This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2009-05-17 14:55:25

jishera
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-11-18
Posts: 6

Sprite does not receive a "broadcast" signal from another sprite

I made a pretty large game file, and I've been noticing some inconsistencies while playing the game. I have quite a few sprites that "show" and then I set them to ghost effect 99 so that the player can click on a part of the screen and something happens, but the sprite cannot be seen. Sometimes, a sprite does not show up when it is supposed to (after it receives a broadcast signal). I had this happen with 3 pretty much identical sprites (they just go to a different x,y) that work almost every time. One of the sprites did not show when it was supposed to, but the others worked perfectly. When I manually showed it and clicked on it, everything worked as it should. I've had this happen to a couple other sprites, too. The only thing I can think of is that the sprite for some reason did not receive the broadcast signal even though the others did. I'm pretty sure it isn't my code, because the only part that occasionally does not' work is "when receive broadcast signal, show, set ghost effect to 99"

Anyone else have this problem at times?

Offline

 

#2 2009-05-17 17:01:50

coolstuff
Community Moderator
Registered: 2008-03-06
Posts: 1000+

Re: Sprite does not receive a "broadcast" signal from another sprite

Does it ALWAYS not work, or just sometimes?

Last edited by coolstuff (2009-05-17 17:02:05)

Offline

 

#3 2009-05-17 20:38:05

bosox397
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-02-17
Posts: 1000+

Re: Sprite does not receive a "broadcast" signal from another sprite

You need a

<show>
<clear graphic effects>


Dear Scratch Users,
I'm done with scratch, or at least making projects. I have made one last big game, thats both fun and teaches a lesson about water. It'd mean a lot if you gave me feedback.                              http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/bosox397/569201

Offline

 

#4 2009-05-18 17:33:53

scratchisthebest
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-02-08
Posts: 500+

Re: Sprite does not receive a "broadcast" signal from another sprite

Does this work?
[blocks]<when I receive[ showsprites ]>
<show>[/blocks]
If not, try this:[blocks]
<when I receive[ showsprites ]>
<set[ ghost ]effect to( 0 )>
<show>[/blocks]
If the first works... well, you know what to do.

EDIT: Do you have messages, when you convert them to lowercase, are the same?

Last edited by scratchisthebest (2009-05-18 17:36:09)


bye 1.4, we all loved you. but we all outgrew the site. 2.0 is a welcome change.
http://scratch.mit.edu/img/Pico3-med.pnghttp://scratch.mit.edu/img/Pico3-med.pnghttp://scratch.mit.edu/img/Pico3-med.pnghttp://scratch.mit.edu/img/Pico3-med.pnghttp://scratch.mit.edu/img/Pico3-med.png

Offline

 

#5 2009-05-22 11:23:53

jishera
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-11-18
Posts: 6

Re: Sprite does not receive a "broadcast" signal from another sprite

It works most of the time, but since I've been testing my game many times, as have many others, a few times one of the sprites has not shown (I have like 90 sprites in the game). It isn't always the same sprite.

I normally show the object and then set the ghost effect to 99 when a broadcast is received.

The broadcast signal is the proper one (I have to get it from a pull down menu anyways, so you can't mess that up unless you grab the wrong one, and I don't have any duplicates in different cases).

Last edited by jishera (2009-05-22 11:25:41)

Offline

 

#6 2009-05-22 15:28:42

bosox397
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-02-17
Posts: 1000+

Re: Sprite does not receive a "broadcast" signal from another sprite

o, then are u sure the broadcast taht makes everything hide isn't happening right away?


Dear Scratch Users,
I'm done with scratch, or at least making projects. I have made one last big game, thats both fun and teaches a lesson about water. It'd mean a lot if you gave me feedback.                              http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/bosox397/569201

Offline

 

#7 2009-05-22 16:03:49

Oneandonly
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-02-07
Posts: 100+

Re: Sprite does not receive a "broadcast" signal from another sprite

Are you taking it and retyping it, or are you slecting it from a list?

Offline

 

#8 2009-05-22 16:07:44

coolstuff
Community Moderator
Registered: 2008-03-06
Posts: 1000+

Re: Sprite does not receive a "broadcast" signal from another sprite

Try using [broadcast ___ and wait] instead of just [broadcast ___]

Offline

 

Board footer