This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#26 2011-06-21 18:58:38

Dinoclor
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-06-10
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

I support.


This is a temporary signature. It will exist until I think of something witty.

Offline

 

#27 2011-06-21 19:47:32

jslomba
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-09-25
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

support.


the the the the the

Offline

 

#28 2011-06-22 08:25:46

roijac
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-01-19
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

support!

Offline

 

#29 2011-06-22 11:34:20

procSsyn
New Scratcher
Registered: 2011-06-19
Posts: 3

Re: break block

Normally, i just use a variable:

Forever
If([VarName] = 0)
End

Then when i want it stop i just change [VarName] to 1 and vice versa.
But, a break block would take up less space so i am going to support this.

Offline

 

#30 2011-06-22 12:41:37

roijac
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-01-19
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

see this: http://suggest.scratch.mit.edu/forums/60449-suggestions/suggestions/1960303-break-out-of-c-block-block-

Offline

 

#31 2011-06-22 12:46:34

scimonster
Community Moderator
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

Thanks! I put it in the topic post, and gave it a vote.  big_smile

Last edited by scimonster (2011-06-22 12:47:01)

Offline

 

#32 2011-06-28 15:39:54

roijac
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-01-19
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

bump

Offline

 

#33 2011-06-30 17:13:01

CI11932
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-06-04
Posts: 9

Re: break block

Ok It took me awhile to figure out what a C block is, but now that I know what your talking about I totally support it.

Offline

 

#34 2011-07-10 04:52:00

scimonster
Community Moderator
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

Bringing Up My Post.  wink

Edit: 4600th post!  big_smile

Last edited by scimonster (2011-07-10 04:52:20)

Offline

 

#35 2011-07-11 12:44:00

DigiTechs
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-04-30
Posts: 500+

Re: break block

Support. I usually make this block in the system browser then save project, and i would like to stop doing that.


I'm back.
Maybe.

Offline

 

#36 2011-07-13 15:20:45

joefarebrother
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-04-08
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

I think it should be "break loop" so it wouldn't effect ifs but it would effect repeats, repeat untils, and forevers. If there is some sort of block editor, it should detect keywords such as "repeat" and "loop" and will ask if it should be effected by "break loop"
It should look like:

  __    ________
|  |_|           |
|  Break Loop|
|____________|

---------EDIT----------
This is my 45th post

Last edited by joefarebrother (2011-07-13 15:26:53)


My latest project is called http://tinyurl.com/d2m8hne! It has http://tinyurl.com/d395ygk views, http://tinyurl.com/cnasmt7 love-its, and http://tinyurl.com/bwjy8xs comments.
http://tinyurl.com/756anbk   http://tinyurl.com/iplaychess

Offline

 

#37 2011-07-14 02:13:39

scimonster
Community Moderator
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

joefarebrother wrote:

I think it should be "break loop" so it wouldn't effect ifs but it would effect repeats, repeat untils, and forevers. If there is some sort of block editor, it should detect keywords such as "repeat" and "loop" and will ask if it should be effected by "break loop"
It should look like:

  __    ________
|  |_|           |
|  Break Loop|
|____________|

---------EDIT----------
This is my 45th post

Yes, maybe http://weebly.com/uploads/8/1/3/6/8136364/2354403.gif

Offline

 

#38 2011-07-14 02:14:35

jji7skyline
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-03-08
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

I support, also a go back to start of c would be nice  big_smile


I don't know why you say goodbye, I say hello!  big_smile

Offline

 

#39 2011-07-15 07:02:16

DigiTechs
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-04-30
Posts: 500+

Re: break block

jj, c blocks are loops, so ther would be no proper use for the block there.


I'm back.
Maybe.

Offline

 

#40 2011-07-15 07:05:02

sci_test
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-06-22
Posts: 100+

Re: break block

DigiTechs wrote:

jj, c blocks are loops, so ther would be no proper use for the block there.

Actually, it would make more sense to break out of a loop than a condition checker
("repeat ()" as opposed to "if <>"), but maybe you would want to break out of any.  smile


[signature removed - please be respectful]
Last edited by scimonster (1970-01-01 00:00:00)

Offline

 

#41 2011-07-16 17:50:36

nickbrickmaster
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-02
Posts: 500+

Re: break block

Total supportingness.


Ask me what I'm doing, wait an hour than roll a die, if it's 4-6, I'm playing Skyrim, if it's 1, I'm eating, if it's 2-3 I'm programming.
Steam: nickbrickmaster | RotMG: PwnThemAll | Minecraft: nickbrickmaster | League Of Legends: BaneOfTitans

Offline

 

#42 2011-07-27 14:55:26

DigiTechs
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-04-30
Posts: 500+

Re: break block

scimonster, I ment for the block jj suggested.


I'm back.
Maybe.

Offline

 

#43 2011-07-27 15:40:40

scimonster
Community Moderator
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

Oh. I think he means like a break, but it only ends the current loop in the middle, it doesn't completely break out of it.

Offline

 

#44 2012-03-01 13:19:05

roijac
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-01-19
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

bump  big_smile

Offline

 

#45 2012-03-01 13:21:54

Greenatic
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-05-03
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

Wait, I didn't support this way back when?  Whoops!  I support!   smile

Offline

 

#46 2012-10-21 15:24:59

roijac
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-01-19
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

BUMP
ST, feedback on scratch suggestions?
http://suggest.scratch.mit.edu/forums/60449-suggestions/suggestions/1960303-break-out-of-c-block-block-

Offline

 

#47 2012-10-21 15:31:37

dvd4
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-06-30
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

Support !


I made a mod  big_smile  It's called blook!
http://i49.tinypic.com/16ia63p.png

Offline

 

#48 2012-10-21 19:22:32

zubblewu
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-02-17
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

Support.
Zupport as well.


........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Offline

 

#49 2012-10-24 08:20:49

Mokat
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-12-08
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

I support! There was one script that I used in my Candy Collect game, and I had to use a repeat until, but I could have easily used a break block.


http://www.eggcave.com/egg/977371.pnghttp://www.eggcave.com/egg/977376.pnghttp://www.eggcave.com/egg/1005291.pnghttp://www.eggcave.com/egg/996745.png

Offline

 

#50 2012-10-24 10:33:29

joefarebrother
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-04-08
Posts: 1000+

Re: break block

It isn't strictly needed as you can use ifs and repeat untils to work around it, but it would be nice.


My latest project is called http://tinyurl.com/d2m8hne! It has http://tinyurl.com/d395ygk views, http://tinyurl.com/cnasmt7 love-its, and http://tinyurl.com/bwjy8xs comments.
http://tinyurl.com/756anbk   http://tinyurl.com/iplaychess

Offline

 

Board footer