This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#76 2009-05-18 18:35:03

sailorgrl
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-02-07
Posts: 20

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

I was able to successfully install scratch on Dell Mini laptop w/ linux.
I think the link to install scratch is working so far...
Anyways, if I find a bug, I 'll report here.
Thanks,
Sailorgrl

Offline

 

#77 2009-06-09 15:01:35

gromko
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-07-17
Posts: 10

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

The sound and midi problem in Scratch for Linux is partially solved:

1. Disable PulseAudio

2. Disable a sound server aRtS

The sound recording works fine.

Play sound (meow) - works

For MIDI playing:

Run timidity as midi-server (from root or sudo):

timidity -iADq -Os


Squeak for playback MIDI uses differents ports (130:0)
timidity reads out the data from port 128:0

List MIDI ports:

aconnect -i -o

We use aconnect (or kaconnect) for redirection:

aconnect 130:0 128:0

or

aconnect  Squeak:0  TiMidity:0     (best variant)

Test:

Play drum (51) for 0.2 beats (only for argument=51. .82) - fine
Play note (59) for 0.5 beats - fine

The note:
Port MIDI Squeak is initialized at start Scratch (squeak), being immediately disabled!
MIDI is initialized at work PLAY DRUM or PLAY NOTE (and locale interface select !!!)
The Red Button (stop scripts) disables redirection MIDI.

The image Scratch.image for Scratch1.4 Beta7 (works and in the previous versions) was used.  In Scratch 1.4RC external MIDI does not work - stirs patch Kazuhiro Abee.

Used squeak-3.10-1, in squeak-3.10-5 bug in play MP3



P.S. It's a "draft" variant.

Offline

 

#78 2009-06-10 09:27:50

gromko
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-07-17
Posts: 10

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

The sound and midi problem in Scratch for Linux - next step:

1. Disable PulseAudio - not support on current version squeak-audio

2. Disable a sound server arTs (or use artsdsp in Scratch startup script)

3. Use startup script for the TiMidity ALSA sequencer interface (best variant -timidity automatically starting on boot system) or manual run timidity as midi-server (from root or sudo - very bad idea):

timidity -iADq -Os

Write this script and save as "midi_support". Set execute permission for this script.

#!/bin/sh
## MIDI support for Scratch

if egrep -q 'TiMidity' /proc/asound/seq/clients 2>/dev/null;
    then
## loop, if squeak running
    while ( ps -A | grep 'squeak' >/dev/null ); do   
## if Squeak midi port exist?
        if  ( aconnect -i | egrep -q 'Squeak' >/dev/null);
        then
             if ! egrep -q 'Connecting To: 128:0' /proc/asound/seq/clients 2>/dev/null
                then aconnect Squeak:0 TiMidity:0
             fi
        fi;
    done
    else echo "TiMidity server not run"
fi       

4. Run Scratch startup script.
6. Run 'midi-support' script
7. Selecr language interface for Scratch (!!!) for creating MIDI-port (???)
8. Test: play sound, sound record and midi work fine.

My startup  script for run Scratch:

/usr/bin/artsdsp /usr/share/Scratch/squeak/squeak -plugins /usr/share/Scratch/squeak /usr/share/Scratch/Scratch.image &


Scratch.image for Scratch1.4 Beta7 (works and in the previous versions).
Squeak - squeak-3.10-1.

My Linux: Mandriva 2009 (KDE 3.5)

Offline

 

#79 2009-06-10 10:44:20

gromko
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-07-17
Posts: 10

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

New!
Skip step 1 and 2 in previous post  -  "Disable PulseAudio, Disable arTs".

