This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2012-04-11 15:21:03

MoreGamesNow
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 1000+

Computer in Minecraft

I'm working on making a computer in Minecraft (creative mode)

the copy/paste part of the processor
the "rotate bit" part of the processor
the only memory I have right now
another view of memory

note: for ease of communication, a "byte" will mean 4 bits

Picture one shows the blocks that let me copy one byte into another, and specify which bits I want to copy.  Blue and white are the two bytes, and yellow is the "which bits to override" part.  Half of the light-blue part tells me how much to rotate the, and the other half tells the computer which code to run next.  Right now it just accepts three 4-bit lines of code (ignores rotations and next-line instructions).  The biggest part ahead of me is connecting the processor with the memory.

Picture 2 shows the rotating blocks.  I made it in its own world, so now I'll have to copy it into the main "computer" world.  Basically, it takes 4 bits and rotates them right _ number of bits (_ is determined by the light-blue input from above).  Its my most recent creation too.

Each rectangular prism is a byte of memory.  The central yellow "wire" is the clear wire (clears the memory to 0000).  The other yellows set the values of each bit, and the output tells the computer the values of each bit (well, it will when I connect the processor to the memory anyway xD).

What do you guys think?


http://images2.layoutsparks.com/1/218929/rubiks-cube-animated-rotating.gif
"Cogito ergo sum" --  I think, therefore I am

Offline

 

#2 2012-04-11 15:52:07

G0D_M0D3
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 1000+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

Or download computercraft...


I made a MC texture pack! Get it at planetminecraft!
http://i.imgur.com/0EG0u.png

Offline

 

#3 2012-04-11 16:06:29

MoreGamesNow
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

G0D_M0D3 wrote:

Or download computercraft...

That's right, just burst my bubble  tongue


http://images2.layoutsparks.com/1/218929/rubiks-cube-animated-rotating.gif
"Cogito ergo sum" --  I think, therefore I am

Offline

 

#4 2012-04-11 16:24:30

16Skittles
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-08-26
Posts: 1000+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

I am planning one too. For a question, why is it such that one byte is four bits instead of the real life standard of eight bits? Just a plan to simplify the processor? Anyway, I am hoping for a pretty good display (I've made a compact Seven-Segment Display using glowstone lamps) and possibly even audio output which is, as far as I know, unheard of in MC computers.


http://16skittles.tk/sig.png
Are you a student? Check out OnSchedule!

Offline

 

#5 2012-04-11 16:55:06

MoreGamesNow
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

16Skittles wrote:

I am planning one too. For a question, why is it such that one byte is four bits instead of the real life standard of eight bits? Just a plan to simplify the processor? Anyway, I am hoping for a pretty good display (I've made a compact Seven-Segment Display using glowstone lamps) and possibly even audio output which is, as far as I know, unheard of in MC computers.

Well, each instruction has to be 4 bits long (well, technically 4 groups of 4 bits long), and it is just easier to have a word that means 4 bits since the computer is a 4-bit processor.  As to why it is a 4-bit processor, you are correct, I chose 4-bits just to simplify it.  An 8 bit processor might be a (very) long term goal, but 4-bit makes everything easier and smaller.  I don't have any display or input yet.  I'm working on the main hardware that will do the processing and storing.

As I said above, each instruction will be stored in 4 "bytes" for a total of 16 bits.  So

Code:

1000 // copy from
1010 // copy to
1001 // which bits to change
0101 // rotate bits & location of next instruction.

would be 1 instruction.


http://images2.layoutsparks.com/1/218929/rubiks-cube-animated-rotating.gif
"Cogito ergo sum" --  I think, therefore I am

Offline

 

#6 2012-04-11 17:16:36

Laternenpfahl
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 1000+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

Great!!!


http://i46.tinypic.com/6yd4c0.png

Offline

 

#7 2012-04-11 17:25:17

backspace_
Scratcher
Registered: 2012-03-21
Posts: 500+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

Jeb's new game will have a workable in game computer I've heard


Your tiny hands
Your crazy kitten smile

Offline

 

#8 2012-04-11 18:13:43

samtwheels
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 1000+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

I'm working on one, but I quit after I made the ram (8 bits).

Offline

 

#9 2012-04-11 18:14:48

soupoftomato
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-07-18
Posts: 1000+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

backspace_ wrote:

Jeb's new game will have a workable in game computer I've heard

You mean Notch's?


I'm glad to think that the community will always be kind and helpful, the language will always be a fun and easy way to be introduced into programming, the motto will always be: Imagine, Program, Share - Nomolos

Offline

 

#10 2012-04-11 18:17:31

bobbybee
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 1000+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

Wait, is this supposed to be a toy computer in MC?


I support the Free Software Foundation. Protect our digital rights!

Offline

 

#11 2012-04-11 18:24:53

MoreGamesNow
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

bobbybee wrote:

Wait, is this supposed to be a toy computer in MC?

I'm not sure what you mean by "toy".  It is supposed to be a computer (simulate on a "real" computer) that can execute a program.  Right now, the only thing on the agenda is being able to execute a program that switches bits.  Forms of input and output may be added, but as of now, just the computing is important to me.


http://images2.layoutsparks.com/1/218929/rubiks-cube-animated-rotating.gif
"Cogito ergo sum" --  I think, therefore I am

Offline

 

#12 2012-04-11 18:26:56

soupoftomato
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-07-18
Posts: 1000+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

And exactly WHAT would this computer EVER be (seriously) useful for, other than wasting life building?


