This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2010-11-30 20:30:21

Kowalskz
New Scratcher
Registered: 2010-11-20
Posts: 20

How to display text on the screen ?

Hi,

I have a list of words stored in a list variable. I want to be able to pick a word from the list and display it on the screen (on the background).
I want the words to appear as they would appear on a powerpoint slide. 

Thanks.

Offline

 

#2 2010-11-30 20:49:35

hmnwilson
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-07-04
Posts: 1000+

Re: How to display text on the screen ?

Sadly, there's no *really* good way of doing that. There are some options, though:

1. Use variables. If you right-click the variable watcher (the thing that displays variable on the stage) and change it to "large readout", it looks a lot better.

2. Make a new sprite and make each word a different costume. You can set the costume according to the variable, them make it stamp on the stage.

3. This way's much more versatile, but a lot more complicated. In a new sprite, make a costume for each letter of the alphabet. Then, make it stamp out every letter of the word on the stage. Of course, it's hard to make, so you might not want to start out with that.

Sorry, those are really the only ways.  sad


I'm taking a break from Scratch until 2.0 comes out. Any messages sent between then and now probably won't be read - sorry.
(Oct. 20, 2011)

Offline

 

#3 2010-12-01 13:26:32

Kowalskz
New Scratcher
Registered: 2010-11-20
Posts: 20

Re: How to display text on the screen ?

Thanks hmnwilson.

Offline

 

#4 2010-12-02 07:41:29

Hardmath123
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-19
Posts: 1000+

Re: How to display text on the screen ?

How about
[blocks]
<say[ text
[/blocks]


Hardmaths-MacBook-Pro:~ Hardmath$ sudo make $(whoami) a sandwich

Offline

 

#5 2010-12-02 19:03:38

kayybee
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-12-07
Posts: 1000+

Re: How to display text on the screen ?

@hardmath-as a powerpoint slide...




you could do a whole bunch of variables in large readout as different lines, the first 25 characters go to each line...

Last edited by kayybee (2010-12-02 19:04:20)

Offline

 

#6 2010-12-02 21:56:38

coolstuff
Community Moderator
Registered: 2008-03-06
Posts: 1000+

Re: How to display text on the screen ?

kayybee wrote:

you could do a whole bunch of variables in large readout as different lines, the first 25 characters go to each line...

That can get quite sloppy quite easily, and a list could do the job just as well.

But this is one of Scratch's great weaknesses. Hmnwilson probably explained the options better than I could, so I'll leave you to it.  smile

Offline

 

Board footer