This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2008-02-18 16:46:55

kitty3
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-08-04
Posts: 15

suggestion- 'Scenes' function

I would like a "Scenes" function. What it could do is split up the sprites between tabbed pages. This could be particularly useful if, say, I wanted to make a multi-level game. Often I get swamped with scripts and it becomes overwhelming. Maybe it could be something like this:

<when I receive[....]
<go to scene [....]>

When 'scene ....' receives that, it could begin with the relevant script in the scene, such as:

<when 'scene ....' activated>
<play drum(  )for(  )secs>
<change size by(

The new scene(s) don't actually have to be called 'Scene ....' Their names could be fully changed. It is just for exemplary purposes. But maybe when you create a new scene, it could automatically be called 'scene1', 'scene2', or 'scene3', etc.

There would have to be a Scenes bar at the top. Maybe just below the main menu bar or next to it. If the bar overspills (e.g. with lots of scenes), there could be an arrow button that appears to scroll back and fourth through the bar and a 'create new scene' button. You may want to develop on this idea.

Thanks

Offline

 

#2 2008-02-18 21:08:57

Paddle2See
Scratch Team
Registered: 2007-10-27
Posts: 1000+

Re: suggestion- 'Scenes' function

You can kind of do this now, if you have a different background for each scene.  Then, you can have the scripts for each scene under a Wait Until Background # = 3  (or whatever the scene number is) type hat.  You'd still have to do this for each sprite separately so maybe it would still be pretty complicated, but maybe you could give it a try.


http://i39.tinypic.com/2nav6o7.gif

Offline

 

#3 2008-04-18 12:56:09

kitty3
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-08-04
Posts: 15

Re: suggestion- 'Scenes' function

It's still a bit overwhelming if there are lots of scripts.

Offline

 

#4 2008-04-18 13:57:14

torterra
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-07-30
Posts: 500+

Re: suggestion- 'Scenes' function

yeah basically you use the broadcast block like this.                                                                               

you make the first scene, but as the last block use the "broadcast" block and make a name for it to broadcast. Next use the "when i recieve" block (in the background area and sprite area) and set it to where it recieves the next scene. Then build your next scene off of that block. like...

<when I receive[ scene2
<say[ yum ]for( 2 )secs>


this is one of the reasons they implanted the broadcast blocks.

Last edited by torterra (2008-04-18 13:58:31)


Fear my infinite capability of memes! >8D
http://knowyourmeme.com/i/2487/original/82fd835539583bfc43579d7fb2fc1523.jpg?1242728127

Offline

 

#5 2008-04-18 14:23:47

EdnaC
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-08-28
Posts: 100+

Re: suggestion- 'Scenes' function

At some point, more blocks just makes things more complicated, not less.  Your best bet is to put lots of thought into what your project will look like and how it will act before getting started.  I find that coordinating everything is the biggest challenge, and planning well is the best way to pull that off.

It's pretty easy to change scenes with the existing blocks;  Your project could have a broadcast "NextScene" and even a "PreviousScene".  Then in the background you'd have:

When I receive "NextScene"
next Costume

Whan I receive "PreviousScene"
Change to Costume (costume - 1)

Drawing scenes that match, especially if you want to do something like walk off the right edge and back to the left, can be hard.  It would be nice if the editor showed you what "pixel" the cursor was on...

-MrEd

Offline

 

Board footer