This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2008-07-29 16:32:42

Dan01
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 100+

Help Please!

Bascially, I am updating my survival game, which some of you may have seen, and I want to make it so if a monster detects that you are a certain distance away from your character, then it will move towards you. That's quite simple:

<forever>
<if> <distance to <( [ guy ] <<> 50 )>
"Then do this..."
<end>

I am using the scrolling style, so I am finding this harder than usual. What I want the monster to do is to go move towards the character at a certain pase, like 10 per seconds, and then stop at the guy and attack the character. However, you can't do this because the best block to use is the <glide(  )secs to x sad   )y sad   ). That doesn't work because it won't be moving towards at a constant speed, it will just go straight towards the character, regardles of the distance.

Is there anyway to make is so the monster glides towards the character at a constant speed, rather than using seconds to do it.

Thanks in advance.


http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/4743/ubd6522wp8.png
http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/4667/ubd3758ox2.png

Offline

 

#2 2008-07-29 16:34:16

Bluestribute
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 1000+

Re: Help Please!

Yeah:

<repeat until><touching[
<move(  )steps>
<end>

Just like a bullet script


http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/1204/bluestributett4.jpg
That's my PSN ID. I know tons of COD4 glitches. Add me as your friend. Oh, and get a headset

Offline

 

#3 2008-07-29 16:35:09

Zelda123
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-21
Posts: 1000+

Re: Help Please!

Repeat until touching character

Point towards character
Move X steps

Offline

 

#4 2008-07-29 16:38:15

Dan01
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 100+

Re: Help Please!

Thanks for the help.

Does scratch Autosave? Coz I seem to have lost the two hours work I have just done  neutral


http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/4743/ubd6522wp8.png
http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/4667/ubd3758ox2.png

Offline

 

#5 2008-07-29 16:40:25

coolstuff
Community Moderator
Registered: 2008-03-06
Posts: 1000+

Re: Help Please!

Dan01 wrote:

Thanks for the help.

Does scratch Autosave? Coz I seem to have lost the two hours work I have just done  neutral

No, you need to press the save button at the top.

Offline

 

#6 2008-07-29 16:40:37

Bluestribute
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 1000+

Re: Help Please!

Dan01 wrote:

Thanks for the help.

Does scratch Autosave? Coz I seem to have lost the two hours work I have just done  neutral

On Mac's it asks you to save, but not dells


http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/1204/bluestributett4.jpg
That's my PSN ID. I know tons of COD4 glitches. Add me as your friend. Oh, and get a headset

Offline

 

#7 2008-07-29 16:42:41

Dan01
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 100+

Re: Help Please!

I'm on Windows


http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/4743/ubd6522wp8.png
http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/4667/ubd3758ox2.png

Offline

 

#8 2008-07-29 16:42:59

coolstuff
Community Moderator
Registered: 2008-03-06
Posts: 1000+

Re: Help Please!

by dells he means windows

Offline

 

#9 2008-07-29 16:43:55

Dan01
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 100+

Re: Help Please!

Oh. KK Thanks :@


http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/4743/ubd6522wp8.png
http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/4667/ubd3758ox2.png

Offline

 

Board footer