This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.
  • Index
  •  » Educators
  •  » Logo strategy I would use with Scratch if I was still teaching

#1 2007-05-29 14:36:16

mohlar
Scratcher

Logo strategy I would use with Scratch if I was still teaching

I'm a retired teacher in the UK. My experience of classroom-based teaching using a creative program was with MSWLogo. My approach then was what I'd probably adapt for use with Scratch if I were to use it today. The following strategy was used with pupils ranging between years 4 to 8 (ages 8 to 13/14)

(1)I began by creating a series of graded information sheets introducing key instructions.

(2) I then assigned tasks and challenges from the very start so that pupils actually had a target to achieve. At this point I did NOT encourage experimentation, believing that basic principles needed to be understood first. Reward and public acknowledgement of success was a key part of the approach. (In early days this meant crowding round a monitor to watch. Later on, I could use electronic whiteboards or projectors).

(3) Because these lessons were part of the curriculum and necessitated the assessment of pupils' achievements and attainments, I gave each pupil a copy of the assessment sheet - this included a summary of the assignments and the assessment criteria.

(4) By about the third assignment, elements of creativity were encouraged so that pupils could find their own solutions to a common assignment. At this stage, how they got there didn't matter as long as it worked.

(5) Next, as each pupil or group was ready, I introduced, explained and demonstrated additional commands and the process began all over again - but usually only with one or two strictly controlled assignment before creative problem-solving was encouraged. By this point, some pupils were encouraged to act as mentors to those who were finding things harder to grasp.