Use next startup script -

/usr/bin/padsp /usr/share/Scratch/squeak/squeak -plugins /usr/share/Scratch/squeak /usr/share/Scratch/Scratch.image &

Offline

 

#80 2009-06-10 17:16:54

gromko
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-07-17
Posts: 10

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

Update PulseAudio to 0.9.15 for correct work on PulseAudio sound server

Offline

 

#81 2009-06-11 08:16:00

gromko
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-07-17
Posts: 10

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

Finish: Scratch 1.4 for Linux - works fine. Wait official relise

Offline

 

#82 2009-07-05 09:56:32

bingbong1000
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-05-21
Posts: 2

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

Do You Think You Can Run Scratch On My PSP? it has internet. I Never Tried The Linux Or 1.4 ?<change{bingbong1000}by(

Offline

 

#83 2009-07-08 15:20:21

soft319
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-02-19
Posts: 1000+

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

I'm not sure


http://bluetetrarpg.web44.net/usercard/img.php?name=soft319

Offline

 

#84 2009-07-08 15:46:46

HaiTek
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-10-25
Posts: 25

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

I was able to get Scratch 1.4 on Kubuntu 9.04 Jaunty working (with drums and sound and everything) by manually extracting the squeak engine from the Linux 1.3 installer and dragging the Scratch.image file from my Windows 1.4 installation and (from a command line) running './squeak Scratch.image'.  big_smile
I haven't tested sharing a project or remote sensor connections tho.


UPDATE: THIS DOES NOT WORK!!!! When you try to open a project, you get a walkback, even when I used an OS X image and Scratch.ini  sad

Last edited by HaiTek (2009-07-08 16:02:17)


Check out my awesome MMO Engine!

Offline

 

#85 2009-07-11 16:11:34

xentar
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-07-08
Posts: 1

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

Hi all. I have OpenSuse 11.1. I was going to try to install scratch using source code. It was little confusing, so I tried to check, maybe, Yast will have scratch install. And it had. So to install scratch on suse just use Yast.
About sound. I don't know if uninstalling of pulseaudio helps, but in my case, I had to uninstall pulseaudio, because it brokes sound in all applications.
Pity, but it is only 1.3 version of scratch. I wander, do I miss a lot by not having 1.4 version?

Offline

 

#86 2009-07-12 10:33:58

gromko
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-07-17
Posts: 10

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

ftp://ftp.linuxcenter.ru/pub/Mandriva/EduMandriva/educontrib/2009.0/i586/scratch-1.3.1-2mdv2009.0.i586.rpm

ftp://ftp.linuxcenter.ru/pub/Mandriva/EduMandriva/educontrib/2009.0/i586/scratch-1.4.0-1edm2009.0.i586.rpm

ftp://ftp.linuxcenter.ru/pub/Mandriva/EduMandriva/educontrib/2009.1/i586/non-free/release/scratch-1.4.0-2edm2009.1.i586.rpm


ftp://ftp.pbone.net/mirror/ftp5.gwdg.de/pub/opensuse/repositories/Education/openSUSE_11.0/noarch/scratch-1.3.1-3.3.noarch.rpm

Offline

 

#87 2009-07-13 14:28:37

mschlager
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-03-09
Posts: 15

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

scratch-1.4.0_0.0-2_i386.deb on ubuntu jaunty - sound issues

I installed scratch-1.4.0_0.0-2_i386.deb on my dell mini 9 with ubuntu 9.04 (jaunty) today. I also had to install timidity.

Using the startscript scratch included

Code:

#!/bin/sh
if [ -f /usr/bin/timidity ];
        then
## if TiMidity not run
            if ! egrep -q 'TiMidity' /proc/asound/seq/clients 2>/dev/null
## Run timidity as server-mode
                        then if  timidity -iADq -Os | egrep -q '128'    
## if use midi port not 128:0
                                 then echo 'MIDI port - Ok'
                                 else echo 'MIDI port not supported'
                             fi
            fi
        else echo "TiMidity not found - MIDI off"
fi
## run scratch                  
/usr/share/scratch/App/squeak -plugins /usr/share/scratch/Plugins /usr/share/scratch/Scratch.image "${@}"

