This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#26 2013-02-21 22:09:39

CAA14
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 1000+

Re: platform game 2

GDrama97 wrote:

how do you make it so when u reach the goal the game transitions to the next level

Okay, here is one way:

Put this in a sprite that is decorated for a goal, like a flag:

when gf clicked
set [level v] to (1)
if < (level) = [1]>
go to x: (0) y: (0) // Put the coordinance for were you want it to be
show
Do that for every level, except the "set level to"block.

You will also do this for your Backgrounds(If you are using the stage, if using sprites you will have to do something similar with the sprites):

when gf clicked
switch to background [level 1 v]
forever
if < (level) = [2] >
switch to background [level 2 v]
end
end
And so on.

Then:

when gf clicked
forever
if <touching? [player v]>
change [level v] by (1)
end
That should work.

Please ask if you have anymore questions.

Regards,

CAA14

Last edited by CAA14 (2013-02-21 22:10:59)

Offline

 

#27 2013-02-22 00:47:06

GDrama97
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-02
Posts: 100+

Re: platform game 2

is the last script
for the character or still for the stage

Offline

 

#28 2013-02-22 00:50:22

GDrama97
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-02
Posts: 100+

Re: platform game 2

when i followed the scripts that you show me i went to the goal and tried to go to the next level but it just flicker in out and the when i went away it would stay on the level i was currently on how do ii fix that.

Offline

 

#29 2013-02-22 03:46:52

GDrama97
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-02
Posts: 100+

Re: platform game 2

how do you make it so you can do all the programming on level 3 and then can move back to level 1 when you press the flag to testy out the game.

Offline

 

#30 2013-02-22 07:29:45

GDrama97
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-02
Posts: 100+

Re: platform game 2

how do you delete a topic on the scratch forums

Offline

 

#31 2013-02-22 14:52:19

CAA14
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 1000+

Re: platform game 2

Okay, you report the first post and then say, "Pleas close" or something.

Please post you scripts, it will help me help you much better, i promise that you wont have to worry about me copying you.  smile


Oh, sorry, i forgot to tell you that the last script was for the "flag" or warp that takes you to the next stage.  smile


I don't understand you 3rd question.

Regards,

CAA14

Offline

 

#32 2013-02-22 17:49:03

GDrama97
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-02
Posts: 100+

Re: platform game 2

i want to be bale to make my other levels how do i do that

Offline

 

#33 2013-02-22 17:53:15

GDrama97
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-02
Posts: 100+

Re: platform game 2

do u want me to just put my game on my account and then u can download it and see all the scripts rather than just the ones answering the question

Offline

 

#34 2013-02-22 19:04:20

GDrama97
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-02
Posts: 100+

Re: platform game 2

how do you make it so when u reach the goal the game transitions to the next level.how do i start the game at level 1 i have two levels and i cant seem to be bale to start it at level 1

Offline

 

#35 2013-02-22 19:12:40

CAA14
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 1000+

Re: platform game 2

GDrama97 wrote:

do u want me to just put my game on my account and then u can download it and see all the scripts rather than just the ones answering the question

Yes, that would be much easier.

Regards,

CAA14

Offline

 

#36 2013-02-22 19:26:10

GDrama97
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-02
Posts: 100+

Re: platform game 2

its up now

Offline

 

#37 2013-02-22 19:29:10

GDrama97
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-02
Posts: 100+

Re: platform game 2

did u get the project to see if you can fix the problems i am having

Offline

 

#38 2013-02-22 19:31:54

CAA14
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 1000+

Re: platform game 2

GDrama97 wrote:

did u get the project to see if you can fix the problems i am having

I will look at it, but i may not answer for awhile... I am pretty busy.  smile

But i will definitely get back to you once i have found the problems.

Regards,

CAA14

Offline

 

#39 2013-02-22 19:34:37

GDrama97
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-02
Posts: 100+

Re: platform game 2

are you able to get back to me in like 1-2 hours

Offline

 

#40 2013-02-22 19:36:45

CAA14
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 1000+

Re: platform game 2

GDrama97 wrote:

are you able to get back to me in like 1-2 hours

Maybe, but if i don't i will try to tomorrow.
Don't worry, i will help you.  smile

Regards,

CAA14

Offline

 

#41 2013-02-22 19:40:45

CAA14
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 1000+

Re: platform game 2

Okay, i just looked and some of it i am not sure where you're going with it, but anyway, what exactly isn't working for you?

Regards,

CAA14

Offline

 

#42 2013-02-22 19:42:15

CAA14
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 1000+

Re: platform game 2

One thing is that on your platforms, you don't specify a "y" position like you do for the x.

