This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2007-05-24 00:01:11

Hammination
Scratcher

Sending a Performance to TV

Could a performance be recorded to video?  If so, what resolution would the video be?

#2 2007-05-24 18:55:10

andresmh
Scratch Team at MIT

Re: Sending a Performance to TV

You can do a screen capture of your Scratch project just like from any other application. If you are on Windows, I would recommend Camtasia. It exports into Flash and several video formats.

I assume you are aware that Scratch is more than just animations. A lot of people use input from mouse or keyboard, or other sources of input which cannot be captured on a video. I would be curious to know what you do with Scratch.

Thanks for Scratching!  smile

Andres Monroy-Hernandez | Scratch Team at the MIT Media Lab
on identi.ca and  twitter

#3 2007-05-25 00:32:01

Hammination
Scratcher

I am an traditional animator who now animates in Flash on a Mac.  What fascinated me when I saw the first video game many years ago was that you could interactiviely control animation.  In recent years I had an Amiga and there was a program from Weemsware that allowed you to assign single pictures to different parts of a joystick up to eight.  In my animated feature THE DREAM HAT (done primarily on the Amiga, with a small percentage finished in Flash on the Mac) a couple dialogue scenes were accomplished by having the character talk by moving the joystick.  The Amiga allowed you to send whatever was on the computer including animation directly to video.