This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2008-08-28 21:55:56

Aralous
Scratcher

scratch's musical limitations?

So I'm new to using scratch and one the first thing about it that interests me is that ability to program music into it by individually setting notes and beats. Now, I have decent musical knowledge yet when I have several instruments in seperate scripts playing at once they seem to get off each other a lot. I've checked the beats and mathematically they should line up so I'm wondering, is Scratch not set up to handle 4+ string orchestral parts playing at once?

#2 2008-08-28 21:58:07

Bluestribute
Scratcher

Re: scratch's musical limitations?

Scratch's loops and what not (like the pauses and rests) get messed up and whack. It should line up, but it doesn't. Jens should know this. He made the Trio and Jubilate. Try asking him.

Click here and leave a comment and a link here

http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/1204/bluestributett4.jpg
That's my PSN ID. I know tons of COD4 glitches. Add me as your friend. Oh, and get a headset

#3 2008-08-29 01:53:14

Jens
Scratcher

Hi Aralous, it's great that you love experimenting with Scratch's musical abilities. It is something I enjoy very much, too. In fact, music on Scratch is almost my secret favorite  smile