Regards,

CAA14

Offline

 

#43 2013-02-22 19:43:57

GDrama97
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-02
Posts: 100+

Re: platform game 2

i wanted to make it so i could jump onto multiple platforms making the gamae more interesting

Offline

 

#44 2013-02-22 19:55:39

GDrama97
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-02
Posts: 100+

Re: platform game 2

i am wanting to have 10 levels in my game . there will be 4 enemies in my game a crab which is worth 1 point when killed a bat which is worth 2 point when killed a monkey which is worth 3 and a lion which is worth 4. the objective of the game is to navigate through each level and get to the portal in order to reach the next level. in order to get to the next level you have to kill the enemies in your way and break the brick in order to collect the coin which will improve your score. I'm also wanting to make it so when you complete a level you receive an upgrade for example faster shooting, long range, more bullets etc. in this game each level will get progressively harder with more enemies to kill.

Offline

 

#45 2013-02-22 20:07:31

GDrama97
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-02
Posts: 100+

Re: platform game 2

i am wanting to have 10 levels in my game . there will be 4 enemies in my game a crab which is worth 1 point when killed a bat which is worth 2 point when killed a monkey which is worth 3 and a lion which is worth 4. the objective of the game is to navigate through each level and get to the portal in order to reach the next level. in order to get to the next level you have to kill the enemies in your way and break the brick in order to collect the coin which will improve your score. I'm also wanting to make it so when you complete a level you receive an upgrade for example faster shooting, long range, more bullets etc. in this game each level will get progressively harder with more enemies to kill.

Offline

 

#46 2013-02-22 20:13:33

GDrama97
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-02
Posts: 100+

Re: platform game 2

are you able to me achieve that

Offline

 

#47 2013-02-22 20:14:06

CAA14
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 1000+

Re: platform game 2

Well... I hate to say this but, i do not understand trig or geometry, so your "x offset" and all that totally throws me. I will post the way i would do that:

Put this in Antonio:

  
when i receive [gameStart v]
show
forever
change y by (-10)
end
when i receive [gameStart v]
go to x: (11) y: (156)
forever
if <touching color? [#000000]> // You will have to make the outline of 
change y by (10) // your platforms the color you choose, and then set  that color above.
end 
end
And for your motion put:

when i receive [gameStart v]
forever
if <key [right arrow v] pressed?>
switch to costume [WALK1 v]
change [scrollx v] by (-5)
if <key [left arrow v] pressed?>
switch to costume [WALK2 v]
change [scrollx v] by (5)
end
end
end
end
when i receive [gameStart v]
forever
if <key [space v] pressed?>
switch to costume [JUMP UP v]
set [jumping? v] to [yes]
repeat (10)
change y by (30)
end
set [jumping? v] to [no]
end
end
when i receive [gameStart v]
forever
if < (killed?) = [yes] >
switch to costume [DEAD v]
broadcast [gameOver v]
end
end
Make sure to also put:

when gf clicked
set [killed? v] to [no]
set [jumping? v] to [no]
Also, put this in every one of your enemy sprites:

when i receive [gameStart v]
forever
if <touching? [antonio v]>
set [killed? v] to [yes]
stop script
end
end

As for the motion of the platforms, it looks like you know what you're doing, but if you want to know how i would do it, then just ask.  smile

Hope that helps,

CAA14

Last edited by CAA14 (2013-02-22 20:19:32)

Offline

 

#48 2013-02-22 20:29:40

GDrama97
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-02
Posts: 100+

Re: platform game 2

How do i make my title screen with only my main character and the words adventures of Antonio not the other sprites ion the game

Offline

 

#49 2013-02-22 20:31:43

CAA14
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 1000+

Re: platform game 2

GDrama97 wrote:

are you able to me achieve that

Yes, and i think you can figure out most of that easy seeing your current script, but if you can't then i can try to tell you how.  smile

Yes, what you want is possible, and i think as far as the point system, you've got it.  wink
As far as the "upgrades", you can set a variable called "speedRight" and initialize it to -5 and vice versa for "speedLeft", then you can use that in the speed like this:

change [scrollx v] by (speedRight)
Then, once you have the portal set up, you can put this script:

when i receive [gameStart v]
forever
if < (level) = [1] >
if <touching? [antonio v]>
change [speedRight v] by (-2)
change [speedLeft v] by (2)
end
end
end


Regards,

CAA14

Offline

 

#50 2013-02-22 20:33:00

CAA14
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 1000+

Re: platform game 2

GDrama97 wrote:

How do i make my title screen with only my main character and the words adventures of Antonio not the other sprites ion the game

Rather than post another long post, i will make a simple title screen and then let you change it to how you want it, is that okay?

Regards,

CAA14

Offline

 

Board footer