This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#351 2011-12-12 16:52:35

mickyg
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-04-22
Posts: 14

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

can some one that joins a mesh session have access to the host's other files and stuff? hmm


Chuck Norris=mc^2

Offline

 

#352 2011-12-12 16:56:36

mickyg
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-04-22
Posts: 14

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

if some one joins a mesh session do they then have access to the host's files and stuff? hmm


Chuck Norris=mc^2

Offline

 

#353 2011-12-25 13:14:31

jarito
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-11-20
Posts: 18

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

awsome tutorial! my test mesh project was a just two movable cats. each computer controlled 1. it was quite easy, all i had to do was

1. make two cats on both computer screens(one red and one blue).
2.make the red one operated by one computer and the blue one on the other.
3. when i made the moving scripts i made it brodcast a certain message when one moves( ex: when right arrow key pressed, point in direction 90,move 10 steps,brodcast red cat right).
4.made it when messages are brodcasted by one computer the other computer does the same thing with the red cat on its screen(ex. when i recieve red cat right, point in direction 90,move 10 steps).
5. host mesh with one computer and join with another by using the ip adress.

[blocks]<when[right arrow]key pressed>
<repeat until><<  <not>  >><key[right arrow]pressed?>
<point in direction(90
<move(10)steps>
<broadcast[red cat right[/blocks]

Offline

 

#354 2011-12-29 01:14:05

familyliao
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-01-06
Posts: 2

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

Jonathanpb wrote:

You right-click on the white area that appears when you Shift-click the R  smile

And sorry for the late reply, I should really check Advanced Topics more often ^^

hi! i got stuck when i right-click in the white area, i can't mesh my scratch, help!

Last edited by familyliao (2011-12-29 01:14:21)

Offline

 

#355 2011-12-29 08:34:18

trekkie2000
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-02-15
Posts: 100+

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

For quite a while Ive been trying to figure out how to make an advanced Mesh Shooter game. There are 2 programs, a 'master' and a 'slave.' Later I will condense theses into one, as I do know how to. The master moves using the player controls, and on the other computer, as the other player moves their charrie, instead of brodcasting back to the master to move their sprite, it brodcasts it's coordinates. This prevents the master player from cheating, but there's one problem: This method creates some lag. On it's own, it doesn't matter, but I use a pen-based bullet, which means there's almost a half of a second shot delay. This means that a lot of hits players make will not register, stretching out firefights and generally getting everyone mad. Running in turbo gets rid of most of the pen shot delay, but there's still the lag from the coordinate system, and since the master registers the hits, not the slave, this means the master can aim where the slave is on HIS screen and register hits, even if the other player is by now out of range. I really need help with this. Any suggestions?


"If life gives you lemons, sell lemonade for $.25...
...Sell antidote to poison in lemonade for $250" -Me

Offline

 

#356 2012-01-07 11:21:02

MegaScripta
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-02-06
Posts: 7

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

<clear>


Check out my 'Dead Ops Arcade' style game. Link: Arcade Zombies

Offline

 

#357 2012-01-07 15:26:25

trekkie2000
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-02-15
Posts: 100+

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

Was that supposed to help?


"If life gives you lemons, sell lemonade for $.25...
...Sell antidote to poison in lemonade for $250" -Me

Offline

 

#358 2012-01-11 19:25:28

SJRCS_011
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-02-07
Posts: 1000+

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

In Scratch Source Code, "t2" is actually "disable"


http://i.imgur.com/vQqtH.png
Learning to Program in a Nutshell:  "You're missing a closing parentheses" - LS97

Offline

 

#359 2012-01-13 09:58:06

joefarebrother
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-04-08
Posts: 1000+

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

what happens if you are connected to 2 projects in mesh and they both have a global variable with the same name?


My latest project is called http://tinyurl.com/d2m8hne! It has http://tinyurl.com/d395ygk views, http://tinyurl.com/cnasmt7 love-its, and http://tinyurl.com/bwjy8xs comments.
http://tinyurl.com/756anbk   http://tinyurl.com/iplaychess

Offline

 

#360 2012-01-21 13:36:53

ngooi
New Scratcher
Registered: 2012-01-21
Posts: 1

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

http://scratch.mit.edu/forums/viewtopic.php?id=32046#req_message

Offline

 

#361 2012-01-29 17:10:15

joefarebrother
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-04-08
Posts: 1000+

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

bump


My latest project is called http://tinyurl.com/d2m8hne! It has http://tinyurl.com/d395ygk views, http://tinyurl.com/cnasmt7 love-its, and http://tinyurl.com/bwjy8xs comments.
http://tinyurl.com/756anbk   http://tinyurl.com/iplaychess

Offline

 

#362 2012-02-01 00:37:06

trinary
Scratcher
Registered: 2012-01-29
Posts: 1000+

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

Very informative tutorial! I've been trying to find one as clear and concise as this for many days. Thanks  big_smile


http://trinary.tk/images/signature_.php

Offline

 

#363 2012-02-01 01:35:05

Magnie
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-12-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

You should probably update the part where it's "only for local networks". Cause that was never true, you have to port-forward to get it on the internet. But Hamachi is a good alternative.

