This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2011-03-05 17:00:04

parakeets4ever
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-07-30
Posts: 2

Typing in Initials (max of 3)

Hi, so i am making a game, that requires the person to type in their name, or initials.
I want to make a limit of only  typing in three letters, and no more than that.
I just don't know how to do that yet, and I was wondering whether it was possible...and if you could tell me...
Thank you,
parakeets4ever

Offline

 

#2 2011-03-05 17:23:15

Sunrise-Moon
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-06-27
Posts: 1000+

Re: Typing in Initials (max of 3)

Not possible using the ask block, but if you did it yourself it'd be quite possible.


http://i1067.photobucket.com/albums/u427/HulKDzN/RebornBlade.png

Offline

 

#3 2011-03-05 17:37:19

rufflebee
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-10-15
Posts: 1000+

Re: Typing in Initials (max of 3)

http://i51.tinypic.com/2hdzno5.png


http://i44.tinypic.com/34e9cab.png

Offline

 

#4 2011-03-05 17:42:35

rubiks_cube_guy238
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 100+

Re: Typing in Initials (max of 3)

ask [What's your initials?] and wait
if <not <(length of (answer)) = (3)>>
   repeat until <(length of (answer)) = 3>
      ask [Initials must be 3 letters long] and wait


The glass is never half full nor half empty; it is twice as large as it needs to be.

Offline

 

#5 2011-03-06 14:33:18

parakeets4ever
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-07-30
Posts: 2

Re: Typing in Initials (max of 3)

Thanks you all for  replying so quickly! And thank you so much Rufflebee! I will try it, and will give you credit!

Offline

 

#6 2011-03-06 20:48:59

rufflebee
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-10-15
Posts: 1000+

Re: Typing in Initials (max of 3)

:DDD

you're welcome


http://i44.tinypic.com/34e9cab.png

Offline

 

#7 2011-03-06 20:54:27

Sunrise-Moon
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-06-27
Posts: 1000+

Re: Typing in Initials (max of 3)

Oh duh. How did I not think of that? :O

Last edited by Sunrise-Moon (2011-03-06 20:54:37)


http://i1067.photobucket.com/albums/u427/HulKDzN/RebornBlade.png

Offline

 

#8 2011-03-06 22:12:35

puppetadventurer
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-02-20
Posts: 1000+

Re: Typing in Initials (max of 3)

Sunrise-Moon wrote:

Oh duh. How did I not think of that?  yikes

how would we know


3

Offline

 

#9 2011-03-07 00:45:15

bbbeb
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 1000+

Re: Typing in Initials (max of 3)

use this


[green flag clicked]

[other stuff]

[broadcast Initals]


[When i recieve Initals]
[if error = 1]
[say Please use only 3 letters. for 5 sec]
[set error to 0]
[broadcast Initals]
[else]
[ask Please type initals. and wait]
[if (length of initals) < 3]
[set error to 1]
[broadcast initals]
[do other stuff]

Much more reliable.

Last edited by bbbeb (2011-03-07 00:46:08)


Back in my day.... there were no laws that censored the internet... now, there are.... nah.

Offline

 

Board footer