This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2011-08-04 12:44:59

woofwoof301
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 100+

Infinite Stamping. I need help!

So, for the past couple days, I have been trying to make a tetris game. When I first started, it was pretty easy. Then, I came upon the arduous trouble of clearing lines.

For that to happen, each colored block would need to be logged into a list. Check. But then, I have another problem!

Every Tetris game needs a grid. I made that grid using a dot. Now, I tried to make this project rather similar to eRSTOCK's projects, where you use one sprite to accomplish everything. So, I checked his scripts, checked mine, and then pressed the green flag for the dot to stamp itself into a grid. However, the stamping for my project is not instantaneous, thus creating a very annoying lag where the background stamps very slowly or not at all.

See, I found the only difference between eRKSTOCK's scripts and mine, is, length set aside, that he never used the repeat10 piece. I did. I believe there is a tiny little pause in the repeat10 block, thus making my project look terrible.

This case has happened before. Lately, I uploaded This project hoping that it would run much better online than on my computer. However, it still ran terribly. Check out the project, you will see that the blocks stamp one by one instead of all at a time.

This tetris project is really frustating, and I don't think I can do it myself. Can you guys/girls help me? If all else fails, I'm just going to draw the board.

...

EDIT 8/17/11-
Now, I moved on from Tetris, but am still trying out the stamp/clear method. Its not working, no matter what I do. I try analyzing eRKSTOCK and his notoriously great methods of stamping, but it always lags when I open up his 1s1s project. -___-

Problem- The blocks stamp slowly. Check out the links! They're in blue! One above and one below!  wink

This project right here
doesn't use any repeat blocks. Its slightly less advanced but it is still the same concept. However, it still doesn't work. I'm really not trying to advertise my project, but the flashing gets REALLY annoying.

EDIT 2- I've been doing some Scratch for a while now, so I know all the basics. So, you can go all out and tell me what the biscuit I'm doing wrong. Its all constructive critiscim. Also, because of that, I know what to do. Little things like clearing or stamping were supposed to be there. I put them in there for a reason.

Each frame is supposed to be cleared and refreshed, so that scrolling and tetris clearing becomes possible. Again, for those people trying to debug my program, first of all, thank you very much, and secondly, the clear is supposed to be there.

Help so Far-
AtomicBawm3- He fixed this bug by making every single individual block stamp itself.
This method works, but is extremely hard to edit. There must be shorter way to solve this!

Last edited by woofwoof301 (2011-08-17 22:04:49)

Offline

 

#2 2011-08-04 14:14:11

Magnie
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-12-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

For Tetris, I would suggest instead of updating as fast as possible, only update when it needs to. But since Scratch is slow, it is unlikely to get a super functional game with a lot of stamping.

Offline

 

#3 2011-08-04 17:18:08

Harakou
Community Moderator
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 1000+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

There is actually a slight delay built into the repeat blocks, which may be causing your trouble. It's a little annoying, but you may get better performance if you use 10 identical blocks instead of a repeat 10 block.


http://www.blocks.scratchr.org/API.php?action=random&return=image&link1=http://i.imgur.com/OZn2RD3.png&link2=http://i.imgur.com/duzaGTB.png&link3=http://i.imgur.com/CrDGvvZ.png&link4=http://i.imgur.com/POEpQyZ.png&link5=http://i.imgur.com/ZKJF8ac.png

Offline

 

#4 2011-08-05 03:21:58

detective
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-03-17
Posts: 17

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

Harakou wrote:

There is actually a slight delay built into the repeat blocks, which may be causing your trouble. It's a little annoying, but you may get better performance if you use 10 identical blocks instead of a repeat 10 block.

What Harakou said.

This is why 3D stamping projects don't use the repeat c blocks  wink


https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-H8s3kmt91OA/TgQjkBrJ5hI/AAAAAAAAAVs/e0tOYvVTc_s/detective-sig.png

Offline

 

#5 2011-08-06 17:18:16

woofwoof301
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 100+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

Do you think this tiny tiny hiccup will be patched in 2.0, Harakou?

