This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2010-06-01 04:45:04

bigbeno37
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-05-31
Posts: 15

Star Trek game

Hello, im not sure if this question is advanced or not but anyway is there a way to basically save an answer so that when u type in another answer it doesn't overwrite the answer? E.g
Starfleet admiral: What is your name?
_____________________________________
Hello
(Answer)
(View goes to bridge)
Hello captain
(Answer)
What should you do?
_________________________
Okay captain
(Answer to question 1)
we'll go to
(Answer to question 2)
Anyway to make the above work?

Offline

 

#2 2010-06-01 04:48:31

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Star Trek game

Use name as a variable and then do set name to answer so.
Ask whats your name?
set name to answer

Hello (name)
TO BRIDGE
Hello Captin (name)

and you would keep adding variables for the diffrent answers


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#3 2010-06-01 04:54:45

Wolfie1996
Retired Community Moderator
Registered: 2009-07-08
Posts: 1000+

Re: Star Trek game

Hello - I think I can help with this  smile  Just use this script:

http://i48.tinypic.com/2r3i9zq.gif

Hope this helps! (This fits better in All About Scratch - but don't worry, I'll move it over there)  wink


"...Jargon - the practice of never calling a spade a spade, when you might instead call it a manual earth-restructing implement..." - Bill Bryson, Mother Tongue

Offline

 

#4 2010-06-01 05:00:47

bigbeno37
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-05-31
Posts: 15

Re: Star Trek game

What I wanted to do was just keep your name, but not the commands. E.g

(Crew on bridge)
Welcome captain
(Answer)
What should we do?
_______________________------Dont wanna keep the answer to this
Okay captain.

Last edited by bigbeno37 (2010-06-01 05:04:13)

Offline

 

#5 2010-06-01 05:05:35

Wolfie1996
Retired Community Moderator
Registered: 2009-07-08
Posts: 1000+

Re: Star Trek game

You'd just not use the variables to track the answer to things that you don't want to track. That way, the answer will only stay until another question is answered  smile


"...Jargon - the practice of never calling a spade a spade, when you might instead call it a manual earth-restructing implement..." - Bill Bryson, Mother Tongue

Offline

 

#6 2010-06-01 05:11:27

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Star Trek game

Ok, in that case do this:
http://www.weebly.com/uploads/4/1/9/3/4193571/5573413.gif


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#7 2010-06-01 06:18:01

bigbeno37
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-05-31
Posts: 15

Re: Star Trek game

So i'd need to create a variable, for all sprites or that sprite(admiral, cause he asks what is your name) and what would i name it? Name of Player?

Offline

 

#8 2010-06-01 06:27:17

Wolfie1996
Retired Community Moderator
Registered: 2009-07-08
Posts: 1000+

Re: Star Trek game

"For all sprites" would be best if one sprite asks the question, then another one says "Hey [name], what should we do next?" (or something  tongue )

You can name it pretty much anything - so long as you can tell what it shows  smile


"...Jargon - the practice of never calling a spade a spade, when you might instead call it a manual earth-restructing implement..." - Bill Bryson, Mother Tongue

Offline

 

#9 2010-06-01 17:09:05

bigbeno37
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-05-31
Posts: 15

Re: Star Trek game

But then it shows a little box thingy at the top-left corner showing Name of Player:(YourName) What do i do now? I dont want it to be shown.

Offline

 

#10 2010-06-01 17:15:55

hmnwilson
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-07-04
Posts: 1000+

Re: Star Trek game

Just go into the variables tab, and click the checkbox next to the variable's name to hide it. You can do that with any variable.

Last edited by hmnwilson (2010-06-01 17:16:32)


I'm taking a break from Scratch until 2.0 comes out. Any messages sent between then and now probably won't be read - sorry.
(Oct. 20, 2011)

Offline

 

#11 2010-06-02 04:23:29

bigbeno37
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-05-31
Posts: 15

Re: Star Trek game

K guys. Also is there someway to basically connect the background to the sprites and vice versa?
E.G
When sprite1 changes costume to costume 2
change background to background 2.
Can you do that?

Offline

 

#12 2010-06-02 05:12:54

bigbeno37
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-05-31
Posts: 15

Re: Star Trek game

How do u add pictures?

Offline

 

#13 2010-06-02 05:19:47

Wolfie1996
Retired Community Moderator
Registered: 2009-07-08
Posts: 1000+

Re: Star Trek game

To add pictures to forum posts, check out this page.

As for the other thing, try experimenting with the broadcast functions  smile


"...Jargon - the practice of never calling a spade a spade, when you might instead call it a manual earth-restructing implement..." - Bill Bryson, Mother Tongue

Offline

 

#14 2010-06-02 06:01:30

bigbeno37
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-05-31
Posts: 15

Re: Star Trek game

Kay this is my background script:

http://5764211361521804605-a-1802744773732722657-s-sites.googlegroups.com/site/bigbeno98ssite/home/Script.gif?attachauth=ANoY7cq-00z0qZZBvPnqF2zviLqvC7g6LwFl_uGnws5m9DpeCiAZF4_fhgebWb-eX3A9maSgAB9rTrbO437YKTdUGbgS2vz8GdnnNjG5VzRBI0gD-8CkEd5fT0DF8ByOK0VyEc3eabhp5wywFjalxVypXlsCHYyZW-3Uvg5zHsMVQAthIPc85wAhX4YQ1rKEKIjPbR4mLcafhj-_Bc_5oqRj0Yk3uXtmSw%3D%3D&attredirects=0

