This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#3426 2010-07-11 11:18:30

markyparky56
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-03-20
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

nXIII wrote:

sparks wrote:

johnnydean1 wrote:

Nice and I believe someone asked for that ratio block that I made. Can you post it?

huh? I if you wrote it, don't you have a copy?

Code:

| hcm highest number r1 r2 correct o1 o2 output breaker | " The thing between the numbers " breaker_ ':'. highest_ t2. t1 > t2 ifTrue: [ highest_ t1. ]. highest_ highest + 1. number_ 0. highest timesRepeat: [ correct_ 0. correct_ correct asNumber. number_ number + 1. r1_ t1 \\ number. r2_ t2 \\ number. r1 = 0 ifTrue: [ correct_ correct + 1. ]. r2 = 0 ifTrue: [ correct_ correct + 1. ]. correct = 2 ifTrue: [ hcm_ number ]. ]. o1_ t1 / hcm. o2_ t2 / hcm. output_ self concatenate: (o1) with: (' '). output_ self concatenate: (output) with: (breaker). output_ self concatenate: (output) with: (' '). output_ self concatenate: (output) with: (o2). ^ output

That's a bit long...?

Code:

$Number$:$Number$     r

^ t1 / (t1 + t2)

Wow... Jd1... I think the right phrase for thi moment, is served...


http://j.mp/jgVnTq
Check out my game engine development site: NewDawn I'm a Level 171 Scratcher.I am http://bit.ly/nkvLNT

Offline

 

#3427 2010-07-11 13:04:23

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

lol


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#3428 2010-07-11 13:05:48

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

But NXIII's is a 0.787878 type number mines:

10 : 10 --> 1 : 1
15 : 5  --> 3 : 2


so it is the lowest ratio.


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#3429 2010-07-11 13:23:09

nXIII
Community Moderator
Registered: 2009-04-21
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

johnnydean1 wrote:

But NXIII's is a 0.787878 type number mines:

10 : 10 --> 1 : 1
15 : 5  --> 3 : 2


so it is the lowest ratio.

Code:

$Number$:$Number$              r

|frac|
frac := (Fraction numerator: t1 denominator: t1 + t2) reduced.
^frac numerator asString, ':', (frac numerator / t1 * t2) asString.

Last edited by nXIII (2010-07-11 13:23:44)


nXIII

Offline

 

#3430 2010-07-11 13:54:59

markyparky56
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-03-20
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

nXIII wrote:

johnnydean1 wrote:

But NXIII's is a 0.787878 type number mines:

10 : 10 --> 1 : 1
15 : 5  --> 3 : 2


so it is the lowest ratio.

Code:

$Number$:$Number$              r

|frac|
frac := (Fraction numerator: t1 denominator: t1 + t2) reduced.
^frac numerator asString, ':', (frac numerator / t1 * t2) asString.

Served again...


http://j.mp/jgVnTq
Check out my game engine development site: NewDawn I'm a Level 171 Scratcher.I am http://bit.ly/nkvLNT

Offline

 

#3431 2010-07-11 14:05:54

nXIII
Community Moderator
Registered: 2009-04-21
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

markyparky56 wrote:

nXIII wrote:

johnnydean1 wrote:

But NXIII's is a 0.787878 type number mines:

10 : 10 --> 1 : 1
15 : 5  --> 3 : 2


so it is the lowest ratio.

Code:

$Number$:$Number$              r

|frac|
frac := (Fraction numerator: t1 denominator: t1 + t2) reduced.
^frac numerator asString, ':', (frac numerator / t1 * t2) asString.

Served again...

I just realized that 15:5 is 3:1....


nXIII

Offline

 

#3432 2010-07-11 14:30:32

markyparky56
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-03-20
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

nXIII wrote:

markyparky56 wrote:

nXIII wrote:


Code:

$Number$:$Number$              r

|frac|
frac := (Fraction numerator: t1 denominator: t1 + t2) reduced.
^frac numerator asString, ':', (frac numerator / t1 * t2) asString.