I get no sound at all - not even

[blocks]<play sound[ meow )>[/blocks]

works - I just don't hear anything. Instead I get this error-message in the Linux-terminal:

Code:

soundStart: snd_add_pcm_handler: Function not implemented

When I use the old startscript - not sure whether it was included with sratch 1.4 RC or with the scratch-1.3-installer:

Code:

#!/bin/sh
# This script is a squeakvm wrapper to load Scratch image.
# Reza Iskandar Achmad <reza@chipset.or.id>
#------------------------------------------------------------

aoss_wrapper=`which aoss`

exec $aoss_wrapper /usr/share/scratch/App/squeak \
        -plugins /usr/share/scratch/Plugins \
        -vm-sound-OSS \
        /usr/share/scratch/Scratch.image "${@}"

# Should check to see if Alsa is present, and if so use the wrapper.
# otherwise, just use OSS.

sound works fine - even the midi-blocks

[blocks]
<play note(  )for(  )secss>
<play drum(  )for(  )secss>
[/blocks]

I guess not even timidity is needed for that.
There's a huge delay though, but this may be an issue of the atom-cpu on the netbook.

Offline

 

#88 2009-07-16 12:53:09

onedudeuk
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-01-11
Posts: 100+

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

Hmmm.. Could be a bug. Best run before it attacks you :-)


http://i.imgur.com/1FaX3.gif
http://i.imgur.com/yu0s1.gif

Offline

 

#89 2009-07-20 08:58:15

fruit
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-04-24
Posts: 1000+

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

gromko wrote:

ftp://ftp.linuxcenter.ru/pub/Mandriva/EduMandriva/educontrib/2009.0/i586/scratch-1.3.1-2mdv2009.0.i586.rpm

ftp://ftp.linuxcenter.ru/pub/Mandriva/EduMandriva/educontrib/2009.0/i586/scratch-1.4.0-1edm2009.0.i586.rpm

ftp://ftp.linuxcenter.ru/pub/Mandriva/EduMandriva/educontrib/2009.1/i586/non-free/release/scratch-1.4.0-2edm2009.1.i586.rpm


ftp://ftp.pbone.net/mirror/ftp5.gwdg.de/pub/opensuse/repositories/Education/openSUSE_11.0/noarch/scratch-1.3.1-3.3.noarch.rpm

Are those... what I think they are?

I've been trying t convert Scratch to RPM FOREVER now.


@savi3000 | hcsmp.com

Offline

 

#90 2009-07-20 15:30:38

Lightnin
Scratch Team
Registered: 2008-11-03
Posts: 1000+

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

mschlager wrote:

When I use the old startscript - not sure whether it was included with sratch 1.4 RC or with the scratch-1.3-installer:

Code:

#!/bin/sh
# This script is a squeakvm wrapper to load Scratch image.
# Reza Iskandar Achmad <reza@chipset.or.id>
#------------------------------------------------------------

aoss_wrapper=`which aoss`

exec $aoss_wrapper /usr/share/scratch/App/squeak \
        -plugins /usr/share/scratch/Plugins \
        -vm-sound-OSS \
        /usr/share/scratch/Scratch.image "${@}"

# Should check to see if Alsa is present, and if so use the wrapper.
# otherwise, just use OSS.

sound works fine - even the midi-blocks

[blocks]
<play note(  )for(  )secss>
<play drum(  )for(  )secss>
[/blocks]

I guess not even timidity is needed for that.
There's a huge delay though, but this may be an issue of the atom-cpu on the netbook.

Hi Mschlager -
Thanks for trying this out!

I think I'll update the package to use the old script by Reza, and to request that aoss be installed (also necessary for this approach to work). Playback does work on my machine (albeit delayed), but pressing record causes Scratch / Squeak to crash with error:

lightnin@Holdfast:~$ ./scratch-oss
squeak: /home/shiro/Squeak-3.10-4/platforms/unix/vm-sound-OSS/sqUnixSoundOSS.c:355: dspOpen: Assertion `dsp->fd < 0' failed.
Aborted

By the way, we decided to fake midi playback in the latest image, so we aren't really using timidity... I'll take out the dependency before I build the next package.


