This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2013-03-03 15:34:09

alfiaw
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-01-11
Posts: 51

Round 2 of Quiz Game doesn't work - help!

Hi there,

I'm working on a game on physical vs. chemical properties for 5th grade chemistry. Round 1 with the dog works fine except for needing to input the correct answer twice if you get it wrong answer at first.  My real concern is that round 2 gives incorrect answers.  I tried a few different things with the loop and index variables, but so far it messes up in a number of ways, sometimes predictably and others seemingly unpredictably. Any advice greatly appreciated!

**NEED HELP WITH BUGS**

1) ROUND 2 with the lion keeps giving the wrong answer, either all the chemical answers are wrong or it's all mixed up.

2) If you get an answer wrong, you need to put the correct answer in *TWICE* to get to the next question. Any advice appreciated

Project here: Physical or Chemical TEST

Thanks!


Annie the Dog says, Check out my The EVOLUTION OF THE TAPIR! (Tapirs are almost as cute as me.)
http://www.plumsite.com/images/annie1.jpg

Offline

 

#2 2013-03-03 22:07:08

ChadtheBuilder
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-27
Posts: 100+

Re: Round 2 of Quiz Game doesn't work - help!

I can't tell for sure what exactly is wrong because I am on mobile right now, and I cannot open it in Scratch, but do you have it where it broadcasts the answer that is typed? It should look something like this.

Ask (Physical or Chemical) and wait
broadcast (answer)

When I receive (answer block goes here)
if answer equals (Chemical)
        broadcast(Chemical)
if answer equals (Physical)
        broadcast (Physical)

Then, you need two sprites called Physical and Chemical. They are both set to hide by default. Then you need on each one something like this

When I receive (Physical)
show
(Score keeping code here)

And for chemical you need something like

When I receive (Chemical)
show
(Score keeping code here)

I know this probably does not work exactly like I put it, but that is the best I can do off the top of my head. I hope this is what you needed, and hopefully tomorrow, I can write this code in, and get an accurate code.


http://dl.dropbox.com/u/107729333/1360160765356.jpg

Offline

 

#3 2013-03-04 00:11:43

alfiaw
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-01-11
Posts: 51

Re: Round 2 of Quiz Game doesn't work - help!

Hi Chad,

Thanks for your thoughtful response, but the issue is that I'm using two lists and a loop-index variable checks to see if the answer given is the same as the one indexed for the question. It works when they just go down the list but I try to randomize it the second time it gets all messed up.  sad 

Alfia


Annie the Dog says, Check out my The EVOLUTION OF THE TAPIR! (Tapirs are almost as cute as me.)
http://www.plumsite.com/images/annie1.jpg

Offline

 

#4 2013-03-04 07:52:17

ChadtheBuilder
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-27
Posts: 100+

Re: Round 2 of Quiz Game doesn't work - help!

alfiaw wrote:

Hi Chad,

Thanks for your thoughtful response, but the issue is that I'm using two lists and a loop-index variable checks to see if the answer given is the same as the one indexed for the question. It works when they just go down the list but I try to randomize it the second time it gets all messed up.  sad 

Alfia

I don't really have much experience is lists. Let me try it out in the online editor, and then maybe I will have a better idea of your problem.


http://dl.dropbox.com/u/107729333/1360160765356.jpg

Offline

 

#5 2013-03-04 08:52:49

Gravitation
New Scratcher
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 500+

Re: Round 2 of Quiz Game doesn't work - help!

I answered in a comment on the project.  smile

Offline

 

Board footer