Served again...

I just realized that 15:5 is 3:1....

Yeah...


http://j.mp/jgVnTq
Check out my game engine development site: NewDawn I'm a Level 171 Scratcher.I am http://bit.ly/nkvLNT

Offline

 

#3433 2010-07-11 17:17:23

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

May I request 2 features:
1.)
I was thinking of getting a LEGO WeDo (TM) to use with Scratch (and Panther) and I see there is a motor block. Now if I was to buy a second motor could you change the motor blocks to:
set motor $Number$ to direction

So I could make a robot car or something

2.)
How about a feature:
Turn script into Squeak

So:

set |hello| to |10|
change x by |hello|

would become:

|hello|
hello_ 10.
self changeXposBy: (hello).

So blocks would be easier to make!


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#3434 2010-07-12 08:01:46

markyparky56
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-03-20
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

johnnydean1 wrote:

May I request 2 features:
1.)
I was thinking of getting a LEGO WeDo (TM) to use with Scratch (and Panther) and I see there is a motor block. Now if I was to buy a second motor could you change the motor blocks to:
set motor $Number$ to direction

So I could make a robot car or something

2.)
How about a feature:
Turn script into Squeak

So:

set |hello| to |10|
change x by |hello|

would become:

|hello|
hello_ 10.
self changeXposBy: (hello).

So blocks would be easier to make!

About the second one, 2 things, 1. Im not sure thats actualy possible, 2. Thats just making things to easy and it just wouldn't work.


http://j.mp/jgVnTq
Check out my game engine development site: NewDawn I'm a Level 171 Scratcher.I am http://bit.ly/nkvLNT

Offline

 

#3435 2010-07-12 10:53:17

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

umm grammer

too easy


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#3436 2010-07-12 10:59:48

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

About to start work on idea 2. Is there anyway for me to get the names of all blocks in a script?


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#3437 2010-07-12 12:56:51

nXIII
Community Moderator
Registered: 2009-04-21
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

johnnydean1 wrote:

About to start work on idea 2. Is there anyway for me to get the names of all blocks in a script?

Maybe try the "asBlockTuple" stuff.


nXIII

Offline

 

#3438 2010-07-12 13:02:15

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

k


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#3439 2010-07-12 18:25:05

paulpsicle
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-10-12
Posts: 100+

Re: Panther development thread

You wold basically be adding BYOB. also what's "k"?

Last edited by paulpsicle (2010-07-12 18:33:30)


http://blocks.scratchr.org/API.php?user=paulpsicle&action=onlineStatus&online=http://fishery.dyndns.org/paulpsicle.png&offline=http://fishery.dyndns.org/paulpsicle_o.png

Offline

 

#3440 2010-07-12 19:27:05

ScratchReallyROCKS
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-04-22
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

paulpsicle wrote:

You wold basically be adding BYOB. also what's "k"?

It'd be a little different than BYOB...

Oh and 'k' means Okay.


http://imageshack.us/a/img694/3806/sigmad.png

Offline

 

#3441 2010-07-13 03:13:57

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

Umm It would be quite a bit diffent from BYOB as:
Once youve made it into squeak, you cant edit it (unless you change the squeak)

Also it would bring us a step closer to:
(join (BYOB) and (Panther))


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#3442 2010-07-13 07:25:19

markyparky56
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-03-20
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

johnnydean1 wrote:

Umm It would be quite a bit diffent from BYOB as:
Once youve made it into squeak, you cant edit it (unless you change the squeak)

Also it would bring us a step closer to:
(join (BYOB) and (Panther))

Joining byob to panther is an awesome thing, ut it wouldn't, all that block does is just make blocks into code, not making blocks from other blocks.  tongue


http://j.mp/jgVnTq
Check out my game engine development site: NewDawn I'm a Level 171 Scratcher.I am http://bit.ly/nkvLNT

Offline

 

#3443 2010-07-14 13:44:53

ScratchReallyROCKS
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-04-22
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

Okay. Here are a couple of my ideas for Panther 1.1 or higher:

Libraries - these would let you use an |import [ library ]| block so you could extend the commands that Panther could use. For example, you could use the import like this |import [wiimote]| which would add a lot of different wii remote commands to Panther, such as being able to read x, y, and z coordinates from the wiimote or being able to use the wiimote buttons.

