This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2009-08-18 11:29:12

Brass45
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-05-03
Posts: 500+

A new pen block?

Hi,Brass45 here,and I have a suggestion for a new block that could be added to scratch.I was wondering about a block that could be in the "pen" block section that would read,"Stamp Sprite(variable)".This would copy a specified sprite and all of it's scripts,similar to the copy sprite tool but it would be used during a game.This would be useful for games with multiple enemies or tower defense games,both of which would be made much easier to make by this block.Just a suggestion,but I think a block like this would have many applications in scratch easier.I hope that this feature will become a reality one day,and thanks for listening.


http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/4593/ubd1591.png<--Our website(click)
http://static.zooomr.com/images/8884671_b196719ffa_o.png<--If this image looks interesting,then click it to see an exclusive sneak peak of Evil Strings newest game:DarkLight

Offline

 

#2 2009-08-18 12:16:54

filo5
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-01-08
Posts: 1000+

Re: A new pen block?

It's _not_ needed. Just make a script like this in one sprite:
[blocks]
<when green flag clicked>
<set{ sprite_to_stamp }to( catface
<broadcast[ stamp other sprite in Sprite1's position
[/blocks]
And in the "catface" sprite make this script:
[blocks]
<when I receive[ stamp other sprite in Sprite1's position
<if> <( <{ sprite_to_stamp }> <=> catface )>
<go to x sad  x position of Sprite1 )y sad  y position of Sprite1
<stamp>
[/blocks]

Last edited by filo5 (2009-08-18 12:17:54)


Converting my Scratch projects to Python!

Offline

 

#3 2009-08-18 12:32:33

sccar3
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-09-04
Posts: 100+

Re: A new pen block?

filo5 wrote:

It's _not_ needed. Just make a script like this in one sprite:
[blocks]
<when green flag clicked>
<set{ sprite_to_stamp }to( catface
<broadcast[ stamp other sprite in Sprite1's position
[/blocks]
And in the "catface" sprite make this script:
[blocks]
<when I receive[ stamp other sprite in Sprite1's position
<if> <( <{ sprite_to_stamp }> <=> catface )>
<go to x sad  x position of Sprite1 )y sad  y position of Sprite1
<stamp>
[/blocks]

but then its just stamped and it cant move or have scrips.


http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-WInb2DZ2LBM/UQaLETx3VII/AAAAAAAAAmQ/ZOpSwEPggiE/s1600/The%2BElder%2BScrolls%2BOnline%2BSignup%2BBeta.jpg

Offline

 

#4 2009-08-18 12:37:04

filo5
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-01-08
Posts: 1000+

Re: A new pen block?

Of course it can! Stamped means it's currently "worn" costume is copied to the Pen's layer, but the sprite itself can move, have other scripts, change costumes without altering the stamped image. To get rid of a stamp, you have to invoke Pen's "clear" block.


Converting my Scratch projects to Python!

Offline

 

#5 2009-08-18 23:18:27

Brass45
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-05-03
Posts: 500+

Re: A new pen block?

sccar3 is right about one thing:you can't copy any scripts during gameplay.A TD(Tower Defense)game requires multiples of the same turret type to track and fire at an enemy with a diffrent range and fire rate if it's at a higher level than a tower of the same type,a technique that currently requires several sprites and multiple variables.A copy sprite block would have a profound effect on making these types of games.


http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/4593/ubd1591.png<--Our website(click)
http://static.zooomr.com/images/8884671_b196719ffa_o.png<--If this image looks interesting,then click it to see an exclusive sneak peak of Evil Strings newest game:DarkLight

Offline

 

#6 2009-08-24 21:12:42

Brass45
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-05-03
Posts: 500+

Re: A new pen block?

filo5 wrote:

Of course it can! Stamped means it's currently "worn" costume is copied to the Pen's layer, but the sprite itself can move, have other scripts, change costumes without altering the stamped image. To get rid of a stamp, you have to invoke Pen's "clear" block.

However,scarr3 was talking about the STAMP,not the actual sprite


http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/4593/ubd1591.png<--Our website(click)
http://static.zooomr.com/images/8884671_b196719ffa_o.png<--If this image looks interesting,then click it to see an exclusive sneak peak of Evil Strings newest game:DarkLight

Offline

 

#7 2009-08-28 06:08:45

redware
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-05-21
Posts: 92

Re: A new pen block?

I also would love to be able to clone sprites. Currently you have to export and reimport if you want to duplicate a sprite and some parts of the script have to be reselected. Even better if you could pass sprites between different applications running scratch with the connector....

Offline

 

#8 2009-08-28 06:44:04

Jonathanpb
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-07-25
Posts: 1000+

Re: A new pen block?

redware wrote:

I also would love to be able to clone sprites. Currently you have to export and reimport if you want to duplicate a sprite and some parts of the script have to be reselected.

Not really. You right-click on the sprite you want to duplicate (in the sprite menu or on the screen) and select 'duplicate'.

So you want to have a block that'll duplicate a sprite in mid-game? That'd be nice, but the scripts would need to be activated when you duplicated the sprite, right? I don't see how Scratch would sense what scripts would need to be running on the duplicated sprite.


"Human beings... must have action; and they will make it if they cannot find it.
-Charlotte Brontë

Offline

 

#9 2009-08-28 15:04:38

Brass45
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-05-03
Posts: 500+

Re: A new pen block?

It would actually be easy for a copied sprite to respond to the scripts by using either a "When I Recieve" or a "Forever"block


http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/4593/ubd1591.png<--Our website(click)
http://static.zooomr.com/images/8884671_b196719ffa_o.png<--If this image looks interesting,then click it to see an exclusive sneak peak of Evil Strings newest game:DarkLight

Offline

 

#10 2009-08-28 19:19:50

big-bang
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-02-21
Posts: 1000+

Re: A new pen block?

I'd like to see an [eraser] counterpart to all pen blocks (except for the pen colour and shade blocks). So...
[eraser down]
[eraser up]
[change eraser size by (whatever)]
[set eraser size to (whatever)]


http://i47.tinypic.com/6edrbm.jpghttp://i45.tinypic.com/dw9hmw.jpghttp://i50.tinypic.com/f28tvn.jpghttp://i45.tinypic.com/ruwaop.jpg

Offline

 

#11 2009-09-02 22:51:49

sccar3
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-09-04
Posts: 100+

Re: A new pen block?

big-bang wrote:

I'd like to see an [eraser] counterpart to all pen blocks (except for the pen colour and shade blocks). So...
[eraser down]
[eraser up]
[change eraser size by (whatever)]
[set eraser size to (whatever)]

Good idea


http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-WInb2DZ2LBM/UQaLETx3VII/AAAAAAAAAmQ/ZOpSwEPggiE/s1600/The%2BElder%2BScrolls%2BOnline%2BSignup%2BBeta.jpg

Offline

 

#12 2009-09-03 00:42:14

martianshark
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-03-24
Posts: 1000+

Re: A new pen block?

That's a pretty good idea, but there would have to be another block to go with it:<when I am copied>


http://img.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?txt=martianshark&amp;uid=e6cdc2c8-2476-4abd-9994-27f857396579&amp;bg=1

Offline

 

Board footer