This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2008-07-28 19:48:17

cec31
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-07-28
Posts: 1

How do you make levels?

In a game or something, how do you make multiple levels?


Let me know.

Offline

 

#2 2008-07-28 19:49:48

Bluestribute
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 1000+

Re: How do you make levels?

Well, when you reach a door (for example) you will broadcast something (or change a variable). Than either the background or level sprite will change according to what it receives (like level2, or on my Scribble demo, I broadcasted next level and changed the level variable by 1 so it knew wen the game ended)


http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/1204/bluestributett4.jpg
That's my PSN ID. I know tons of COD4 glitches. Add me as your friend. Oh, and get a headset

Offline

 

#3 2008-07-31 10:23:05

thomastoxic
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-07-31
Posts: 3

Re: How do you make levels?

can you explain in more detail please

Offline

 

#4 2008-07-31 11:16:40

newareagle
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-10
Posts: 100+

Re: How do you make levels?

Levels are not something you easily put onto Scratch. There is no code for "change level" so you have to find a means of duplicating the effect. For me, I usually change the background based on levels. So, lets say you want to get to a door, have it sensed so when you touch it, it does this:

change level by 1
broadcast next level and wait

Now on your background you can make it so

When I recieve next level
set background to level.

Also, always remember to make it so:
When green flag clicked
set level to 1
broadcast next level
(Just so the level starts as level 1)


My Guitar Hero Game.
8/9 Projects on the Front Page at Once!

Offline

 

#5 2008-07-31 12:44:56

Bluestribute
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 1000+

Re: How do you make levels?

that's very well explained newareagle, since levels are pretty hard to say on the forums. They aren't like "How do you scroll?".


http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/1204/bluestributett4.jpg
That's my PSN ID. I know tons of COD4 glitches. Add me as your friend. Oh, and get a headset

Offline

 

#6 2008-07-31 23:17:09

newareagle
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-10
Posts: 100+

Re: How do you make levels?

Bluestribute wrote:

that's very well explained newareagle, since levels are pretty hard to say on the forums. They aren't like "How do you scroll?".

Thanks blue. Its quite hard to explain programming in text, but I try to make it more simple.


My Guitar Hero Game.
8/9 Projects on the Front Page at Once!

Offline

 

Board footer