Blank blocks - these would be exactly what they sound like, blank blocks with a string input on them. These would be where you would type the commands from the library you imported, or you could type in normal panther commands in them such as   'move 10 steps'  . There would be command, reporter, and boolean blocks like this.

Script, Costume, and Sound Grouping - these would let you make groups for scripts, costumes, and sounds. The groups would be accessed by tabs on the bottom of the window. This would be very useful for de-cluttering and speed.

I hope you consider these suggestions.


http://imageshack.us/a/img694/3806/sigmad.png

Offline

 

#3444 2010-07-14 14:14:44

nXIII
Community Moderator
Registered: 2009-04-21
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

ScratchReallyROCKS wrote:

Okay. Here are a couple of my ideas for Panther 1.1 or higher:

Libraries - these would let you use an |import [ library ]| block so you could extend the commands that Panther could use. For example, you could use the import like this |import [wiimote]| which would add a lot of different wii remote commands to Panther, such as being able to read x, y, and z coordinates from the wiimote or being able to use the wiimote buttons.

Blank blocks - these would be exactly what they sound like, blank blocks with a string input on them. These would be where you would type the commands from the library you imported, or you could type in normal panther commands in them such as   'move 10 steps'  . There would be command, reporter, and boolean blocks like this.

Script, Costume, and Sound Grouping - these would let you make groups for scripts, costumes, and sounds. The groups would be accessed by tabs on the bottom of the window. This would be very useful for de-cluttering and speed.

I hope you consider these suggestions.

As you might know, Panther 1.1/2.0 is going to be a mod of Blocks++, my new Scratch-inspired application. Some of these suggestions may be in Blocks++, or exclusively Panther:

Libraries - I think an "Extension Manager" might be better, which provides tools for organizing, adding, and deleting extension packages ("libraries"). Since Blocks++ blocks are code-based (vs. Scratch's message-based system), it will be easier to add blocks from a file. Thanks for this suggestion!

Blank blocks - This may be possible in the form of this block:
[ [function]([ ] - +) ]
Blocks++ has a more c++/Java-like function notation:
[function_name(arg1 arg2 arg3)]
So this might accomplish what you're talking about. I'm not sure I like the string input, though, maybe a smart-dropdown which detects primitives, user-defined procedures, and external library procedures.

Script, Costume, and Sound grouping - This would be a nice feature, but I can't put it at the top of the list  sad . Maybe in a later version of Blocks++ or Panther.


nXIII

Offline

 

#3445 2010-07-14 14:19:33

Sperry
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-03-09
Posts: 500+

Re: Panther development thread

nXIII wrote:

ScratchReallyROCKS wrote:

Okay. Here are a couple of my ideas for Panther 1.1 or higher:

Libraries - these would let you use an |import [ library ]| block so you could extend the commands that Panther could use. For example, you could use the import like this |import [wiimote]| which would add a lot of different wii remote commands to Panther, such as being able to read x, y, and z coordinates from the wiimote or being able to use the wiimote buttons.

Blank blocks - these would be exactly what they sound like, blank blocks with a string input on them. These would be where you would type the commands from the library you imported, or you could type in normal panther commands in them such as   'move 10 steps'  . There would be command, reporter, and boolean blocks like this.

Script, Costume, and Sound Grouping - these would let you make groups for scripts, costumes, and sounds. The groups would be accessed by tabs on the bottom of the window. This would be very useful for de-cluttering and speed.

