This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.
  • Index
  •  » FAQ
  •  » How to reset.. your game?

#1 2009-05-15 03:43:44

100justin1
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-04-23
Posts: 6

How to reset.. your game?

Hey! I'm having some problems with my newest game:
http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/100justin1/527143

I've just joined this a while ago, and am pretty new still. But I'm getting pretty good.  smile
Okay, here's my short problem.

When you play my game and you lose, it has a try again button right?
How can I make it so when I click that it restarts everything from the start?

Thank you.

*I'm thinking of removing quite a bit of those red lines.. it's pretty hard.

Last edited by 100justin1 (2009-05-15 03:45:33)

Offline

 

#2 2009-05-15 04:59:12

Paddle2See
Scratch Team
Registered: 2007-10-27
Posts: 1000+

Re: How to reset.. your game?

Well, there isn't a quick solution to that problem...you have to design it in from the start.  Make a broadcast message called "Start Game" or something and then, on each sprite, set up scripts under the "When I Receive Start Game" to set the sprites where you want them to start, point them in the right direction, put the right costume on them and so on.  You also need to set any variables that need to be initialized.  Then, you just broadcast a message to Start Game when the green flag is clicked or your restart game button is clicked.


http://i39.tinypic.com/2nav6o7.gif

Offline

 

#3 2009-05-16 16:35:00

100justin1
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-04-23
Posts: 6

Re: How to reset.. your game?

Oh Okay, thank you. I made a new game with a menu, which was my first menu ever. I'm still working on it though.

Offline

 

#4 2009-05-16 16:41:56

Mike_W
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-02-05
Posts: 100+

Re: How to reset.. your game?

It's always a learnign curve. The great thing about scratch is the forums and how helpful the people are. If they don't know the answer they can often point you at a project that solves the same problem and you can download it.

Offline

 

#5 2009-05-24 21:13:19

MariowiiX
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 25

Re: How to reset.. your game?

[blocks]<when green flag clicked>
<say[ poop ]for( 5 )secs>[blocks] you can click the green flag on the top right corner

Last edited by MariowiiX (2009-05-24 21:14:15)


<a href="http://www.danasoft.com"><img src="http://www.danasoft.com/citysign.jpg" border="0"></a><p><div style="font-family:Arial,sans-serif;font-size:11px;">Sign by Danasoft - <a href="http://www.danasoft.com">Get Your Free Sign</a></p></div>

Offline

 

#6 2009-05-24 23:58:11

DawnLight
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-04-25
Posts: 500+

Re: How to reset.. your game?

MariowiiX wrote:

[blocks]<when green flag clicked>
<say[ poop ]for( 5 )secs>[blocks] you can click the green flag on the top right corner

Please don't spam and go way out of topic. This is not a good way to introduce yourself to the scratch community.

Last edited by DawnLight (2009-05-24 23:58:37)

Offline

 

#7 2009-06-07 01:41:52

Chrischb
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 1000+

Re: How to reset.. your game?

Paddle2See wrote:

Well, there isn't a quick solution to that problem...you have to design it in from the start.  Make a broadcast message called "Start Game" or something and then, on each sprite, set up scripts under the "When I Receive Start Game" to set the sprites where you want them to start, point them in the right direction, put the right costume on them and so on.  You also need to set any variables that need to be initialized.  Then, you just broadcast a message to Start Game when the green flag is clicked or your restart game button is clicked.

That's what I was going to say!

Last edited by Chrischb (2009-06-23 01:41:57)


I fall: It's a tragedy. You fall: It's comedy.
Hmph enjoy your fall - I get a lovely spring... without pans of new leaves.

Offline

 

#8 2009-06-09 11:11:43

Awsome-me
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-10-11
Posts: 59

Re: How to reset.. your game?

Just use the green flag.


Check out my awsome stuff at http://scratch.mit.edu/users/Awsome-me
I've even got youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/LegoPatapon

Offline

 

#9 2009-06-27 13:03:24

GEEKORAMA
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-01-18
Posts: 100+

Re: How to reset.. your game?

Yes, of course, just use the green flag!   smile

Offline

 

#10 2009-07-21 06:27:57

beanbug
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 100+

Re: How to reset.. your game?

What if he hasnt scripted the sprites to reset themselves at the green flag?


A Life? Cool! Where can I download one of those from?

Offline

 

#11 2009-08-20 06:52:24

maciej
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 15

Re: How to reset.. your game?

On the <when green flag clicked> make a <broadcast[  directly under it and it <broadcast[ s that when you press retry as well as at the begining of the game.<when I receive[ FAQ

Offline

 

#12 2009-10-05 20:29:51

greatpopcorn
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-10-04
Posts: 19

Re: How to reset.. your game?