I'm glad to think that the community will always be kind and helpful, the language will always be a fun and easy way to be introduced into programming, the motto will always be: Imagine, Program, Share - Nomolos

Offline

 

#13 2012-04-11 18:35:39

MoreGamesNow
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

soupoftomato wrote:

And exactly WHAT would this computer EVER be (seriously) useful for, other than wasting life building?

Developing my understanding of computers in real life?


http://images2.layoutsparks.com/1/218929/rubiks-cube-animated-rotating.gif
"Cogito ergo sum" --  I think, therefore I am

Offline

 

#14 2012-04-11 18:38:35

soupoftomato
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-07-18
Posts: 1000+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

MoreGamesNow wrote:

soupoftomato wrote:

And exactly WHAT would this computer EVER be (seriously) useful for, other than wasting life building?

Developing my understanding of computers in real life?

Ah.

Well, there are more physical ways to do it.


I'm glad to think that the community will always be kind and helpful, the language will always be a fun and easy way to be introduced into programming, the motto will always be: Imagine, Program, Share - Nomolos

Offline

 

#15 2012-04-11 18:45:16

MoreGamesNow
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

soupoftomato wrote:

MoreGamesNow wrote:

soupoftomato wrote:

And exactly WHAT would this computer EVER be (seriously) useful for, other than wasting life building?

Developing my understanding of computers in real life?

Ah.

Well, there are more physical ways to do it.

I can't exactly go to the store and buy transistors (not to mention that the size of transistors is so small I couldn't exactly put them together  tongue ).  I might be able to simulate it with current and magnets (old computers used those), but no where near as quickly as I can in Minecraft.  Paper and pencil is 2 dimensional, and severely limiting. Minecraft has speed (relative to real-life-construction), is 3 dimensional, and is free.

How else should I learn about logic gates, processors, adders, bits, and binary code?


http://images2.layoutsparks.com/1/218929/rubiks-cube-animated-rotating.gif
"Cogito ergo sum" --  I think, therefore I am

Offline

 

#16 2012-04-11 18:47:33

bobbybee
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 1000+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

How are you supposed to actually execute anything. There aren't transistor blocks in minecraft (or do I not pay close enough attention?)


I support the Free Software Foundation. Protect our digital rights!

Offline

 

#17 2012-04-11 20:29:33

16Skittles
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-08-26
Posts: 1000+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

MoreGamesNow wrote:

16Skittles wrote:

I am planning one too. For a question, why is it such that one byte is four bits instead of the real life standard of eight bits? Just a plan to simplify the processor? Anyway, I am hoping for a pretty good display (I've made a compact Seven-Segment Display using glowstone lamps) and possibly even audio output which is, as far as I know, unheard of in MC computers.

Well, each instruction has to be 4 bits long (well, technically 4 groups of 4 bits long), and it is just easier to have a word that means 4 bits since the computer is a 4-bit processor.  As to why it is a 4-bit processor, you are correct, I chose 4-bits just to simplify it.  An 8 bit processor might be a (very) long term goal, but 4-bit makes everything easier and smaller.  I don't have any display or input yet.  I'm working on the main hardware that will do the processing and storing.

As I said above, each instruction will be stored in 4 "bytes" for a total of 16 bits.  So

Code:

1000 // copy from
1010 // copy to
1001 // which bits to change
0101 // rotate bits & location of next instruction.

would be 1 instruction.

Lol personally I hate taking that approach. The problem being that everything is purely hypothetical and you can't test to see if something is wrong.


http://16skittles.tk/sig.png
Are you a student? Check out OnSchedule!

Offline

 

#18 2012-04-11 21:28:39

MoreGamesNow
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

bobbybee wrote:

How are you supposed to actually execute anything. There aren't transistor blocks in minecraft (or do I not pay close enough attention?)

You're right, there isn't a transistor block.  But many computer parts can be simulated using block combinations.  For instance, I'm using this as a bit.  If you power either side, it stays powered until the other side is powered.  Similarly, you can make NOT, AND, OR, etc.

Code is stored in the memory (see my post before this).


http://images2.layoutsparks.com/1/218929/rubiks-cube-animated-rotating.gif
"Cogito ergo sum" --  I think, therefore I am

Offline

 

#19 2012-04-11 21:31:16

MoreGamesNow
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

16Skittles wrote:

Lol personally I hate taking that approach. The problem being that everything is purely hypothetical and you can't test to see if something is wrong.

You can run through your program on paper and see if the results are emulated by the computer.  A (very) simple program could be this:

0100
0101
1111
0000
------
0000
0000
0000
0000

It copies byte "4" into byte "5", and then becomes "idle" (copying byte "0" into itself, without replacing any bits or rotating at all)

Last edited by MoreGamesNow (2012-04-11 21:31:35)


http://images2.layoutsparks.com/1/218929/rubiks-cube-animated-rotating.gif
"Cogito ergo sum" --  I think, therefore I am

Offline

 

#20 2012-04-11 22:15:24

backspace_
Scratcher
Registered: 2012-03-21
Posts: 500+

Re: Computer in Minecraft

soupoftomato wrote:

backspace_ wrote:

Jeb's new game will have a workable in game computer I've heard

You mean Notch's?

possibly, the space survival game?


Your tiny hands
Your crazy kitten smile

Offline

 

Board footer