This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2008-10-31 23:24:44

RukiaKuchiki
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 78

Help Would Be Nice!!!

Plz help me out!! I wana kno how to switch from 1 sprite, 2 another 1. its all very confusing!! Like, if u press a button(which is a sprite), to go to another sprite, how would u do that? PLEASE ANSWER!! Thanks!

The one and only one this site,

- Rukia Kuchiki ^o^


http://i292.photobucket.com/albums/mm27/MoonPrincessMewMew/Sailor%20Moon/thmoon_spiral_heart_attack1.gifhttp://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n88/beewee3/inuyasha/thKikyo-1.gif http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk181/Tohru_Honda_Yuki_Sohma/0989f47ecabe30_full.jpghttp://i701.photobucket.com/albums/ww19/Monkeex3/fruits_basket_354.jpg

Offline

 

#2 2008-11-01 14:29:35

djm111
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-10-29
Posts: 1000+

Re: Help Would Be Nice!!!

You meah switching different costumes to make a person move?
Here is a basic code
When green flag clicked
Forever
If
Key (whatever key your using)pressed
switch to costume ( the different costume)
If you want to make one person disappear and a completely different spriteto appear with different commands. Then use the same code, but instead of using switch to costume use
hide

then on the other sprite which appears put the same code, but instead of hide use
go to (name of the sprite its replacing)
show
That  basically makes it show up where the other sprite disappeared.
If you want to see a it working see the project on this link to see what you can really do with sprites. http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/djm111/306630  Hope it Helps
{ smile


http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt358/Dazzamcgazza/sig.png

Offline

 

#3 2008-11-23 15:36:44

RukiaKuchiki
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 78

Re: Help Would Be Nice!!!

djm111 wrote:

You meah switching different costumes to make a person move?
Here is a basic code
When green flag clicked
Forever
If
Key (whatever key your using)pressed
switch to costume ( the different costume)
If you want to make one person disappear and a completely different spriteto appear with different commands. Then use the same code, but instead of using switch to costume use
hide

then on the other sprite which appears put the same code, but instead of hide use
go to (name of the sprite its replacing)
show
That  basically makes it show up where the other sprite disappeared.
If you want to see a it working see the project on this link to see what you can really do with sprites. http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/djm111/306630  Hope it Helps
{ smile

Plz explain in blocks! Its easier for me that way, and Im talking about the sprite disappear, and the a different 1 appearing in its place. For instince, if I want to be able to click a button, and I want sprite 1 to change to Sprite 2. Is there any way for me to do that? Plz answer!! Thank You!


http://i292.photobucket.com/albums/mm27/MoonPrincessMewMew/Sailor%20Moon/thmoon_spiral_heart_attack1.gifhttp://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n88/beewee3/inuyasha/thKikyo-1.gif http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk181/Tohru_Honda_Yuki_Sohma/0989f47ecabe30_full.jpghttp://i701.photobucket.com/albums/ww19/Monkeex3/fruits_basket_354.jpg

Offline

 

#4 2008-11-23 16:56:09

Hunter82798
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-08-24
Posts: 8

Re: Help Would Be Nice!!!

Here's how I would do it:[blocks]<when[ button ]clicked><broadcast[ button clicked ][/blocks]

and now for the sprite you want appearing:[blocks]<when I receive[ button clicked]<show>[/blocks]

if you want the sprite to disappear have this:[blocks]<when I receive[ button clicked ]<hide>[/blocks]

Offline

 

#5 2008-11-25 13:36:55

suz_0001
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-15
Posts: 2

Re: Help Would Be Nice!!!

hi...maybe i am in the wrong thread...confusion has become contagious and i am surely
flabbergasted with confusion.  I cannot make my things do what I want them to do.

What I am trying to accomplish is this:

sprite1 is dragged over to sprite2 and as soon as sprite1 touches sprite2, sprite2's costume changes.  Then sprite1 can be used to change Sprite3 or Sprite4, etc.  and when it is completed then sprite1 can be dragged near where it originally was and then snap into position from there.

Is this all possible?

i'm trying to create a paint-fill simulation by changing out the costumes by actually touching them, rather than clicking on a button to change them.

it's a challenge.

thanks.

:-)

Scratch onwards....

Last edited by suz_0001 (2008-11-25 13:38:54)

Offline

 

#6 2008-12-05 20:10:40

Comcastc99
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-01-01
Posts: 12

Re: Help Would Be Nice!!!

I f you mean that you want one sprite to appear where another one is, use a :

<go to[ Sprite 2]>

If the sprite's name is different, y'know, that's just a suggestion. 
If you're having trouble with anything else, though, I suggest that you experiment with scripts that you think you want.
8)

Offline

 

#7 2008-12-05 20:25:09

Paddle2See
Scratch Team
Registered: 2007-10-27
Posts: 1000+

Re: Help Would Be Nice!!!

suz_0001 wrote:

hi...maybe i am in the wrong thread...confusion has become contagious and i am surely
flabbergasted with confusion.  I cannot make my things do what I want them to do.

What I am trying to accomplish is this:

sprite1 is dragged over to sprite2 and as soon as sprite1 touches sprite2, sprite2's costume changes.  Then sprite1 can be used to change Sprite3 or Sprite4, etc.  and when it is completed then sprite1 can be dragged near where it originally was and then snap into position from there.

Is this all possible?

i'm trying to create a paint-fill simulation by changing out the costumes by actually touching them, rather than clicking on a button to change them.

it's a challenge.

thanks.

:-)

Scratch onwards....

Hi Suz - You probably should have started your own thread with this question...it is getting a little confusing here!  However, the solution (or, I should say One of the solutions) to your problem (and the problem of the original post) lies in learning how to use the "Broadcast message" block and the "When I Receive Message" blocks.  Right click on those blocks (under the Control tab) and look at the Help for them and see if you can solve the problem using those.


http://i39.tinypic.com/2nav6o7.gif

Offline

 

Board footer