Sprite1:

http://5764211361521804605-a-1802744773732722657-s-sites.googlegroups.com/site/bigbeno98ssite/home/Script2.gif?attachauth=ANoY7cqjRfkHcRI8xFQPOUcn_-MG0DBh50wmw-UUWf_Ki8j3zEsCoI9zt6c8tDC_EJDLKP3TFfTXsnE6J3oHNbP8_2eynW-pQvZaBSa6FMXxAXttNvYN7f7JwlZM9x_9HV_F-YM72e9FrS1wAqXcSf5hZCjryyBqS_9WqB6kXpxP5VmXdmBtDSHVdnekR7wV_GnjqVqxzDLCIihrZhIg5Kd4eLCQvOHakg%3D%3D&attredirects=0

Anything needed to be fixed? Also what is broadcasting and how do you use it?

Offline

 

#15 2010-06-02 06:13:03

Wolfie1996
Retired Community Moderator
Registered: 2009-07-08
Posts: 1000+

Re: Star Trek game

hmm  The pictures don't show up for me... I'll try to help anyway  smile

But with broadcasting, it's a bit like one sprite (or the stage) telling another sprite (or the stage) to do something.

For example, if you wanted to make the background change to background two when  a sprite switches to costume three, do something like this...

[blocks]

SPRITE:

<when green flag clicked>
<forever>
<if><( <costume#> <=> 3 )>
<broadcast[ background2
<end>
<end>

BACKGROUND:

<when I receive[ background2
<switch to costume[ background two

[/blocks]

I think that should help  smile


"...Jargon - the practice of never calling a spade a spade, when you might instead call it a manual earth-restructing implement..." - Bill Bryson, Mother Tongue

Offline

 

#16 2010-06-02 06:27:05

bigbeno37
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-05-31
Posts: 15

Re: Star Trek game

Well since the broadcasting is there now basically i dont need anymore help. I may ask some questions. Anyway THANK YOU for answering my questions.

P.S. What is the limit amount of scripts you can make to publish your game to Scratch?

Offline

 

#17 2010-06-02 06:39:19

bigbeno37
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-05-31
Posts: 15

Re: Star Trek game

I've got another problem,

this is my script:
When I recieve Background 7(Thats what is transmitted)
Go to front
Show(Because it was hidden untill it recieved background 7)
Say congratulations on becoming a captain, captain
Say (Name of player) (Because I made a variable Name of Player)
Stop script.
The Sprite keeps repeating itself over and over. What do i do?

Offline

 

#18 2010-06-02 06:48:37

Wolfie1996
Retired Community Moderator
Registered: 2009-07-08
Posts: 1000+

Re: Star Trek game

There's no limit to the amount of scripts - as long as it's under 10MB, it should upload fine  smile

As for the script problem, I forgot to mention adding one thing into the script that's transmitting (my fault - sorry!  big_smile )

<when green flag clicked>
<forever>
<if><( costume# <=> 3 )>
<broadcast[ background2
<wait until><<  <not> <( costume# <=> 3 )> >>
<end>
<end>

[/blocks]

smile


"...Jargon - the practice of never calling a spade a spade, when you might instead call it a manual earth-restructing implement..." - Bill Bryson, Mother Tongue

Offline

 

#19 2010-06-02 17:41:38

bigbeno37
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-05-31
Posts: 15

Re: Star Trek game

What is behind the not?
E.G
(Dunno what this one is called)on top is not and on top of not is costume# = 3

Offline

 

#20 2010-06-02 17:42:44

bigbeno37
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-05-31
Posts: 15

Re: Star Trek game

oh sorry i know now

Offline

 

#21 2010-06-02 19:01:27

infinitum3d
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-05-10
Posts: 100+

Re: Star Trek game

Just a suggestion mate, but if you upload (SHARE) your project, we can download it to see what you have, and try to make suggestions.

Offline

 

#22 2010-06-03 02:27:44

bigbeno37
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-05-31
Posts: 15

Re: Star Trek game

but its only about 1/8th done. But anyway okay its gonna be shared NOW

Offline

 

#23 2010-06-03 06:34:05

bigbeno37
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-05-31
Posts: 15

Re: Star Trek game

Uh oh......my project is over 10 meg. WILL IT WORK IF I PUT IT ON SCRATCH???????

Offline

 

#24 2010-06-03 06:36:43

Wolfie1996
Retired Community Moderator
Registered: 2009-07-08
Posts: 1000+

Re: Star Trek game

Hmm. Try going to the edit menu, and try compressing the sounds and images. If that still doesn't work, and you have a lot of sound, try deleting a few sounds.  smile


"...Jargon - the practice of never calling a spade a spade, when you might instead call it a manual earth-restructing implement..." - Bill Bryson, Mother Tongue

Offline

 

#25 2010-06-04 05:26:51

bigbeno37
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-05-31
Posts: 15

Re: Star Trek game

Kay, i've done that, but when i try to upload my game it says "An error occured: Unknown error" What do i do?????

Offline

 

Board footer