This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#3151 2010-06-16 03:36:10

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

Cool PHP Sparks, you have the code?


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#3152 2010-06-16 04:25:54

sparks
Community Moderator
Registered: 2008-11-05
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

johnnydean1 wrote:

Cool PHP Sparks, you have the code?

code for what? if you mean a counter, that's easy. just set the php page to count how often it is visited, (just read the page with the URL block to "Visit" it) and that will accurately count uses as long as no one visits the actual page  tongue


http://img541.imageshack.us/img541/7563/scratchbetabanner.png

Offline

 

#3153 2010-06-16 10:50:58

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

Ok but whats the actual PHP counter code?


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#3154 2010-06-16 11:20:19

nXIII
Community Moderator
Registered: 2009-04-21
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

johnnydean1 wrote:

Ok but whats the actual PHP counter code?

I'm the designated PHP-er in the group, so my suggestion would be using an SQL database, then retrieving the value and adding one, then replacing the previous value with that value. If you mean actual code something like this:

Code:

<?php
    
    /*
        This script accepts the GET argument "id" in order to select a certain record from the database.
    */
    
    if (!isset($_GET["id"])) {
        echo "error";
        die();
    }
    
    // configuration
    
    $mysql_host = "host";               //host
    $mysql_database = "database";       //database name
    $mysql_table = "table";             //table name
    $mysql_user = "username";           //username
    $mysql_password = "password";       //password
    $mysql_col = "column";              //column name for get/set
    
    
    $con = mysql_connect($mysql_host, $mysql_user, $mysql_password);
    if (!$con) {
        echo "error";
        die();
    }
    mysql_select_db($mysql_database, $con);
    
    $q = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM `$mysql_database`.`$mysql_table` LIMIT " . $_GET["id"] . ", 1");
    $row = mysql_fetch_array($q);
    $i = $row[$mysql_col];
    $i++;
    $q = mysql_query("UPDATE `$mysql_database`.`$mysql_table` SET `$mysql_table`.`$mysql_col`=$i LIMIT " . $_GET["id"] . ", 1");
    
?>

Last edited by nXIII (2010-06-16 11:20:31)


nXIII

Offline

 

#3155 2010-06-16 11:42:28

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

Ok. Ive nearly finished the Time Trail Mario Kart Game bit


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#3156 2010-06-16 15:12:40

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

Idea for block
I need this:
(Paste)

It does the same as CTRL-V and pastes the text


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#3157 2010-06-16 17:02:11

henley
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-21
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

johnnydean1 wrote:

Idea for block
I need this:
(Paste)

It does the same as CTRL-V and pastes the text

What would it paste into?


"I've worked so hard for you and you give me nothing in return. Do you need help... Or do I?"

Offline

 

#3158 2010-06-16 17:08:12

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

it would be a reporter so it would report what it had to paste.


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#3159 2010-06-17 01:36:03

Jonathanpb
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-07-25
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

What's the latest version of Panther? I have 1.0.


"Human beings... must have action; and they will make it if they cannot find it.
-Charlotte Brontë

Offline

 

#3160 2010-06-17 01:37:53

ScratchReallyROCKS
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-04-22
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

Jonathanpb wrote:

What's the latest version of Panther? I have 1.0.

Still just 1.0


http://imageshack.us/a/img694/3806/sigmad.png

Offline

 

#3161 2010-06-17 01:51:11

Jonathanpb
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-07-25
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

ScratchReallyROCKS wrote:

Jonathanpb wrote:

What's the latest version of Panther? I have 1.0.

Still just 1.0

Ah, okay.  smile

Will Panther 1.1 be coming out soon? Just wondering... ^_^


"Human beings... must have action; and they will make it if they cannot find it.
-Charlotte Brontë

Offline

 

#3162 2010-06-17 01:52:44

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

When blockshop and NXIII's features are done (open Panther)


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#3163 2010-06-17 08:30:41

markyparky56
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-03-20
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

johnnydean1 wrote:

When blockshop and NXIII's features are done (open Panther)

Whats the point in an open panther block?


http://j.mp/jgVnTq
Check out my game engine development site: NewDawn I'm a Level 171 Scratcher.I am http://bit.ly/nkvLNT

Offline

 

#3164 2010-06-17 08:44:38

henley
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-21
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

johnnydean1 wrote:

When blockshop and NXIII's features are done (open Panther)

The only point of an [open Panther] block would be to open Panther. But it would only work if Panther was not opened. And if Panther was not opened, then you wouldn't be able to use it. AND if you use it during Panther, Panther will already be open, so there is no point.