Oh, and btw, I'll just give up on that Tetris project. The whole one dot one block stamping idea was baloney.

Offline

 

#6 2011-08-06 17:21:16

Harakou
Community Moderator
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 1000+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

woofwoof301 wrote:

Do you think this tiny tiny hiccup will be patched in 2.0, Harakou?

I think it's actually deliberately added to make moving sprites easier, so they don't rush across the screen. There is a suggestion out there to add an option to remove it though; let me see if I can find it.


http://www.blocks.scratchr.org/API.php?action=random&return=image&link1=http://i.imgur.com/OZn2RD3.png&link2=http://i.imgur.com/duzaGTB.png&link3=http://i.imgur.com/CrDGvvZ.png&link4=http://i.imgur.com/POEpQyZ.png&link5=http://i.imgur.com/ZKJF8ac.png

Offline

 

#7 2011-08-07 17:52:05

frogger3140
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-12-15
Posts: 500+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

Harakou wrote:

woofwoof301 wrote:

Do you think this tiny tiny hiccup will be patched in 2.0, Harakou?

I think it's actually deliberately added to make moving sprites easier, so they don't rush across the screen. There is a suggestion out there to add an option to remove it though; let me see if I can find it.

Let me check the repeat block on BYOB to see if it shows the delay in Elements Editor.

EDIT: I don't know anything about squeak, but I didn't find anything saying "wait" or "delay" on it.

Last edited by frogger3140 (2011-08-07 17:54:40)


http://j.mp/piBfFy
Woo, even better minecraft clone! | I feel that programming is better than animation, because you can interact with games but not animations.

Offline

 

#8 2011-08-07 17:59:48

MoreGamesNow
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

I thought that turbo speed did remove it.

Last edited by MoreGamesNow (2011-08-07 18:00:03)


http://images2.layoutsparks.com/1/218929/rubiks-cube-animated-rotating.gif
"Cogito ergo sum" --  I think, therefore I am

Offline

 

#9 2011-08-07 19:54:02

woofwoof301
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 100+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

MoreGamesNow wrote:

I thought that turbo speed did remove it.

Check out the project I posted, and download it. (Sorry for advertising but its necessary). Not a single wait block in it, but yet it still flashes

Offline

 

#10 2011-08-07 20:08:11

Harakou
Community Moderator
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 1000+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

woofwoof301 wrote:

MoreGamesNow wrote:

I thought that turbo speed did remove it.

Check out the project I posted, and download it. (Sorry for advertising but its necessary). Not a single wait block in it, but yet it still flashes

We weren't talking about the wait block; we were talking about the repeat block. I don't see the project you're talking about either.  hmm


http://www.blocks.scratchr.org/API.php?action=random&return=image&link1=http://i.imgur.com/OZn2RD3.png&link2=http://i.imgur.com/duzaGTB.png&link3=http://i.imgur.com/CrDGvvZ.png&link4=http://i.imgur.com/POEpQyZ.png&link5=http://i.imgur.com/ZKJF8ac.png

Offline

 

#11 2011-08-07 20:14:20

woofwoof301
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 100+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

Harakou wrote:

woofwoof301 wrote:

MoreGamesNow wrote:

I thought that turbo speed did remove it.

Check out the project I posted, and download it. (Sorry for advertising but its necessary). Not a single wait block in it, but yet it still flashes

We weren't talking about the wait block; we were talking about the repeat block. I don't see the project you're talking about either.  hmm

I know I know!! Even if you put the game in turbo mode, it still flashes. To eliminate any doubt, I said there isn't a wait block in it.


The project I'm talking about is the hyperlinked words, This project. Its blue.  smile

Offline

 

#12 2011-08-07 21:06:39

MoreGamesNow
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

"repeat (length of block x)" is probably the culprit since it is the only loop I see in the block script.  The problem is, if you get rid of that, you'll have to settle for a limited number of blocks.

