This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2013-04-10 17:05:36

smith1031
Scratcher
Registered: 2012-04-30
Posts: 22

Making multiple sprites move at once

How do I make multiple sprites move at once? What is the procedure?

Offline

 

#2 2013-04-10 18:30:46

ErnieParke
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-12-03
Posts: 1000+

Re: Making multiple sprites move at once

Well, one simple way you could do this is:

when gf clicked
wait (1) secs
glide (1) secs to x: (0) y: (90)

And now you have that in every sprite that you want to move at the same time. Another way is through broadcasts:

broadcast [Move! v]

Also, have this in whatever you want to move:

when I receive [Move! v]
glide (12) secs to x: (5) y: (90)

Now, just use the broadcast block in the middle of the scripts above and you should have everything move at the same time.

Just to say, there are other methods by which you can accomplish this, though you'll need to be a bit more specific before I can start giving them because each situation is unique.

Anyway, I hope that this helps! Also, hello smith1031 and welcome to Scratch! I wish you an awesome time here!  smile

With regards,

ErnieParke

Last edited by ErnieParke (2013-04-10 18:31:20)


http://i46.tinypic.com/35ismmc.png

Offline

 

#3 2013-04-10 20:16:52

smith1031
Scratcher
Registered: 2012-04-30
Posts: 22

Re: Making multiple sprites move at once

Ernie:

I have about 20 or 25 sprites that need to move! Thanks so much! I am still uncertain how to do this. If you can, got to my profile and the simulation I am working with is posted. The actual notes for what I am trying to accomplish are there. Thank you again!

Offline

 

#4 2013-04-10 20:56:35

ErnieParke
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-12-03
Posts: 1000+

Re: Making multiple sprites move at once

smith1031 wrote:

Ernie:

I have about 20 or 25 sprites that need to move! Thanks so much! I am still uncertain how to do this. If you can, got to my profile and the simulation I am working with is posted. The actual notes for what I am trying to accomplish are there. Thank you again!

Well it's nothing.

Anyway, so you're making a project on photosynthesis. My Biology class had actually learned about the chemical reactions that take place awhile ago, and this project sounds like fun!

Anyway, I only have a few minutes before I have to go to bed, and I can't really accomplish much in that time, and so I'll get started tomorrow. ;)

With regards,

ErnieParke


http://i46.tinypic.com/35ismmc.png

Offline

 

#5 2013-04-11 00:42:52

smith1031
Scratcher
Registered: 2012-04-30
Posts: 22

Re: Making multiple sprites move at once

Thanks man!!!

Offline

 

#6 2013-04-11 19:19:11

ErnieParke
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-12-03
Posts: 1000+

Re: Making multiple sprites move at once

smith1031 wrote:

Thanks man!!!

Well, it's nothing.  wink

Anyway, I just finished setting up the system to do multiple sprite movement in your project, and I even did 3/5 of the "animation". The other 2/5 of it I couldn't really do because by that point, I didn't fully understand one of the sentences in your project notes, though I think that you should be able to finish it from there.

Well here's your project!

Le Epic Link

With regards,

ErnieParke


http://i46.tinypic.com/35ismmc.png

Offline

 

#7 2013-04-12 03:40:53

smith1031
Scratcher
Registered: 2012-04-30
Posts: 22

Re: Making multiple sprites move at once

WOW WOW WOW!!! I am so indebted to you!!!! Infinite thanks my friend!!! I have a few questions. Maybe you can show me how to do this?? I do not want you to feel like I am taking advantage of you and take up all of your time!! The questions are: The 2H's that moved into the red and blue sprite, actually need to move above them and not actually on them, how do I fix that? The second question is those same H's must move through the last sprite (the purple one) thereby causing the production of ATP, so when that happens, those ATP sprites ; when those electrons go to those plants on the far right side of the screen, a hydrogen atom needs to connect with the NADP molecule; finally when those hydrogens flow through the very last sprite, that needs to cause the formation of ATP by adding a p to the ADP molecules listed on the page. I updated the simulation and it now contains the p and the ADP molecules. It is under my profile and is listed as photosynthesis 2. Thanks again and I hope I am not usurping all of your time!

