This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2009-02-06 09:43:13

alexpja
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-12
Posts: 100+

Programming new program from old program...

Hi. I am making Color Draw in a new way and I can't seem to program the stylus to not write on the grey. I did this in Color Draw but these are two different styluses and they are programmed differently. Please help. Oh, if you would like to see what I am talking about, go to the project. The project notes will tell you what to do. Please reply if you know how to fix this. Link: http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/alexpjaTest/406614

Best Regards,

Alexander Aleszczyk
Chicago, IL

Last edited by alexpja (2009-02-06 09:44:45)


Sorry for never being on... I'm on Onverse now. So get inside, and Onverse yourself. Cya 'round.

Offline

 

#2 2009-02-06 09:53:33

yambanshee
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-06
Posts: 500+

Re: Programming new program from old program...

it works, but it doesint show because its the same colour as the background. Try selecting the black pen with a bold line. colour in a small area and select the gray. Place it down where the black was and you can see that the replaces the black. If you want some ideas for a paint project, my paint project has alot of diffrent things it can do, such as draw squares dynamicly, stright lines, curved lines ect... http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/yambanshee/299660

Offline

 

#3 2009-02-06 09:55:43

alexpja
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-12
Posts: 100+

Re: Programming new program from old program...

I'll try this but I might reply back if the thing is not working.

Best Regards,

Alexander Aleszczyk
Chicago, IL


Sorry for never being on... I'm on Onverse now. So get inside, and Onverse yourself. Cya 'round.

Offline

 

#4 2009-02-06 10:00:43

alexpja
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-12
Posts: 100+

Re: Programming new program from old program...

Still draws. I don't understand the outline, is it this: http://i310.photobucket.com/albums/kk426/alexaleszczyk_2008/ggj.gif
I added a black outline next to the grey on the right. It still draws. Am I doing this right?

Best Regards,

Alexander Aleszczyk
Chicago, IL

Last edited by alexpja (2009-02-06 10:05:43)


Sorry for never being on... I'm on Onverse now. So get inside, and Onverse yourself. Cya 'round.

Offline

 

#5 2009-02-06 10:12:46

alexpja
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-12
Posts: 100+

Re: Programming new program from old program...

Oh, now I understand. But this wont work either. I changed the tip of the pen to green and it still colors on grey. http://i310.photobucket.com/albums/kk426/alexaleszczyk_2008/costume-2.jpg

Best Regards,

Alexander Aleszczyk
Chicago, IL

Last edited by alexpja (2009-02-06 10:13:20)


Sorry for never being on... I'm on Onverse now. So get inside, and Onverse yourself. Cya 'round.

Offline

 

#6 2009-02-06 10:34:30

yambanshee
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-06
Posts: 500+

Re: Programming new program from old program...

ohh... you want it not to colour in on the gray area?

Offline

 

#7 2009-02-06 10:36:16

alexpja
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-12
Posts: 100+

Re: Programming new program from old program...

Yes!!!

alexpja wrote:

I can't seem to make the stylus to not write on the grey...

YESS!!!


Sorry for never being on... I'm on Onverse now. So get inside, and Onverse yourself. Cya 'round.

Offline

 

#8 2009-02-06 10:36:21

yambanshee
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-06
Posts: 500+

Re: Programming new program from old program...

if so, on the pen sprite simply add a if statement on your pen down/up script that looks something like this:
if(Not Touching colour(gray))
pen up/down script
end if

Offline

 

#9 2009-02-06 10:38:01

yambanshee
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-06
Posts: 500+

Re: Programming new program from old program...

alexpja wrote:

Yes!!!

alexpja wrote:

I can't seem to make the stylus to not write on the grey...

YESS!!!

oops :s. Shows my listen- ugh reading ability

Last edited by yambanshee (2009-02-06 10:38:40)

Offline

 

#10 2009-02-06 10:38:49

alexpja
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-12
Posts: 100+

Re: Programming new program from old program...

Repeat that.

If TOUCHING GREY
PEN UP

I did that and it still colored.


Sorry for never being on... I'm on Onverse now. So get inside, and Onverse yourself. Cya 'round.

Offline

 

#11 2009-02-06 10:46:53

yambanshee
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-06
Posts: 500+

Re: Programming new program from old program...

http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/yambanhee_extras/406661
doesint work quite well.
Your other option is having the gray area be a sprite. The pen tool draws underneith all sprites.

Offline

 

#12 2009-02-06 10:48:45

alexpja
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-12
Posts: 100+

Re: Programming new program from old program...

still draws. ill make it into a sprite then


Sorry for never being on... I'm on Onverse now. So get inside, and Onverse yourself. Cya 'round.

Offline

 

#13 2009-02-06 11:00:10

yambanshee
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-06
Posts: 500+

Re: Programming new program from old program...

is it working for you, making it into a sprite?

Offline

 

#14 2009-02-06 11:18:00

alexpja
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-12
Posts: 100+

Re: Programming new program from old program...

yes. i need you to download a project i will put up in a sec and try to make the stylus to draw on white, red, green, and blue because its not working. link: http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/alexpjaTest/406693

Last edited by alexpja (2009-02-06 11:20:05)


Sorry for never being on... I'm on Onverse now. So get inside, and Onverse yourself. Cya 'round.

Offline

 

#15 2009-02-07 02:00:57

yambanshee
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-06
Posts: 500+

Re: Programming new program from old program...

sorry i couldent help, i had to go to bed as it was 12  tongue
looks like mac fixed it thou
http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/ihaveatest/407250

Offline

 

Board footer