This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2008-06-23 17:42:45

AlanProjects
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-23
Posts: 500+

Jump in scratch

Need to now how to program a jump for a sprite. Sorry I'm new to scratch and am still figuring stuff out. smile

Offline

 

#2 2008-06-23 18:03:34

Zelda123
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-21
Posts: 1000+

Re: Jump in scratch

<when green flag clicked>
<set{ VelocityY }to( 0

<forever>
<if><touching[ GROUND ]
<set{ VelocityY }to( 1
<if> <key[ Up  ]pressed?>
<set{ VelocityY }to( 15
<end>
<end>
<change y by( VelocityY
<change{ VelocityY }by( -1
<end>

Last edited by Zelda123 (2008-06-23 18:04:17)

Offline

 

#3 2008-06-23 18:34:04

AlanProjects
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-23
Posts: 500+

Offline

 

#4 2008-06-24 09:46:03

zachandrew0123
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-02-28
Posts: 500+

Re: Jump in scratch

well....thats a rather advanced way to put it
but hey,it works

Offline

 

#5 2008-06-26 15:00:31

archmage
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-05-18
Posts: 1000+

Re: Jump in scratch

zachandrew0123 wrote:

well....thats a rather advanced way to put it
but hey,it works

Its not an advanced way to do it. I can't think of a simpler way to make a sprite jump in the same way.


Hi, I am Archmage coder extraordinaire. I do Scratch,pascal,java,php,html, AS2 and AS3. Leave me a message if you want coding advice. Also check out my personal website, lots of good stuff about web development, Flash, and Scratch (v1 and v2) !

Offline

 

#6 2008-06-26 15:05:11

Bluestribute
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 1000+

Re: Jump in scratch

archmage wrote:

zachandrew0123 wrote:

well....thats a rather advanced way to put it
but hey,it works

Its not an advanced way to do it. I can't think of a simpler way to make a sprite jump in the same way.

What about the

[blocks]<repeat( X[/blocks]
[blocks]<change y by( #[/blocks]
[blocks]<end>[/blocks]
[blocks]<repeat( X[/blocks]
[blocks]<change y by( -#[/blocks]
[blocks]<end>[/blocks]
?


http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/1204/bluestributett4.jpg
That's my PSN ID. I know tons of COD4 glitches. Add me as your friend. Oh, and get a headset

Offline

 

#7 2008-06-26 15:09:00

archmage
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-05-18
Posts: 1000+

Re: Jump in scratch

Bluestribute wrote:

archmage wrote:

zachandrew0123 wrote:

well....thats a rather advanced way to put it
but hey,it works

Its not an advanced way to do it. I can't think of a simpler way to make a sprite jump in the same way.

What about the

[blocks]<repeat( X[/blocks]
[blocks]<change y by( #[/blocks]
[blocks]<end>[/blocks]
[blocks]<repeat( X[/blocks]
[blocks]<change y by( -#[/blocks]
[blocks]<end>[/blocks]
?

That won't make a sprite jump in the same way.


Hi, I am Archmage coder extraordinaire. I do Scratch,pascal,java,php,html, AS2 and AS3. Leave me a message if you want coding advice. Also check out my personal website, lots of good stuff about web development, Flash, and Scratch (v1 and v2) !

Offline

 

#8 2008-06-26 15:10:20

Bluestribute
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 1000+

Re: Jump in scratch

archmage wrote:

Bluestribute wrote:

archmage wrote:


Its not an advanced way to do it. I can't think of a simpler way to make a sprite jump in the same way.

What about the

[blocks]<repeat( X[/blocks]
[blocks]<change y by( #[/blocks]
[blocks]<end>[/blocks]
[blocks]<repeat( X[/blocks]
[blocks]<change y by( -#[/blocks]
[blocks]<end>[/blocks]
?

That won't make a sprite jump in the same way.

No, but it's simpler


http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/1204/bluestributett4.jpg
That's my PSN ID. I know tons of COD4 glitches. Add me as your friend. Oh, and get a headset

Offline

 

Board footer