Offline

 

#8 2013-04-14 10:07:41

smith1031
Scratcher
Registered: 2012-04-30
Posts: 22

Re: Making multiple sprites move at once

WOW WOW WOW!!! I am so indebted to you!!!! Infinite thanks my friend!!! I have a few questions. Maybe you can show me how to do this?? I do not want you to feel like I am taking advantage of you and take up all of your time!! The questions are: The 2H's that moved into the red and blue sprite, actually need to move above them and not actually on them, how do I fix that? The second question is those same H's must move through the last sprite (the purple one) thereby causing the production of ATP, so when that happens, those ATP sprites ; when those electrons go to those plants on the far right side of the screen, a hydrogen atom needs to connect with the NADP molecule; finally when those hydrogens flow through the very last sprite, that needs to cause the formation of ATP by adding a p to the ADP molecules listed on the page. I updated the simulation and it now contains the p and the ADP molecules. It is under my profile and is listed as photosynthesis 2. Thanks again and I hope I am not usurping all of your time! I need to pay you!

Offline

 

#9 2013-04-14 21:02:50

ErnieParke
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-12-03
Posts: 1000+

Re: Making multiple sprites move at once

smith1031 wrote:

WOW WOW WOW!!! I am so indebted to you!!!! Infinite thanks my friend!!! I have a few questions. Maybe you can show me how to do this?? I do not want you to feel like I am taking advantage of you and take up all of your time!! The questions are: The 2H's that moved into the red and blue sprite, actually need to move above them and not actually on them, how do I fix that? The second question is those same H's must move through the last sprite (the purple one) thereby causing the production of ATP, so when that happens, those ATP sprites ; when those electrons go to those plants on the far right side of the screen, a hydrogen atom needs to connect with the NADP molecule; finally when those hydrogens flow through the very last sprite, that needs to cause the formation of ATP by adding a p to the ADP molecules listed on the page. I updated the simulation and it now contains the p and the ADP molecules. It is under my profile and is listed as photosynthesis 2. Thanks again and I hope I am not usurping all of your time! I need to pay you!

You aren't usurping all of my time, and you've already paid me by being so kind. Besides, I enjoy helping people.

Anyway, for fixing the fact that the 2H's aren't in place, you need to go into the 2H sprite itself, find the event that triggered then to go where they did, and change the position that I put into the block so that they go to the correct place.

As for you're second question, that's not much of a question at all, though I still get what you need. I'll be able to do it for you tomorrow. ;)

With regards,

ErnieParke

Last edited by ErnieParke (2013-04-14 21:03:03)


http://i46.tinypic.com/35ismmc.png

Offline

 

#10 2013-04-15 00:19:02

smith1031
Scratcher
Registered: 2012-04-30
Posts: 22

Re: Making multiple sprites move at once

How do I do that?

Offline

 

#11 2013-04-15 00:26:16

smith1031
Scratcher
Registered: 2012-04-30
Posts: 22

Re: Making multiple sprites move at once

How do I know which events are which?

Offline

 

#12 2013-04-15 06:59:19

ErnieParke
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-12-03
Posts: 1000+

Re: Making multiple sprites move at once

smith1031 wrote:

How do I know which events are which?

I'll answer you're other question soon, though for this one, the first event is the one that happens first in your project, the second is the event that happens second, the third event happens third, and so on. Remember, whenever something starts gliding, or gliding in a new direction, then a new event just started.

If you still need to figure out which event is which, then you could pull out a broadcast block and broadcast the event as a test to see what happens.

With regards,

ErnieParke


http://i46.tinypic.com/35ismmc.png

Offline

 

#13 2013-04-16 01:06:22

smith1031
Scratcher
Registered: 2012-04-30
Posts: 22

Re: Making multiple sprites move at once

show me how it would look if I did the broadcast bar?

Offline

 

#14 2013-04-16 17:42:30

ErnieParke
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-12-03
Posts: 1000+

Re: Making multiple sprites move at once

smith1031 wrote:

show me how it would look if I did the broadcast bar?

What do you mean by the broadcast bar? Do you mean the broadcast block?

With regards,

ErnieParke


http://i46.tinypic.com/35ismmc.png

Offline

 

#15 2013-04-17 01:44:45

smith1031
Scratcher
Registered: 2012-04-30
Posts: 22

Re: Making multiple sprites move at once

yes, I mean broadcast block

Offline

 

Board footer