Hey! There is one more way to do it. When you hit try again, have it broadcast "scratch-startclicked".


Signature yet to be approved.

Offline

 

#13 2009-11-08 16:50:49

Flait7
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-04-14
Posts: 100+

Re: How to reset.. your game?

Make the entire game start with a single message that can be broadcasted, so that when you want to restart automatically or without using the green flag, make the spries broadcast the script to restart the project


http://scratch.mit.edu/static/projects/Flait7/2248016_sm.pnghttp://scratch.mit.edu/static/projects/Flait7/1827934_sm.png

Offline

 

#14 2010-09-08 07:56:40

scratchisthebest
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-02-08
Posts: 500+

Re: How to reset.. your game?

Actually, if you use the scratch-startclicked trick, you will need to download to reset properly. Maybe a play button and a lose button.

When I Receive lose
Show

When Lose Clicked
Broadcast Restart


bye 1.4, we all loved you. but we all outgrew the site. 2.0 is a welcome change.
http://scratch.mit.edu/img/Pico3-med.pnghttp://scratch.mit.edu/img/Pico3-med.pnghttp://scratch.mit.edu/img/Pico3-med.pnghttp://scratch.mit.edu/img/Pico3-med.pnghttp://scratch.mit.edu/img/Pico3-med.png

Offline

 

#15 2010-10-05 20:28:42

Randomstuff
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-06-27
Posts: 11

Re: How to reset.. your game?

use the flag thing

Offline

 

#16 2010-10-05 20:50:58

ScratchReallyROCKS
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-04-22
Posts: 1000+

Re: How to reset.. your game?

Randomstuff wrote:

use the flag thing

or replace every green flag hats with broadcast receiver hats, and have it broadcast a message when it needs to restart. Not that it matters anymore, this thread is so old.


http://imageshack.us/a/img694/3806/sigmad.png

Offline

 

#17 2010-10-05 20:53:51

midnightleopard
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-09-13
Posts: 1000+

Re: How to reset.. your game?

The green flag can set everything back up. Perhaps when you lose you can <stop all> then have them press green flag again.

Last edited by midnightleopard (2010-10-05 20:53:58)


http://pwp.wizards.com/5103673563/Scorecards/Landscape.png

Offline

 

#18 2010-12-18 14:52:13

MiffinTheMuffin
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-12-11
Posts: 1000+

Re: How to reset.. your game?

You should make the 'Try Again' button have this script:
<when[ Try Again Button ]clicked>
<broadcast[ Scratch-startclicked]

This should work.


http://i.imgur.com/FDvbV.png

Offline

 

#19 2010-12-18 17:42:56

echs
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-03-18
Posts: 1000+

Re: How to reset.. your game?

use broadcast blocks to restart
like, (broadcast {reset})
and then put (when i recieve {reset}) (broadcast {start})


http://i45.tinypic.com/35m4llw.gif

Offline

 

#20 2011-02-07 02:34:00

haniyamout1
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-12-20
Posts: 27

Re: How to reset.. your game?

make a sprite called replay
in there do

<when[this sprite  ]clicked>

<broadcast[ reset

<when I receive[ reset

copy the script you want to reset and that is it


Threat Detected!!!    REAL THREAT
Delete It Or Get 10000 Infections!!!!!! not fake  sad

Offline

 

#21 2011-02-07 19:45:05

Pecola1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-09-06
Posts: 1000+

Re: How to reset.. your game?

100justin1 wrote:

Hey! I'm having some problems with my newest game:
http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/100justin1/527143

I've just joined this a while ago, and am pretty new still. But I'm getting pretty good.  smile
Okay, here's my short problem.

When you play my game and you lose, it has a try again button right?
How can I make it so when I click that it restarts everything from the start?

Thank you.

*I'm thinking of removing quite a bit of those red lines.. it's pretty hard.

Or you can just broadcast "scratch-startclicked" it will press the green flag.


<broadcast[ scratch-startclicked

Last edited by Pecola1 (2011-02-07 19:45:13)


If you are reading this, please read to the end, because if you don't you won't know what's at the end. Don't just skip to the end though otherwise you won't be able to read the middle, which is most important. Now you must be wondering why you just read all that, the reason is you may have not noticed something, read it again and see if you notice it this time  smile

Offline

 

#22 2012-11-08 12:20:58

7bennelt
New Scratcher
Registered: 2012-11-06
Posts: 1

Re: How to reset.. your game?

Hey i made a game but I dont know how to restart the game, or make a title screen whereyou can click play.Can somebody help me?

Offline

 
  • Index
  •  » FAQ
  •  » How to reset.. your game?

Board footer