This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2011-07-02 21:30:50

EzekielE
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-09-26
Posts: 100+

ScratchQuestions

Ok, I have learned how to open the browser, add blocks that do not need "code" or "methods" but I have some questions

how do I make a boolean that when tested reports wether I am receiving a broadcast?

how do I add items like . , / ? > < " ' : ; [ { ] } - _ + = to the list of letters? I can't seem to modify the blockspecs.

note: I have added " . " as the default for

<key[ space ]pressed?>

so it is

<key[ . ]pressed?>

unfortunately this means I have to drag it from the list, and I can only have one default


http://mag.racked.eu/cimage/i2260/Achievement++get%21/Find+a+Disk/mca.pnghttp://ezekielelin.com/1x1Gif/image.php

Offline

 

#2 2011-07-02 21:42:20

EdnaC
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-08-28
Posts: 100+

Re: ScratchQuestions

You are never "receiving" a broadcast - a broadcast is an "event" - it doesn't last.  The broadcast could be used to start a script, the script could toggle a variable from 1 to 0 and vice versa.  This boolean could let your program respond to the broadcast event.

On defaults; you can leave unattached bits of code (blocks) in the center pane and duplicate them as needed.  Use right-click on a block or a series of blocks, and select "duplicate".  You can also duplicate blocks and drop them into another sprite - very useful...

Offline

 

#3 2011-07-03 13:29:55

EzekielE
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-09-26
Posts: 100+

Re: ScratchQuestions

EdnaC wrote:

You are never "receiving" a broadcast - a broadcast is an "event" - it doesn't last.  The broadcast could be used to start a script, the script could toggle a variable from 1 to 0 and vice versa.  This boolean could let your program respond to the broadcast event.

Ok, what about something like this

<Wait until I receive \listofbrodcasts/>

EdnaC wrote:

On defaults; you can leave unattached bits of code (blocks) in the center pane and duplicate them as needed.  Use right-click on a block or a series of blocks, and select "duplicate".  You can also duplicate blocks and drop them into another sprite - very useful...

Yes, but that still means I would have to open the browser and change the default to get others like
. , / ? > < " ' : ; [ { ] } - _ + =


http://mag.racked.eu/cimage/i2260/Achievement++get%21/Find+a+Disk/mca.pnghttp://ezekielelin.com/1x1Gif/image.php

Offline

 

#4 2011-07-03 14:06:11

laserPrototypes
New Scratcher
Registered: 2011-07-03
Posts: 2

Re: ScratchQuestions

What do you mean by browser?

Offline

 

#5 2011-07-03 18:44:52

EdnaC
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-08-28
Posts: 100+

Re: ScratchQuestions

You already have "<Wait until I receive \listofbrodcasts/>" available; it's

[blocks] <when I receive[
[/blocks]


On defaults, I'm not sure what you are asking for.

Offline

 

#6 2011-07-03 20:35:34

EzekielE
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-09-26
Posts: 100+

Re: ScratchQuestions

EdnaC wrote:

You already have "<Wait until I receive \listofbrodcasts/>" available; it's

[blocks] <when I receive[
[/blocks]


On defaults, I'm not sure what you are asking for.

I want a wait until I receive, If you can't make one, please don't reply


http://mag.racked.eu/cimage/i2260/Achievement++get%21/Find+a+Disk/mca.pnghttp://ezekielelin.com/1x1Gif/image.php

Offline

 

#7 2011-07-03 20:37:06

EzekielE
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-09-26
Posts: 100+

Re: ScratchQuestions

laserPrototypes wrote:

What do you mean by browser?

Its part of hackin scratch


http://mag.racked.eu/cimage/i2260/Achievement++get%21/Find+a+Disk/mca.pnghttp://ezekielelin.com/1x1Gif/image.php

Offline

 

#8 2011-07-30 16:31:46

ZachAlbrecht
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-01-27
Posts: 37

Re: ScratchQuestions

<turn cw( pi<play sound[pi]and waits>)degrees>

Offline

 

Board footer