This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2013-02-16 23:39:35

bob6
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-07-01
Posts: 100+

How to make variables go where they should be

When I upload my game Bounce! The variables displayed are not in the right position or format (Regular instead of Big Display). How do I get the variables to go to the right position? I tried uploading again, but that didn't help.

Thanks in advance!


http://i46.tinypic.com/3148ksz.gif

Offline

 

#2 2013-02-16 23:51:51

CAA14
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 1000+

Re: How to make variables go where they should be

Well, it's annoying, but you have to make sure the variable is checked, and then upload with it properly positioned. I know, it's annoying...

Regards,

CAA14

Offline

 

#3 2013-02-17 10:44:34

bob6
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-07-01
Posts: 100+

Re: How to make variables go where they should be

Hmm... That's what I did. So what did I do wrong? Does it matter if the variables are originally not checked, then in then middle of the game, it appears?


OOOH I think I get it when I uploaded it the variables were not displayed yet so I need to manually display it THEN upload.

Thanks you, CAA14!


http://i46.tinypic.com/3148ksz.gif

Offline

 

#4 2013-02-17 16:14:21

CAA14
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 1000+

Re: How to make variables go where they should be

bob6 wrote:

Hmm... That's what I did. So what did I do wrong? Does it matter if the variables are originally not checked, then in then middle of the game, it appears?


OOOH I think I get it when I uploaded it the variables were not displayed yet so I need to manually display it THEN upload.

Thanks you, CAA14!

Exactly.  smile

No problem, i enjoy helping with what i can.  smile

Regards,

CAA14

Offline

 

#5 2013-02-18 16:09:33

liam48D
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-18
Posts: 33

Re: How to make variables go where they should be

I think I know how. Look at this:

when gf clicked
set <skill> to <10>
Now you can set the variable in your script to whatever you want, hope this helps!

Offline

 

#6 2013-02-18 16:13:09

liam48D
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-18
Posts: 33

Re: How to make variables go where they should be

Also, you can use this:


skill

when gf clicked
set <skill> to 8
if <<skill> <10>
end

Always keep your variable out so you can use it again.

Hope this helps!

Offline

 

#7 2013-02-18 16:32:06

CAA14
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 1000+

Re: How to make variables go where they should be

liam48D wrote:

Also, you can use this:


skill

when gf clicked
set <skill> to 8
if <<skill> <10>
end

Always keep your variable out so you can use it again.

Hope this helps!

This is good info, but i think he meant how to make it go on the screen where you want it.  smile

Regards,

CAA14

Offline

 

#8 2013-02-18 17:01:31

bob6
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-07-01
Posts: 100+

Re: How to make variables go where they should be

liam48D wrote:

I think I know how. Look at this:

when gf clicked
set <skill> to <10>
Now you can set the variable in your script to whatever you want, hope this helps!

That wasn't what I was looking for, I'm not that nub anymore  tongue

But nevertheless, thanks for the help!


http://i46.tinypic.com/3148ksz.gif

Offline

 

#9 2013-02-18 18:12:23

jji7skyline
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-03-08
Posts: 1000+

Re: How to make variables go where they should be

If variables need to be hidden, but they need to appear at some time in the game, remember that variables always appear online in the same position they are visible on the offline Scratch.

But if the variables are hidden when you upload the project, the variables will default to the top left corner.

So make sure you tick all the variables before uploading, and if necessary, add a hide variable script at the start of your project. Then the variables will appear in the correct place.


I don't know why you say goodbye, I say hello!  big_smile

Offline

 

Board footer