This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2010-01-02 12:26:23

shamrocker
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-03-19
Posts: 1000+

Is there any way to...

...make it so only certain people (like people who know a password) can download a certain project?


http://i46.tinypic.com/2s1b32e.png
respect the oxford comma

Offline

 

#2 2010-01-02 12:56:47

shadow_7283
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-07
Posts: 1000+

Re: Is there any way to...

Not that I'm aware of. You can make it so that they can only run the project with a password though. Try this.

1. Replace ALL your "When Green Flag clicked" blocks with a When I recieve Start and put this block underneath all of them: if password = 1

2. Make a new sprite. YOU MUST FOLLOW THESE INSTRUCTIONS.
    a. Create a new sprite with the paint editor (click on the paint new sprite button)
    b. When the window is OPEN click on the paint new sprite button AGAIN
    c. Press OK. In the VERY CENTER of the screen there should be a completely white
square sprite that does not appear in the sprite selection section. Double click on it.

3. Add THIS SCRIPT:
When Green Flag clicked:
hide
set password to 0
ask "What is the password" and wait
if password = 0
   broadcast Start
   if NOT answer = "(whatever password you want)"
      forever
      set password to 0
   else
      set password to 1


4. Drag the hidden sprite to a corner and make sure it is hidden.

This will make it EXTREMELY DIFFICULT for anyone but someone who knows the password to view your project.

Last edited by shadow_7283 (2010-01-02 16:20:00)

Offline

 

#3 2010-01-02 14:47:27

iamrpk
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-04-06
Posts: 1000+

Re: Is there any way to...

shadow_7283 wrote:

Not that I'm aware of. You can make it so that they can only run the project with a password though. Try this.

1. Replace ALL your "When Green Flag clicked" blocks with a When I recieve Start and put this block underneath all of them: wait until <password=1>

2. Make a new sprite. YOU MUST FOLLOW THESE INSTRUCTIONS.
    a. Create a new sprite with the paint editor (click on the paint new sprite button)
    b. When the window is OPEN click on the paint new sprite button AGAIN
    c. Press OK. In the VERY CENTER of the screen there should be a completely white
square sprite that does not appear in the sprite selection section. Double click on it.

3. Add THIS SCRIPT:
When Green Flag clicked:
hide
set password to 0
ask "What is the password" and wait
if password = 0
   broadcast Start
   if NOT answer = "(whatever password you want)"
      forever
      set password to 0
   else
      set password to 1


4. Drag the hidden sprite to a corner and make sure it is hidden.

This will make it EXTREMELY DIFFICULT for anyone but someone who knows the password to view your project.

Couldn't you just view the scripts and see the password?


http://www.punbb-hosting.com/forums/AwesomeBooks911Forum/index.php

Offline

 

#4 2010-01-02 14:52:47

Greatdane
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-06-05
Posts: 1000+

Re: Is there any way to...

iamrpk wrote:

shadow_7283 wrote:

Not that I'm aware of. You can make it so that they can only run the project with a password though. Try this.

1. Replace ALL your "When Green Flag clicked" blocks with a When I recieve Start and put this block underneath all of them: wait until <password=1>

2. Make a new sprite. YOU MUST FOLLOW THESE INSTRUCTIONS.
    a. Create a new sprite with the paint editor (click on the paint new sprite button)
    b. When the window is OPEN click on the paint new sprite button AGAIN
    c. Press OK. In the VERY CENTER of the screen there should be a completely white
square sprite that does not appear in the sprite selection section. Double click on it.

3. Add THIS SCRIPT:
When Green Flag clicked:
hide
set password to 0
ask "What is the password" and wait
if password = 0
   broadcast Start
   if NOT answer = "(whatever password you want)"
      forever
      set password to 0
   else
      set password to 1


4. Drag the hidden sprite to a corner and make sure it is hidden.

This will make it EXTREMELY DIFFICULT for anyone but someone who knows the password to view your project.

Couldn't you just view the scripts and see the password?

You can't.


But they could still broadcast Start!


The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
        ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

Offline

 

#5 2010-01-02 14:55:37

iamrpk
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-04-06
Posts: 1000+

Re: Is there any way to...

Greatdane wrote:

iamrpk wrote:

shadow_7283 wrote:

Not that I'm aware of. You can make it so that they can only run the project with a password though. Try this.

1. Replace ALL your "When Green Flag clicked" blocks with a When I recieve Start and put this block underneath all of them: wait until <password=1>

2. Make a new sprite. YOU MUST FOLLOW THESE INSTRUCTIONS.
    a. Create a new sprite with the paint editor (click on the paint new sprite button)
    b. When the window is OPEN click on the paint new sprite button AGAIN
    c. Press OK. In the VERY CENTER of the screen there should be a completely white
square sprite that does not appear in the sprite selection section. Double click on it.

3. Add THIS SCRIPT:
When Green Flag clicked:
hide
set password to 0
ask "What is the password" and wait
if password = 0
   broadcast Start
   if NOT answer = "(whatever password you want)"
      forever
      set password to 0
   else
      set password to 1


4. Drag the hidden sprite to a corner and make sure it is hidden.

This will make it EXTREMELY DIFFICULT for anyone but someone who knows the password to view your project.

Couldn't you just view the scripts and see the password?

You can't.


But they could still broadcast Start!

Maybe you could make each script begin with:

[When I receive START]
[if (password = ______)]

But I still don't see how they couldn't just look at the scripts and see the password.


http://www.punbb-hosting.com/forums/AwesomeBooks911Forum/index.php

Offline

 

#6 2010-01-02 16:22:27

shadow_7283
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-07
Posts: 1000+

Re: Is there any way to...

Because the sprite is hidden. If you open the paint editor, and open it again (while the window is still open) the sprite becomes hidden and will not show up on the sprites section. Then, if you hide it, it makes it virtually impossible to find.

Please note that this method is not flawless. It was just a suggestion. But lets be honest, how many of us would go to all that trouble just to view a project? I know I sure wouldn't...

Offline

 

#7 2010-01-02 16:34:42

hmnwilson
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-07-04
Posts: 1000+

Re: Is there any way to...

I actually know a way to make the hidden sprites show up. Open a blank project, delete the default sprite, then go to File > Import project. Select the project with the hidden sprites and press OK. Every hidden sprite will show up in the list.

It's not convenient, and you need to know that there's hidden sprites in the project before you'll ever actually use it, but it works.

Last edited by hmnwilson (2010-01-02 16:35:37)


I'm taking a break from Scratch until 2.0 comes out. Any messages sent between then and now probably won't be read - sorry.
(Oct. 20, 2011)

Offline

 

#8 2010-01-03 00:08:03

sweetgames
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-12-22
Posts: 33

Re: Is there any way to...

I want to make a game where you can ask a spite a question, and it will answer it. Is there a way to make like this:
If answer has (a word) and (a word) in it, say yes
So that someone could type in a sentence, and it wouldn't have to be exactly how I wrote it in Scratch.


I am focusing all of my energy right now onto PinkPanda 2.0! To view the current version, click here: http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/sweetgames/1266202

Offline

 

#9 2010-01-03 11:21:43

shadow_7283
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-07
Posts: 1000+

Re: Is there any way to...

sweetgames wrote:

I want to make a game where you can ask a spite a question, and it will answer it. Is there a way to make like this:
If answer has (a word) and (a word) in it, say yes
So that someone could type in a sentence, and it wouldn't have to be exactly how I wrote it in Scratch.

It would be pretty difficult. First of all, Scratch doesn't recgonize spaces, so you would have to put all the letters of the answer in a list, and string them together into words. I might be able to figure something out though...

Offline

 

Board footer