This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#26 2010-12-28 06:05:40

scimonster
Community Moderator
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 1000+

Re: The new block to freeze time

in development mode, you CAN pause the program by clicking on the color in this block: [blocks]<touching color[ [/blocks] or any block with a color picker (or even no color dropdown menu)

Offline

 

#27 2010-12-29 07:46:24

sparks
Community Moderator
Registered: 2008-11-05
Posts: 1000+

Re: The new block to freeze time

What's interesting is that the smalltalk command

Code:

self showInformDialog: 'paused' withText: 'click OK to continue'

when run will cause a popup window to appear on your screen. This pauses everything in the game until it's closed!

(note, the texts 'paused' and 'click OK to continue' can be replaced with anything.)


http://img541.imageshack.us/img541/7563/scratchbetabanner.png

Offline

 

#28 2010-12-29 10:09:22

SSBBM
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 100+

Re: The new block to freeze time

sparks wrote:

What's interesting is that the smalltalk command

Code:

self showInformDialog: 'paused' withText: 'click OK to continue'

when run will cause a popup window to appear on your screen. This pauses everything in the game until it's closed!

(note, the texts 'paused' and 'click OK to continue' can be replaced with anything.)

Could you add more then just OK? And could they broadcast something after they're clicked?


http://goo.gl/zVfAp http://goo.gl/laci8

Offline

 

#29 2010-12-30 14:43:24

TheSuccessor
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-04-23
Posts: 1000+

Re: The new block to freeze time

SSBBM wrote:

runemoro wrote:

there should be what to do when paused

Oh great idea! Like,
http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/143/runbutifdo.gif
I like it!

Isn't that basically this?
[blocks]<forever>
   <if>
   <else>
   <end>
<end>[/blocks]

EDIT: I hate the forum blocks.

Last edited by TheSuccessor (2010-12-30 14:44:33)


/* No comment */

Offline

 

#30 2010-12-30 14:51:29

TheSuccessor
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-04-23
Posts: 1000+

Re: The new block to freeze time

sparks wrote:

What's interesting is that the smalltalk command

Code:

self showInformDialog: 'paused' withText: 'click OK to continue'

when run will cause a popup window to appear on your screen. This pauses everything in the game until it's closed!

(note, the texts 'paused' and 'click OK to continue' can be replaced with anything.)

I think that only works with Panther, for normal Scratch try this:

Code:

DialogBoxMorph inform: 'click OK to continue' title: 'paused'

/* No comment */

Offline

 

#31 2010-12-30 17:08:09

SSBBM
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 100+

Re: The new block to freeze time

TheSuccessor wrote:

SSBBM wrote:

runemoro wrote:

there should be what to do when paused

Oh great idea! Like,
http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/143/runbutifdo.gif
I like it!

Isn't that basically this?
[blocks]<forever>
   <if>
   <else>
   <end>
<end>[/blocks]

EDIT: I hate the forum blocks.

Why can't people understand that is can NOT easily be done with blocks in 1.4!?!?!
Look at this. Just replace the 'pause' block with a script.


http://goo.gl/zVfAp http://goo.gl/laci8

Offline

 

#32 2010-12-30 21:04:04

coolstuff
Community Moderator
Registered: 2008-03-06
Posts: 1000+

Re: The new block to freeze time

Interesting idea! I absolutely support.

Offline

 

#33 2010-12-31 04:24:43

scimonster
Community Moderator
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 1000+

Re: The new block to freeze time

TheSuccessor wrote:

sparks wrote:

What's interesting is that the smalltalk command

Code:

self showInformDialog: 'paused' withText: 'click OK to continue'

when run will cause a popup window to appear on your screen. This pauses everything in the game until it's closed!

(note, the texts 'paused' and 'click OK to continue' can be replaced with anything.)

I think that only works with Panther, for normal Scratch try this:

Code:

DialogBoxMorph inform: 'click OK to continue' title: 'paused'

I made it and it works.

try making the block!
blockspec:

Code:

('pause' #- #pause)

method:

Code:

pause
self showInformDialog: 'paused' withText: 'click OK to continue'

Offline

 

#34 2011-01-06 13:19:14

scimonster
Community Moderator
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 1000+

Re: The new block to freeze time

add me to supporters list!

Offline

 

#35 2011-01-08 09:29:16

SSBBM
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 100+

Re: The new block to freeze time

scimonster wrote:

TheSuccessor wrote:

sparks wrote:

What's interesting is that the smalltalk command

Stuff that I don't understand
when run will cause a popup window to appear on your screen. This pauses everything in the game until it's closed!

(note, the texts 'paused' and 'click OK to continue' can be replaced with anything.)

I think that only works with Panther, for normal Scratch try this:
Stuff that I don't understand

I made it and it works.

Stuff that I don't understand

I will repeat my question:

SSBBM wrote:

Could you add more then just OK? And could they broadcast something after they're clicked?

If that could happen then you could have a quit button or something.


http://goo.gl/zVfAp http://goo.gl/laci8

Offline

 

#36 2011-01-19 14:31:54

scimonster
Community Moderator
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 1000+

Re: The new block to freeze time

SSBBM wrote:

scimonster wrote:

pause would be sort of like wait, but wait only pauses that script but pause will pause all scripts, on all sprites.

[blocks]<wait( 1 )secsc>[/blocks] makes that script wait, pause (1) secs makes everything pause for 1 second

[blocks]<wait until>[/blocks] makes that script wait until the condition is fulfilled, pause until <> pauses everything until the condition is fulfilled

Yep! Pause would be like
[blocks]<wait until> <not>[/blocks]

Let me refine my idea and make it even better...
For the script that's running it, it acts as a wait, and while it's waiting, it pauses everything else.

