This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2009-01-19 18:10:26

fuzzwuzz
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-24
Posts: 87

if i recieve block

If only there was an if "i recieve block"! it would be sooo useful!


Ready for the next generation of scratch??? Try Jaguar!
Add grob the slime to your signature to help him take over the world! http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/3252/gobanim2.gif

Offline

 

#2 2009-01-19 18:26:14

techy
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-12-17
Posts: 100+

Re: if i recieve block

fuzzwuzz wrote:

If only there was an if "i recieve block"! it would be sooo useful!

Me too but until then just use:
<broadcast[ something ]>
<set{ something }to( 1 )>

<if><( <{ something }> <=> 1 )>
Do something
<end>


Guppy Inc. making projects famous!
http://web-geeks.com/techy.gifhttp://web-geeks.com/grid.gifhttp://web-geeks.com/challenge.gif

Offline

 

#3 2009-01-19 19:04:41

hmnwilson
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-07-04
Posts: 1000+

Re: if i recieve block

It's impossible to make because broadcasts aren't booleans. Don't ask why not, they just aren't...

Use the variable way instead.


I'm taking a break from Scratch until 2.0 comes out. Any messages sent between then and now probably won't be read - sorry.
(Oct. 20, 2011)

Offline

 

#4 2009-01-20 13:10:43

yambanshee
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-06
Posts: 500+

Re: if i recieve block

yep, and if youve done alot of broadcasts already do something like
When i receave (BROADCAST1)
var broadcaster = 1
and on the receave script
if(var broadcaster = 1)
broadcaster = 0
do stuff
I got out of the habbit of broadcasts before i went on to flash, which only has variables.

Offline

 

#5 2009-01-20 13:13:53

archmage
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-05-18
Posts: 1000+

Re: if i recieve block

yambanshee wrote:

yep, and if youve done alot of broadcasts already do something like
When i receave (BROADCAST1)
var broadcaster = 1
and on the receave script
if(var broadcaster = 1)
broadcaster = 0
do stuff
I got out of the habbit of broadcasts before i went on to flash, which only has variables.

Flash lets you use functions which are far more useful.


Hi, I am Archmage coder extraordinaire. I do Scratch,pascal,java,php,html, AS2 and AS3. Leave me a message if you want coding advice. Also check out my personal website, lots of good stuff about web development, Flash, and Scratch (v1 and v2) !

Offline

 

#6 2009-01-20 13:27:12

yambanshee
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-06
Posts: 500+

Re: if i recieve block

as arch said  tongue .
a bit of topic but, arch, finaly got the shapeflag working  tongue  made a great rpg run around styled game with power ups and all  tongue . anyways, back on topic.

I find it odd that broadcasts arent boolean. Mabye the scratch team should rethink the way a broad cast and receve works, and use booleans for 1.4

Offline

 

#7 2009-01-20 13:34:12

onedudeuk
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-01-11
Posts: 100+

Re: if i recieve block

archmage wrote:

yambanshee wrote:

yep, and if youve done alot of broadcasts already do something like
When i receave (BROADCAST1)
var broadcaster = 1
and on the receave script
if(var broadcaster = 1)
broadcaster = 0
do stuff
I got out of the habbit of broadcasts before i went on to flash, which only has variables.

Flash lets you use functions which are far more useful.

But flash isn't free...


http://i.imgur.com/1FaX3.gif
http://i.imgur.com/yu0s1.gif

Offline

 

#8 2009-01-20 13:48:52

yambanshee
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-06
Posts: 500+

Re: if i recieve block

onedudeuk wrote:

archmage wrote:

yambanshee wrote:

yep, and if youve done alot of broadcasts already do something like
When i receave (BROADCAST1)
var broadcaster = 1
and on the receave script
if(var broadcaster = 1)
broadcaster = 0
do stuff
I got out of the habbit of broadcasts before i went on to flash, which only has variables.

Flash lets you use functions which are far more useful.

But flash isn't free...

but you can make money from flash, and not with scratch  wink
lets get back on topic though

Offline

 

#9 2009-01-20 19:33:18

EveningSage
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-01-10
Posts: 65

Re: if i recieve block

The If I recieve block would be very useful becase it would make THe files smaller.

Offline

 

#10 2009-01-20 20:38:39

Zelda123
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-21
Posts: 1000+

Re: if i recieve block

EveningSage wrote:

The If I recieve block would be very useful becase it would make THe files smaller.

It would be, if it were possible.

Offline

 

#11 2009-02-01 17:56:09

techy
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-12-17
Posts: 100+

Re: if i recieve block

well the blocks that have the points( < something > ) are booleans.. so
that meens

if (I receive[something])

would mean

if <true/false> is true
execute this code...

so maybe it is possible  big_smile

Last edited by techy (2009-02-01 17:57:17)


Guppy Inc. making projects famous!
http://web-geeks.com/techy.gifhttp://web-geeks.com/grid.gifhttp://web-geeks.com/challenge.gif

Offline

 

#12 2009-02-01 22:50:08

yambanshee
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-06
Posts: 500+

Re: if i recieve block

apparently receave blocks arent boolean, but i have yet to hear that from the mouths of the scratch team

Offline

 

#13 2009-02-02 16:45:53

jeffy24
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-12-23
Posts: 61

Re: if i recieve block

yambanshee wrote:

onedudeuk wrote:

archmage wrote:

Flash lets you use functions which are far more useful.

But flash isn't free...

but you can make money from flash, and not with scratch  wink
lets get back on topic though

How can you possibly make money with flash?!


I'M A CREEPER http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-Fj1t1TmbPtc/UAp3ludvGCI/AAAAAAAAAlI/RXSkO96QN20/s1600/creeper.png

Offline

 

#14 2011-02-05 21:28:46

jeffy24
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-12-23
Posts: 61

Re: if i recieve block

2 YEAR BUMP! BUUUUUUMMMMMMP!!!!


I'M A CREEPER http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-Fj1t1TmbPtc/UAp3ludvGCI/AAAAAAAAAlI/RXSkO96QN20/s1600/creeper.png

Offline

 

Board footer