This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2010-11-07 07:08:40

IrisSophia
Scratcher

Picoboard Wedo combinations and getting thermisters wet

Hi everyone!
Loads of questions lol.

Is it possible to add more than one picoboard to one computer and manipulate sensor inputs from both?

Is it possible to add one picoboard plus one Wedo kit?
( To get the motor to react to light because the Wedo just senses tilt and distance right? Haven't got a Wedokit, just  picoboard.)

Is it possible for a Scratch program to connect with more than one Wedo kit"?

Worst case scenario from what I read I could use Mesh, more than one computer and get all sensor inputs into variables all computers could see...

Sorry so many questions, really need to know the possibilities in order to plan what to do and what to buy. I'm a teacher and use Scratch in the classroom.

Here's one more, I've used "bead thermisters" and they work but I'm afraid to actually get them wet, like dip the bead and wire parts in water, could I do that? For that matter could I put the alligator clips in water to show it conducts electricity?..

I'd really appreciate any help!
Thanks, IrisSophia

#2 2010-11-07 12:35:23

Lucario621
Community Moderator

Re: Picoboard Wedo combinations and getting thermisters wet

For the WeDo kit issue, the LEGO WeDo FAQ says:

Q: How many Motors or Sensors can you add to a project?
A: You can use a maximum of three LEGO USB Hubs (6 motors or sensors) at the same time.

However I'm not sure if this includes the Scratch Program - I think it would (I have only 1 WeDo kit so I wouldn't be able to test this out). But keep in mind that if you have for example, 2 or 3 motors, than you can't control one of them to do one task and one of them to do another, with the Scratch program. In the LEGO WeDo software you can identify each one.

I myself wouldn't know much about "bead thermisters" though. Sorry.