Offline

 

#364 2012-02-01 16:44:47

DigiTechs
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-04-30
Posts: 500+

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

I know what to do: Get my dad to make a site where I can set up a mesh network for scratchers to join  tongue  It's a good idea, since it wouldn't need stuff like Hamachi (mind you, which I have)


I'm back.
Maybe.

Offline

 

#365 2012-02-02 19:07:27

christian2000
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-11-01
Posts: 100+

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

joefarebrother wrote:

what happens if you are connected to 2 projects in mesh and they both have a global variable with the same name?

Yours will report the most recently updated.  smile


blerp......
http://obscureinternet.com/wp-content/uploads/Fail-at-Life-Funny-Cards.png

Offline

 

#366 2012-03-04 17:28:41

trekkie2000
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-02-15
Posts: 100+

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

Im trying to get Mesh back after reinstalling scratch and it isnt working. i got 1 window hosting mesh, then opened another and it said "Remote Sensor Connections Enabled" And I cant join mesh in the second window.


"If life gives you lemons, sell lemonade for $.25...
...Sell antidote to poison in lemonade for $250" -Me

Offline

 

#367 2012-03-12 21:19:10

trekkie2000
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-02-15
Posts: 100+

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

Help?


"If life gives you lemons, sell lemonade for $.25...
...Sell antidote to poison in lemonade for $250" -Me

Offline

 

#368 2012-03-23 16:48:37

joefarebrother
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-04-08
Posts: 1000+

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

bump


My latest project is called http://tinyurl.com/d2m8hne! It has http://tinyurl.com/d395ygk views, http://tinyurl.com/cnasmt7 love-its, and http://tinyurl.com/bwjy8xs comments.
http://tinyurl.com/756anbk   http://tinyurl.com/iplaychess

Offline

 

#369 2012-03-23 16:56:39

SJRCS_011
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-02-07
Posts: 1000+

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

trekkie2000 wrote:

Im trying to get Mesh back after reinstalling scratch and it isnt working. i got 1 window hosting mesh, then opened another and it said "Remote Sensor Connections Enabled" And I cant join mesh in the second window.

did you try shift-clicking share and, when prompted what IP to join, enter 127.0.0.1 or localhost?


http://i.imgur.com/vQqtH.png
Learning to Program in a Nutshell:  "You're missing a closing parentheses" - LS97

Offline

 

#370 2012-05-26 11:12:46

shivadas
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-06
Posts: 100+

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

When I clicked accept it wouldn't accept my initials, so it had me choose something from a list and gave me an error message and now when I shift click share I get a red error message box. The title of it is Message Not Understood: txt.     What is this?


Please check out my latest project, Hunger Avenger!

Offline

 

#371 2012-06-15 14:34:30

Sega100
New Scratcher
Registered: 2012-06-14
Posts: 1

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

): (..)

Offline

 

#372 2012-06-26 17:38:42

KPX
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-10-03
Posts: 13

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

Noah1991 wrote:

Hi, I'm using Ubuntu Linux 9.04 and every time I try to save after activating Mesh it freezes and I have to force quit Scratch! Any ideas?  sad

Try Windows or Panther(scratch mod) perhaps?


[this message is censored by SOPA]

Offline

 

#373 2012-06-26 17:41:46

KPX
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-10-03
Posts: 13

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

I know you can send data via ([slider] sensor value)
but can you do it with say ([light] sensor value)


[this message is censored by SOPA]

Offline

 

#374 2012-06-26 19:26:15

trekkie2000
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-02-15
Posts: 100+

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

SJRCS_011 wrote:

trekkie2000 wrote:

Im trying to get Mesh back after reinstalling scratch and it isnt working. i got 1 window hosting mesh, then opened another and it said "Remote Sensor Connections Enabled" And I cant join mesh in the second window.

did you try shift-clicking share and, when prompted what IP to join, enter 127.0.0.1 or localhost?

What is 127.0.0.1? My IP is 192.168.1.90


"If life gives you lemons, sell lemonade for $.25...
...Sell antidote to poison in lemonade for $250" -Me

Offline

 

#375 2012-06-26 19:45:04

SJRCS_011
Scratcher
Registered: 2011-02-07
Posts: 1000+

Re: Mesh - how to get it, use it, and program with its features

trekkie2000 wrote:

SJRCS_011 wrote:

trekkie2000 wrote:

Im trying to get Mesh back after reinstalling scratch and it isnt working. i got 1 window hosting mesh, then opened another and it said "Remote Sensor Connections Enabled" And I cant join mesh in the second window.

did you try shift-clicking share and, when prompted what IP to join, enter 127.0.0.1 or localhost?

What is 127.0.0.1? My IP is 192.168.1.90

127.0.0.1 = localhost = The computer you are currently on


http://i.imgur.com/vQqtH.png
Learning to Program in a Nutshell:  "You're missing a closing parentheses" - LS97

Offline

 

Board footer