This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2009-04-06 22:43:54

dingdong
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-08-09
Posts: 1000+

repeat for (time) [new block]

this block will be useful for when you need to continue a move for a certain time but without any delay in between each repeat, basically instead the block might look like this:

(repeat for (**) secs)
|  |
(______________)

the "**" will be where you enter a number or variable

hope you likey the idea


http://img851.imageshack.us/img851/2829/superanbanner.png
click the image for my music

Offline

 

#2 2009-04-06 22:47:57

MrTeacher
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-04-03
Posts: 100+

Re: repeat for (time) [new block]

good suggestion


http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/9329/mybannerglitter5cd2fa64.gifhttp://tsigs.runeaddict.net/overall/bbr/cookingemote2/blue/Scary_Guy444.png

Offline

 

#3 2009-04-06 23:13:36

cheddargirl
Scratch Team
Registered: 2008-09-15
Posts: 1000+

Re: repeat for (time) [new block]

Hmm, that's an interesting suggestion. I can see myself using something like that.  smile


http://i.imgur.com/8QRYx.png
Everything is better when you add a little cheddar, because when you have cheese your life is at ease  smile

Offline

 

#4 2009-04-07 05:27:56

Paddle2See
Scratch Team
Registered: 2007-10-27
Posts: 1000+

Re: repeat for (time) [new block]

That would be handy!  If you want, you can do something like that now, like this:

       Reset Timer
       Repeat Until Timer > SomeNumber

Of course, you only have the one timer so it would be easy to mess yourself up, if you set up more than one of these loops.  Maybe a better way is not to reset the timer but to use a variable:

       Set StopTIme to (Timer + SomeNumber)
       Repeat Until Timer > StopTime


http://i39.tinypic.com/2nav6o7.gif

Offline

 

#5 2009-04-07 18:12:02

dingdong
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-08-09
Posts: 1000+

Re: repeat for (time) [new block]

Paddle2See wrote:

That would be handy!  If you want, you can do something like that now, like this:

       Reset Timer
       Repeat Until Timer > SomeNumber

Of course, you only have the one timer so it would be easy to mess yourself up, if you set up more than one of these loops.  Maybe a better way is not to reset the timer but to use a variable:

       Set StopTIme to (Timer + SomeNumber)
       Repeat Until Timer > StopTime

TY, that is a good idea! normally I was using this:

repeat (**)
[random blocks]
wait (0.1)
or use like (0.05) or such


http://img851.imageshack.us/img851/2829/superanbanner.png
click the image for my music

Offline

 

#6 2009-04-07 18:25:57

keroro645
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-07
Posts: 1000+

Re: repeat for (time) [new block]

I agree,

Offline

 

#7 2009-04-07 18:29:39

archmage
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-05-18
Posts: 1000+

Re: repeat for (time) [new block]

I think it would be helpful but its pretty low on the to do list.


Hi, I am Archmage coder extraordinaire. I do Scratch,pascal,java,php,html, AS2 and AS3. Leave me a message if you want coding advice. Also check out my personal website, lots of good stuff about web development, Flash, and Scratch (v1 and v2) !

Offline

 

#8 2009-04-07 19:26:56

GOLFER3_TESTS
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-02-05
Posts: 100+

Re: repeat for (time) [new block]

dingdong wrote:

this block will be useful for when you need to continue a move for a certain time but without any delay in between each repeat, basically instead the block might look like this:

(repeat for (**) secs)
|  |
(______________)

the "**" will be where you enter a number or variable

hope you likey the idea

sounds pretty good, but i would rather have a when i receive block but as a smaller version like the mouse down? block. that block would be so helpful to me!


http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/GOLFER3_TESTS/660280

Offline

 

#9 2009-04-24 22:15:31

greatpopcorn
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-10-04
Posts: 19

Re: repeat for (time) [new block]

I like this Idea. It would look like this.
[blocks]
<repeat( for ** seconds
[/blocks]


Signature yet to be approved.

Offline

 

#10 2009-04-24 22:29:18

coolstuff
Community Moderator
Registered: 2008-03-06
Posts: 1000+

Re: repeat for (time) [new block]

I would like it. But as Paddle2See said, you can already do it with the timer. Plus, lag might have an effect upon it.

Offline

 

#11 2009-04-25 02:59:39

MyRedNeptune
Community Moderator
Registered: 2007-05-07
Posts: 1000+

Re: repeat for (time) [new block]

Would it work?? O.o

(Repeat for ( 4 ) secs)
(  | wait 7 secs|
(________________)

O.o


http://i52.tinypic.com/5es7t0.png I know what you're thinking! "Neptune! Get rid of those filthy advertisements and give us back the Zarathustra siggy, you horrible person!" Well, don't worry about it, the Zara siggy will be back soon, new and improved! ^^ Meanwhile, just do what the sig tells you to. >.>

Offline

 

#12 2009-04-25 03:28:25

JSO
Community Moderator
Registered: 2007-06-23
Posts: 1000+

Re: repeat for (time) [new block]

Yeah thats a good thing you bring up there MRN...

I guess it should do the same as our Timer and/or Variable solutions above, so wait 7 seconds.

But I think that the best solution is the one with the stoptime variable, why wouldn't you use it? I can't think of that many situations where it is really too hard to put in one more block...


http://oi48.tinypic.com/2v1q0e9.jpg

Offline

 

#13 2009-04-25 05:12:03

MyRedNeptune
Community Moderator
Registered: 2007-05-07
Posts: 1000+

Re: repeat for (time) [new block]

I personally think this block could cause a lot of confusion, especially among kids (for the reasons I described above).
So it'll be better to just use the timer for now.


http://i52.tinypic.com/5es7t0.png I know what you're thinking! "Neptune! Get rid of those filthy advertisements and give us back the Zarathustra siggy, you horrible person!" Well, don't worry about it, the Zara siggy will be back soon, new and improved! ^^ Meanwhile, just do what the sig tells you to. >.>

Offline

 

#14 2009-04-25 10:20:57

coolstuff
Community Moderator
Registered: 2008-03-06
Posts: 1000+

Re: repeat for (time) [new block]

Yes, I suppose. It would be a great addition, but we can already do it, so really...?

Offline

 

Board footer