Last edited by MoreGamesNow (2011-08-07 21:06:48)


http://images2.layoutsparks.com/1/218929/rubiks-cube-animated-rotating.gif
"Cogito ergo sum" --  I think, therefore I am

Offline

 

#13 2011-08-09 14:14:44

woofwoof301
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 100+

Offline

 

#14 2011-08-10 15:15:30

scratchisthebest
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-02-08
Posts: 500+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

Yeah, the repeat block has a delay. Try running your game in turbo mode: in 1.4, that's under Edit - Set Single Stepping - Turbo Speed.

By the way, try other options too, to see how they affect your scripts and the speed of the game.
Highlight - it's Type in Color Day.

Last edited by scratchisthebest (2011-08-10 15:16:18)


bye 1.4, we all loved you. but we all outgrew the site. 2.0 is a welcome change.
http://scratch.mit.edu/img/Pico3-med.pnghttp://scratch.mit.edu/img/Pico3-med.pnghttp://scratch.mit.edu/img/Pico3-med.pnghttp://scratch.mit.edu/img/Pico3-med.pnghttp://scratch.mit.edu/img/Pico3-med.png

Offline

 

#15 2011-08-12 12:37:41

woofwoof301
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 100+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

Yeah but turbo mode doesn't change it. I know because the linked project in turbo mode doesn't change anything.

I bumped this for an answer to another question. Anybody, do you think that the tiny little wait will be removed? If people want more delay, they can manually adjust their wait blocks, whereas the little wait is unchangeable unless patched. Please?

Offline

 

#16 2011-08-12 18:55:40

woofwoof301
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 100+

Offline

 

#17 2011-08-15 19:54:12

woofwoof301
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 100+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

Ok. I'm bumping this for a reason.

I tried making a project without any repeat blocks, just a couple of ifs. However, it is still extremely laggy and stamps blocks in a delayed manner. This is getting

very very very

frustrating.

Offline

 

#18 2011-08-15 19:59:32

woofwoof302
New Scratcher
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 1

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

Offline

 

#19 2011-08-16 19:11:16

woofwoof301
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 100+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

I'm not going to stop posting until I get a response or a fix. > sad

This is annoying. No response from ANYONE. 368 freaking views, but 0 new replies.
TunaRollFishsticks!!!

Offline

 

#20 2011-08-17 19:59:03

roger-
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-13
Posts: 100+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

the repeat block doesn't have a 'wait' or 'delay' it just updates whatever is in the loop once per frame


Food is Fat. Fat is power.
        I am almighty.

Offline

 

#21 2011-08-17 20:59:19

AtomicBawm3
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-06-27
Posts: 1000+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

Well getting back to the fact that it's a tetris game, look at the latest projects on my test account, A__B__3__T__E__S__T.  You might find them helpful or inspirational.


http://i50.tinypic.com/j0yw0p.jpg

Offline

 

#22 2011-08-17 22:08:00

woofwoof301
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 100+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

AtomicBawm3 wrote:

Well getting back to the fact that it's a tetris game, look at the latest projects on my test account, A__B__3__T__E__S__T.  You might find them helpful or inspirational.

Took a look at them. Thanks for them help. Appreciate it.  smile

roger- wrote:

the repeat block doesn't have a 'wait' or 'delay' it just updates whatever is in the loop once per frame

Yeah. But in the project, it should always update the screen. See, the script is supposed to do this:

{

Clear Screen

Create new block is mouse is down

     repeat (variable)
  {
Stamp Block #(variable)
Change (variable) by one
  }

Set (variable) to 0 if greater than list length

}

Offline

 

#23 2011-08-18 16:20:09

woofwoof301
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 100+

Re: Infinite Stamping. I need help!

AtomicBawm3 wrote:

Well getting back to the fact that it's a tetris game, look at the latest projects on my test account, A__B__3__T__E__S__T.  You might find them helpful or inspirational.

You replied on your fixed project, but then you deleted it. Wot you say?

Offline

 

#24 2011-08-21 14:43:11

woofwoof301
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 100+

Offline

 

Board footer