This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2008-03-07 09:22:59

Masterock
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-12-01
Posts: 16

Screenbound?!

Whenever I am making a scrolling program on scratch, I always have to use some hide/show method. This is outrageous! When I am on a java,c# interface, I can push things off screen and don't have to worry about making them hide. What bugs me even more is that I can push it off screen when I it is online, but it's too late. But aside from that, sometimes you can't push stuff off screen even online. I would greatly appreciate it if on the next version of scratch you were to atleast make it so you can push the sprites off screen.

Offline

 

#2 2008-03-07 16:16:57

EdnaC
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-08-28
Posts: 100+

Re: Screenbound?!

This would certainly make scrolling projects easier, I think the developers were concerned about beginners "losing" their sprites and not knowing where they've gone to.  Perhaps an option for sprites, like the "drag" and "rotate" options cold be added: The default would be "must stay on screen", but users could select "able to roam off-screen".

-MrEd

Offline

 

#3 2008-03-07 20:48:30

Masterock
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-12-01
Posts: 16

Re: Screenbound?!

yah, because that might be pretty useful for people struggling with scroller games.

Offline

 

#4 2008-03-07 20:51:55

Rukqo
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-01-17
Posts: 100+

Re: Screenbound?!

[block]
<when green flag clicked>
<forever>
     <if> <( <abs( <x position> <>> 460 )>
         <hide>
     <else>
         <show>
[/block]
This should do.

Offline

 

#5 2008-03-07 21:03:07

archmage
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-05-18
Posts: 1000+

Re: Screenbound?!

I think they have changed the scratch player so that you can move sprites so far off the screen that it is not longer necessary to hide them in that way. If you look at my project "Lag Test" you can hardly notice the unused sprites and they are not even being hidden.

Scratch wasn't meant for professional developers so the screen boundaries were put in so that the average user wouldn't get confused.

Last edited by archmage (2008-03-07 21:08:45)


Hi, I am Archmage coder extraordinaire. I do Scratch,pascal,java,php,html, AS2 and AS3. Leave me a message if you want coding advice. Also check out my personal website, lots of good stuff about web development, Flash, and Scratch (v1 and v2) !

Offline

 

#6 2008-03-07 21:14:26

Rukqo
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-01-17
Posts: 100+

Re: Screenbound?!

Yep.

Offline

 

#7 2008-03-08 08:33:36

Masterock
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-12-01
Posts: 16

Re: Screenbound?!

I still sorta think they should add it on the coding. It only works on the scratch player, for instance, when you download capital, it works 2 times worse then it does online because of the player.

Offline

 

#8 2008-03-08 10:58:53

EdnaC
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-08-28
Posts: 100+

Re: Screenbound?!

In the "player", projects will bog down if you are are looking at a sprite that has scripts running, as Scratch as to handle graphics for the scripts as well as the "game".  In presentation mode, you should see about what you will see online, as far as speed is concerned.

-MrEd

Offline

 

Board footer