This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2008-04-05 15:25:14

whitcom
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-04-05
Posts: 1

Double-click is only moving one step

I'm brand new to Scratch. When I drag a block that says "ten steps" to the middle section, then double-click on it, my sprite only moves one step. I've tried repeatedly and with different sprites.

Has anyone else had this problem? How did you solve it?

Offline

 

#2 2008-04-05 15:45:56

Paddle2See
Scratch Team
Registered: 2007-10-27
Posts: 1000+

Re: Double-click is only moving one step

When it says "10 steps" it really means "10 pixels" which are the unit of measure used on the stage.  As you move your mouse around on the stage, the numbers in the lower right corner that say "mouse x:" and "mouse y:" are giving you the mouse position in pixels. 

So even though your sprite only moves once, it is moving 10 pixels.  If you really want the sprite to move 10 separate times, you could use a "repeat 10" loop from the Control tab around the Move block with a Wait command to make it pause.  Like this:

        repeat 10
               move 10 steps
               wait .5 seconds

Hopefully you find this helpful.


http://i39.tinypic.com/2nav6o7.gif

Offline

 

#3 2008-04-05 16:41:16

Zelda123
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-21
Posts: 1000+

Re: Double-click is only moving one step

Or if you want a sprite to move a total of 10 steps, you could do:

repeat 10
        move 1 step
        wait .5 seconds

You can change any of the number amounts, to have different variations of steps and repititions.

Offline

 

Board footer