This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2013-02-04 07:08:09

RAVITEJANARRA
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 1

start menu

hi,
am a young scratcher .
i just want to make a game,with start menu but i am facing problems in doing that.there are few bugs in that.so, i would feel happy if some one gives me a new idea.

Offline

 

#2 2013-02-04 12:46:29

shadowmouse
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-03
Posts: 100+

Re: start menu

Try having a new background (as well as any you already have) which is black and says
(your title)
press space
this should be your first background (i've called it title screen)
Then try something on the background like:
[sctachblocks]
when gf clicked
switch to background [title screen v]
broadcast [hide v]
wait until <key [space v] pressed?>
broadcast [start v]
[/scratchblocks]
then for the sprites:

when i recieve [hide v]
hide
and
when i recieve [start v]
show
then add your code onto the end of the last one

Offline

 

#3 2013-02-04 12:49:46

shadowmouse
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-02-03
Posts: 100+

Re: start menu

Try having a new background (as well as any you already have) which is black and says
(your title)
press space
this should be your first background (i've called it title screen)
Then try something on the background like:

when gf clicked
switch to background [title screen v]
broadcast [hide v]
wait until <key [space v] pressed?>
broadcast [start v]
sorry, that was my first time putting scratch blocks into a message
and the red blocks should be hat blocks

Offline

 

#4 2013-02-04 13:32:52

CAA14
Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 1000+

Re: start menu

What I do is make a BG(Back Ground) for the menu on the "stage".

Then, once my intro(optional, of course,) finishes it broadcasts "program_Start".

Then for my stage i put:

 
when i receive [program_Start v]
switch to background [menu_ v]

Then i make my buttons for play or quit or whatever else the game requires and put this script: (The "play" button will be used in this example,)

 
when i receive [program_Start v]
go to x (0) y (0)
show
Then put anything you want special like maybe having it slowly change size and then shrink again.

Then you put:

 
when play_Button clicked
broadcast [play_ v]
hide
Hope that helps,

CAA14

Offline

 

Board footer