And I know this is bumping it, but it is wanted by lots of people.

Last edited by scimonster (2011-01-19 14:32:35)

Offline

 

#37 2011-01-21 15:05:42

TheSuccessor
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-04-23
Posts: 1000+

Re: The new block to freeze time

SSBBM wrote:

TheSuccessor wrote:

SSBBM wrote:


Oh great idea! Like,
http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/143/runbutifdo.gif
I like it!

Isn't that basically this?
[blocks]<forever>
   <if>
   <else>
   <end>
<end>[/blocks]

EDIT: I hate the forum blocks.

Why can't people understand that is can NOT easily be done with blocks in 1.4!?!?!
Look at this. Just replace the 'pause' block with a script.

I see your point. Add me to supporters. And can I put this block in my mod?


/* No comment */

Offline

 

#38 2011-01-21 16:09:08

LS97
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-06-14
Posts: 1000+

Re: The new block to freeze time

What about adapting the 'forever if' + 'repeat until' and add a nice checkbox next to them indicating whether the player should check for the boolean each block or at the beginning and at each iteration of the whole group?

Last edited by LS97 (2011-01-21 16:09:20)

Offline

 

#39 2011-01-21 17:22:37

SSBBM
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 100+

Re: The new block to freeze time

TheSuccessor wrote:

I see your point. Add me to supporters. And can I put this block in my mod?

Thanks for supporting. I don't mind you adding this to your mod under the conditions that you give me credit for idea and show it to me when your done.  wink

LS97 wrote:

What about adapting the 'forever if' + 'repeat until' and add a nice checkbox next to them indicating whether the player should check for the boolean each block or at the beginning and at each iteration of the whole group?

smile  Thats a great idea! I'll make a mock-up soon.


http://goo.gl/zVfAp http://goo.gl/laci8

Offline

 

#40 2011-01-24 05:13:38

scimonster
Community Moderator
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 1000+

Re: The new block to freeze time

A very similar one: http://suggest.scratch.mit.edu/forums/6 … use-button

Last edited by scimonster (2011-01-31 14:56:00)

Offline

 

#41 2011-01-31 14:29:10

kristianmischke
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-05-24
Posts: 7

Re: The new block to freeze time

<pick random(  )or(  )

Offline

 

#42 2011-01-31 14:56:30

scimonster
Community Moderator
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 1000+

Re: The new block to freeze time

kristianmischke wrote:

<pick random(  )or(  )

what is that?

Offline

 

#43 2011-02-01 08:37:05

-iNetMaster-
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-08-30
Posts: 1000+

Re: The new block to freeze time

I agree. This is a very good idea  smile  But what section of blocks would this go in?

Offline

 

#44 2011-02-01 08:44:54

scimonster
Community Moderator
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 1000+

Re: The new block to freeze time

probably control

Offline

 

#45 2011-02-01 09:51:02

SSBBM
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 100+

Re: The new block to freeze time

scimonster wrote:

A very similar one: http://suggest.scratch.mit.edu/forums/6 … use-button

Yes, but that's too easy.  wink  It wouldn't allow you to add button, like 'go back to menu'. Although I bet the scratch team will add that, along with other BYOB things. I would like it with an option to turn it off.

kristianmischke wrote:

[block]<pick random(  )or(  )[/block]

Please don't spam

-iNetMaster- wrote:

I agree. This is a very good idea  smile  But what section of blocks would this go in?

Thanks!  smile  Scimonster's right, it would go in control.


http://goo.gl/zVfAp http://goo.gl/laci8

Offline

 

#46 2011-02-01 20:01:27

Happypieman
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-09-28
Posts: 100+

Re: The new block to freeze time

harleyk, your signature looks like a lollipop!  big_smile


2012--The biggest troll ever.

Offline

 

#47 2011-02-05 20:26:23

supergarfield
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-07-06
Posts: 27

Re: The new block to freeze time

i support

Offline

 

#48 2011-02-06 13:59:45

SSBBM
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 100+

Re: The new block to freeze time

SSBBM wrote:

LS97 wrote:

What about adapting the 'forever if' + 'repeat until' and add a nice checkbox next to them indicating whether the player should check for the boolean each block or at the beginning and at each iteration of the whole group?

smile  Thats a great idea! I'll make a mock-up soon.

Here it is! Paint messed it up a little, but it's still a good mock-up.  smile
http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/9894/ifbutpause.gif


Happypieman wrote:

harleyk, your signature looks like a lollipop!  big_smile

Please do not do that in the future.


supergarfield wrote:

i support

Thank you!

Last edited by SSBBM (2011-02-06 14:01:13)


http://goo.gl/zVfAp http://goo.gl/laci8

Offline

 

#49 2011-02-06 14:03:35

kayybee
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-12-07
Posts: 1000+

Re: The new block to freeze time

hopefully this is not implemented.

just think, someone uses it and the world stops.

AH!

JK.

Offline

 

#50 2011-02-06 15:47:27

LS97
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-06-14
Posts: 1000+

Re: The new block to freeze time

SSBBM wrote:

SSBBM wrote:

LS97 wrote:

What about adapting the 'forever if' + 'repeat until' and add a nice checkbox next to them indicating whether the player should check for the boolean each block or at the beginning and at each iteration of the whole group?

smile  Thats a great idea! I'll make a mock-up soon.

Here it is! Paint messed it up a little, but it's still a good mock-up.  smile
http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/9894/ifbutpause.gif
Thank you!

Wouldn't something like this be better?
(of course, not such a long explanation..)
http://i1027.photobucket.com/albums/y339/silvisoft/ScratchStuff/pausemockup.gif

Offline

 

Board footer