offline

 

#6 2008-03-16 13:51:38

kevin_karplus
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-04-27
Posts: 1000+

Re: How do i make a "start" menu?

You can also make a menu with fewer sprites by having position-dependent actions based on clicks.  I've used this for both rubber stamps and piano keyboards:

http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/kevin_karplus/12280
http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/kevin_karplus/2160

Offline

 

#7 2008-04-02 17:05:41

stevii
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-01-19
Posts: 10

Re: How do i make a "start" menu?

this is how i do it.


put this in the stage

<when green flag clicked>
<switch to costume[ menu

then do this to start the game:
make a new sprite called:Start Button
and put these scripts into it


<when green flag clicked>
<forever>
<if><< <mouse down?> <and> <touching[ mousepointer >>
<broadcast[ level1



now do this in the same sprite

<when I receive[ level1
<hide>


<when green flag clicked>
<show>


And finaly put this in the stage:


<when I receive[ level1
<switch to costume[ 1stlevel


and that should do it! big_smile

Last edited by stevii (2008-04-02 17:08:08)

Offline

 

Board footer