This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2007-05-19 16:47:50

Hammination
Scratcher

Beginning of a New Era

As an animator, I've seen plenty of clip art for programmers, and always wished there could be clip programs for artists.  Scratch is the first to do that and I think it will inspire others.  A lot of great ideas have come from MIT and filtered into society.  I like how you are sharing Scratch with the world.

I predict someday soon, Apple, who made desktop movies possible with iMovie and iDVD and desktop recording possible with GarageBand, will see a market for gamers who always wanted to make their own games.  I bet Apple will see Scratch and make iGames.  Like iMovie has Gee Three Slick Transitions plug-ins and GarageBand has libraries of instruments in their Jam Packs, there would be plug-ins for iGames to help produce sprites, and have templates for different genres of games.  As a result, there will be more independent games, just as there have been more independent movies because of more powerful and inexpensive tools.

Forgive this turning into a blog.  I just want to thank you at the Scratch team for your wonderful gift.

#2 2007-05-19 20:15:47

PeterB
Scratcher

Re: Beginning of a New Era

Very nice thought but would need a quite few more features added to provide any commercial thinking behind it, but as a spin on visual programming and an introduction to the same its an absolute delight, superb product for encouraging the first steps into what has become a very complex arena and a lot of young (and older) people have been put off by that complexity.

So if the future of programming is a highly visible scripting in bold colours for context for which the colours provide a logical association with the thought process then your right, I'm sure there will be competitive products from the majors very very soon.