"I've worked so hard for you and you give me nothing in return. Do you need help... Or do I?"

Offline

 

#3165 2010-06-17 09:14:44

sparks
Community Moderator
Registered: 2008-11-05
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

henley wrote:

johnnydean1 wrote:

When blockshop and NXIII's features are done (open Panther)

The only point of an [open Panther] block would be to open Panther. But it would only work if Panther was not opened. And if Panther was not opened, then you wouldn't be able to use it. AND if you use it during Panther, Panther will already be open, so there is no point.

nooo! you both misunderstood him. I think he is saying (in brackets) that he can see that 1.1 will be released when blockshop and nXIII's features are done when he opens Panther as the Panther news has that stuff in it!


http://img541.imageshack.us/img541/7563/scratchbetabanner.png

Offline

 

#3166 2010-06-17 09:20:55

henley
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-06-21
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

sparks wrote:

henley wrote:

johnnydean1 wrote:

When blockshop and NXIII's features are done (open Panther)

The only point of an [open Panther] block would be to open Panther. But it would only work if Panther was not opened. And if Panther was not opened, then you wouldn't be able to use it. AND if you use it during Panther, Panther will already be open, so there is no point.

nooo! you both misunderstood him. I think he is saying (in brackets) that he can see that 1.1 will be released when blockshop and nXIII's features are done when he opens Panther as the Panther news has that stuff in it!

Oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooh! That makes more sense...


"I've worked so hard for you and you give me nothing in return. Do you need help... Or do I?"

Offline

 

#3167 2010-06-17 10:52:46

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

Yep Sparks is right!


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#3168 2010-06-17 13:52:25

climber59
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-12-15
Posts: 100+

Re: Panther development thread

sparks, the link in your sig is wrong. It says,
http://wwwpantherprogramming.weebly.com/
It should say,
http://www.pantherprogramming.weebly.com/


Check out my projects if you have a chance.

Offline

 

#3169 2010-06-17 13:55:55

sparks
Community Moderator
Registered: 2008-11-05
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

climber59 wrote:

sparks, the link in your sig is wrong. It says,
http://wwwpantherprogramming.weebly.com/
It should say,
http://www.pantherprogramming.weebly.com/

thanks  smile


http://img541.imageshack.us/img541/7563/scratchbetabanner.png

Offline

 

#3170 2010-06-18 11:58:24

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

Will you be adding the download  costume from URL officaly or in the blockshop?


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#3171 2010-06-18 12:00:36

johnnydean1
Scratcher
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

^ oh and I have made DLC for my Mario Kart game using it!


You can now reach me on Twitter @johnnydean1_

Offline

 

#3172 2010-06-18 12:13:31

nXIII
Community Moderator
Registered: 2009-04-21
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

johnnydean1 wrote:

Will you be adding the download  costume from URL officaly or in the blockshop?

It won't be necessary because urls ending in "png," "gif," or "jpeg" (and any other image files) will automatically return an image.


nXIII

Offline

 

#3173 2010-06-18 13:56:56

sparks
Community Moderator
Registered: 2008-11-05
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

A little questionairre for our many readers: what to you hope to see in 1.1? Be it glitch fixes or blocks, features or colours, let us know, you might find that we like and include your idea  smile


http://img541.imageshack.us/img541/7563/scratchbetabanner.png

Offline

 

#3174 2010-06-18 14:09:50

climber59
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-12-15
Posts: 100+

Re: Panther development thread

If possible, could you make Panther not display the news unless it has changed? Or if someone sets it to always/never show.

Also do you have an idea when 1.1 will come out?

Last edited by climber59 (2010-06-18 14:12:17)


Check out my projects if you have a chance.

Offline

 

#3175 2010-06-18 14:32:28

sparks
Community Moderator
Registered: 2008-11-05
Posts: 1000+

Re: Panther development thread

That was the original idea with the news when I came up with the concept. However, our problem was that to remember what the last news was, the image would have to save itself all the time to remember. The current unfinished 1.1 has a "Show news" popup which I feel still isn't the best solution. It's certainly in our intrest to only make it show when a new one comes out, otherwise people won't read it anymore and one solution I can think of is having a file included with 1.1 that Panther can read and write to as that would allow it to keep track without saving itself.

As for the release, that's still unclear, nXIII might be able to give a better estimate than me on that one.


http://img541.imageshack.us/img541/7563/scratchbetabanner.png

Offline

 

Board footer