This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2013-01-03 10:26:04

tabitwitchit
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-03
Posts: 4

menu buttons

i've got a school project to make a game on scratch. i want to add a menu screen at the start that lets the player choose between start the game, instructions and possibly another one but i dont have a clue how to do it!!

any answers or tips would be great but the easier the better!
thanks .

Offline

 

#2 2013-01-03 10:40:16

Sholvanic1058
Scratcher
Registered: 2012-04-21
Posts: 100+

Re: menu buttons

tabitwitchit wrote:

i've got a school project to make a game on scratch. i want to add a menu screen at the start that lets the player choose between start the game, instructions and possibly another one but i dont have a clue how to do it!!

any answers or tips would be great but the easier the better!
thanks .

Hey There! I would recommend you downloading some projects that have the things you want and use the scripts that are available!

Help is nearby!

Sholvanic1058


http://i44.tinypic.com/2lj6o94.png

Offline

 

#3 2013-01-03 12:21:42

tabitwitchit
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-03
Posts: 4

Re: menu buttons

thanks !

Offline

 

#4 2013-01-03 13:11:41

tabitwitchit
New Scratcher
Registered: 2013-01-03
Posts: 4

Re: menu buttons

forgive me for sounding like a confuzed idiot but what exactly is broadcast and what exactly does it do?

Offline

 

#5 2013-01-03 13:29:10

Firedrake969
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 1000+

Re: menu buttons

Don't worry, everyone in Scratch sounded like a confused idiot once, including me.   wink   A broadcast lets two or more sprites communicate with each other.  For example:

Sprite 1:

when gf clicked
say [Hi, sprite 2!]
broadcast [sprite 1 says hi v]
Sprite 2:
when I receive [sprite 1 says hi v]
wait (0.3) secs //for aesthetics, no real need
say [Hi, sprite 1!]


Click the sign.
https://s3.amazonaws.com/eterna/eterna2/logo2.png

Offline

 

#6 2013-01-04 15:56:14

PikachuPal123456
New Scratcher
Registered: 2012-12-08
Posts: 5

Re: menu buttons

To make a make a menu screen, follow this set of instructions.
1.Draw your main menu stage in the backgrounds tab of the stage. Draw your help screen in another background. In another background, make your playing field (first level).
2.Make a sprite (name them what they are. e.g. Play, Help, etc.) for the Play button, the Help button, and the Menu button(for on the help screen. let's you go back to the menu).
3.Make this in the Play button.

when Play clicked
broadcast Play Clicked
when I receive [Play Clicked v]
hide
4.On the stage put this.
when I receive [Play Clicked v]
switch to background [playing field v]
Repeat these scripts for the Help button (Chang the broadcast to "Help Clicked", and background to "help screen'.)
5.On the Menu button, put these scripts.
when gf clicked
hide
when I receive [help clicked v]
show
when Menu clicked
broadcast [Menu Clicked v]
when I receive [Menu Clicked v]
hide
6.Go back to the stage and put this script.
when I receive [Menu Clicked v]
switch to background [menu v]
7.This script goes on the Play and Help buttons.
when I receive [Menu Clicked v]
show
Your done with the scripts and have a fully functioning menu system!  big_smile

Offline

 

#7 2013-01-04 15:59:52

PikachuPal123456
New Scratcher
Registered: 2012-12-08
Posts: 5

Re: menu buttons

PikachuPal123456 wrote:

To make a make a menu screen, follow this set of instructions.
1.Draw your main menu stage in the backgrounds tab of the stage. Draw your help screen in another background. In another background, make your playing field (first level).
2.Make a sprite (name them what they are. e.g. Play, Help, etc.) for the Play button, the Help button, and the Menu button(for on the help screen. let's you go back to the menu).
3.Make this in the Play button.

when Play clicked
broadcast Play Clicked
when I receive [Play Clicked v]
hide
4.On the stage put this.
when I receive [Play Clicked v]
switch to background [playing field v]
Repeat these scripts for the Help button (Chang the broadcast to "Help Clicked", and background to "help screen'.)
5.On the Menu button, put these scripts.
when gf clicked
hide
when I receive [help clicked v]
show
when Menu clicked
broadcast [Menu Clicked v]
when I receive [Menu Clicked v]
hide
6.Go back to the stage and put this script.
when I receive [Menu Clicked v]
switch to background [menu v]
7.This script goes on the Play and Help buttons.
when I receive [Menu Clicked v]
show
Your done with the scripts and have a fully functioning menu system!  big_smile

Sorry about the red blocks (they shouldn't be that way. I messed up).

Offline

 

#8 2013-01-04 16:04:13

shiguy101
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 1000+

Re: menu buttons

PikachuPal123456 wrote:

PikachuPal123456 wrote:

To make a make a menu screen, follow this set of instructions.
1.Draw your main menu stage in the backgrounds tab of the stage. Draw your help screen in another background. In another background, make your playing field (first level).
2.Make a sprite (name them what they are. e.g. Play, Help, etc.) for the Play button, the Help button, and the Menu button(for on the help screen. let's you go back to the menu).
3.Make this in the Play button.

when[ Play v] clicked
broadcast [Play Clicked v]
when I receive [Play Clicked v]
hide
4.On the stage put this.
when I receive [Play Clicked v]
switch to background [playing field v]
Repeat these scripts for the Help button (Chang the broadcast to "Help Clicked", and background to "help screen'.)
5.On the Menu button, put these scripts.
when gf clicked
hide
when I receive [help clicked v]
show
when [Menu v]clicked
broadcast [Menu Clicked v]
when I receive [Menu Clicked v]
hide
6.Go back to the stage and put this script.
when I receive [Menu Clicked v]
switch to background [menu v]
7.This script goes on the Play and Help buttons.
when I receive [Menu Clicked v]
show
Your done with the scripts and have a fully functioning menu system!  big_smile

Sorry about the red blocks (they shouldn't be that way. I messed up).

Fixed.

Offline

 

Board footer