This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.
  • Index
  •  » Educators
  •  » How young can you go with teaching Scratch? Here is what I know.

#1 2008-01-31 14:00:32

neffs
Scratcher

How young can you go with teaching Scratch? Here is what I know.

<play sound[ I have been working with Scratch for 5 months now (learning while I go).  I am a technology teacher at a 900 student elementary school in South Carolina.  My third graders were completely intrigued by some of the things my older students were doing, so I tried it with my third grade classes .  They jumped right in and did a name project-- adding sound, movement and effects.  I have mixed ability children including children with learning disabilities.  You should have heard the neurons clicking as their brains went into overdrive.  I video taped their comments as they exclaimed their opinions and excitement about it.

Just thought I would share my glee and their glee.

(I am trying to find a way past our server to  upload their projects.  You know how schools can be. Sometimes we are limited in what we can do.

Sharon N

oops,  there isn't any sound on this post.  I was just playing around.

Last edited by neffs (2008-01-31 14:01:37)

#2 2008-01-31 14:38:13

SmeAnd
Scratcher

Re: How young can you go with teaching Scratch? Here is what I know.

neffs wrote:

They jumped right in and did a name project-- adding sound, movement and effects.  I have mixed ability children including children with learning disabilities.  You should have heard the neurons clicking as their brains went into overdrive.  I video taped their comments as they exclaimed their opinions and excitement about it.

Just thought I would share my glee and their glee.

(I am trying to find a way past our server to  upload their projects.  You know how schools can be. Sometimes we are limited in what we can do.