I hope you consider these suggestions.

As you might know, Panther 1.1/2.0 is going to be a mod of Blocks++, my new Scratch-inspired application. Some of these suggestions may be in Blocks++, or exclusively Panther:

Libraries - I think an "Extension Manager" might be better, which provides tools for organizing, adding, and deleting extension packages ("libraries"). Since Blocks++ blocks are code-based (vs. Scratch's message-based system), it will be easier to add blocks from a file. Thanks for this suggestion!

Blank blocks - This may be possible in the form of this block:
[ [function]([ ] - +) ]
Blocks++ has a more c++/Java-like function notation:
[function_name(arg1 arg2 arg3)]
So this might accomplish what you're talking about. I'm not sure I like the string input, though, maybe a smart-dropdown which detects primitives, user-defined procedures, and external library procedures.

Script, Costume, and Sound grouping - This would be a nice feature, but I can't put it at the top of the list  sad . Maybe in a later version of Blocks++ or Panther.

Sounds great!


P.S: I'd love to help with Blocks++ *hint hint*


http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/3252/gobanim2.gifhttp://ls.gd/bo

Offline

 

#3446 2010-07-14 14:26:27

sparks
Community Moderator
Registered: 2008-11-05
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

Sperry wrote:

Sounds great!


P.S: I'd love to help with Blocks++ *hint hint*

then get yourself onto dropbox! talk to us Sperry! we're missing your input!


http://img541.imageshack.us/img541/7563/scratchbetabanner.png

Offline

 

#3447 2010-07-14 15:36:57

ScratchReallyROCKS
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-04-22
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

nXIII wrote:

I'm not sure I like the string input, though, maybe a smart-dropdown which detects primitives, user-defined procedures, and external library procedures.

That's sort of what I meant, just in string input form, because then it could be used for in-script comments.

BTW, how's blocks++ going?

Last edited by ScratchReallyROCKS (2010-07-14 15:37:48)


http://imageshack.us/a/img694/3806/sigmad.png

Offline

 

#3448 2010-07-14 15:56:24

sparks
Community Moderator
Registered: 2008-11-05
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

ScratchReallyROCKS wrote:

nXIII wrote:

I'm not sure I like the string input, though, maybe a smart-dropdown which detects primitives, user-defined procedures, and external library procedures.

That's sort of what I meant, just in string input form, because then it could be used for in-script comments.

BTW, how's blocks++ going?

smooooooooth new sig rocky!


http://img541.imageshack.us/img541/7563/scratchbetabanner.png

Offline

 

#3449 2010-07-14 15:59:35

SeptimusHeap
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-01
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

Dear rest of the Panther Team (And rest of the world...)

I am hereby retiring from my position as Panther Developer, not because I do not support, or want to help Panther, but because I am pursuing other things. This does not mean that I cant help beta test, or give suggestions, or anything else  smile

I will continue my position only if you want me to do so.

Sincerely,
               SeptimusHeap


http://i46.tinypic.com/dw7zft.png

Offline

 

#3450 2010-07-14 16:04:26

ScratchReallyROCKS
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-04-22
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

sparks wrote:

smooooooooth new sig rocky!

Thanks! I was just looking at some Gimp tutorials so I decided to make it.

SeptimusHeap wrote:

Dear rest of the Panther Team (And rest of the world...)

I am hereby retiring from my position as Panther Developer, not because I do not support, or want to help Panther, but because I am pursuing other things. This does not mean that I cant help beta test, or give suggestions, or anything else  smile

I will continue my position only if you want me to do so.

Sincerely,
               SeptimusHeap

Wait a second......you came up with Panther, and now you don't want it anymore?

Oh well. Good luck with the other things you're pursuing.

Last edited by ScratchReallyROCKS (2010-07-14 16:05:36)


http://imageshack.us/a/img694/3806/sigmad.png

Offline

 

Board footer