Help Scratchers make the leap to 2.0!
http://img818.imageshack.us/img818/6844/transitionteam.jpg

Offline

 

#91 2009-07-20 17:02:50

Lightnin
Scratch Team
Registered: 2008-11-03
Posts: 1000+

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

Ok, I've just made a new package that uses ye olde OSS plugin. Sound playback appears to work, if a bit delayed.

http://info.scratch.mit.edu/Linux_installer

Anyone out there with experience working with sound in Linux? We sure could use some help. See the "Known Issues" section of page above.


Help Scratchers make the leap to 2.0!
http://img818.imageshack.us/img818/6844/transitionteam.jpg

Offline

 

#92 2009-07-26 11:16:00

11weirdo7
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-25
Posts: 27

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

Just a quick question from a non-coder:
This is for Linux, but it also says "Ubuntu". My laptop's Linux OS is Fedora, will this still work?

Thanks in advance.


http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/9721/manaphybannerxe4.png

Offline

 

#93 2009-07-27 12:50:10

Lightnin
Scratch Team
Registered: 2008-11-03
Posts: 1000+

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

11weirdo7 wrote:

Just a quick question from a non-coder:
This is for Linux, but it also says "Ubuntu". My laptop's Linux OS is Fedora, will this still work?

Thanks in advance.

I'll give a little background in case it's useful. Different Linux distributions use different packaging formats. The one we've created is for Ubuntu Linux (which is based on Debian Linux, so it should work for that variety too).  The installer package ends in .deb.  To install it on a Fedora system, you'll want to convert the package to Fedora's package format, called .rpm.  There's a piece of software called alien thats supposed to help you do just that. You can find it here:
http://kitenet.net/~joey/code/alien/

We've never tried it though. If you do, please let us know how it goes!


Help Scratchers make the leap to 2.0!
http://img818.imageshack.us/img818/6844/transitionteam.jpg

Offline

 

#94 2009-08-02 02:38:26

kskristinesmith
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-08-02
Posts: 1

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

This is a reply for the fist post. This seems familiar since I had this before and I used this website that really helped me a lot. http://info.scratch.mit.edu/Linux_installer/How_to_Build_the_Scratch_Installer_for_Linux






Kristine
fast slim

Last edited by kskristinesmith (2009-08-02 02:38:44)

Offline

 

#95 2009-08-23 12:47:46

coolperson
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-08-21
Posts: 1000+

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

What is the status on scratch for linux? I heard that they were making it, but that was almost a year ago.


Coolperson- 2012 National Vex Robotics Finalist!
http://www.scratch.mit.edu/ext/youtube/?v=sn7p84DQFyk

Offline

 

#96 2009-08-26 12:38:15

marckh
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-08-26
Posts: 4

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

It works for me film streaming

Offline

 

#97 2009-09-23 02:01:44

tcb
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-03-25
Posts: 100+

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

I can't install the .deb file, running ubuntu 9.04. I don't have internet on that machine, so im copying everything onto a disc and putting it into the machine. I then tried the "original" way of doing it, and thats getting squeak, then getting the .image, but it still wont work.


http://goo.gl/eCQLihttp://goo.gl/sK54shttp://goo.gl/jC0dehttp://goo.gl/yhGLQhttp://goo.gl/wqvsQ

Offline

 

#98 2009-09-23 16:41:37

dmoko
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-05-01
Posts: 5

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

tcb, what happens exactly when you try to install the deb?

Offline

 

#99 2009-09-23 17:07:33

gershmer
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-02-12
Posts: 1000+

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

tcb wrote:

I can't install the .deb file, running ubuntu 9.04. I don't have internet on that machine, so im copying everything onto a disc and putting it into the machine. I then tried the "original" way of doing it, and thats getting squeak, then getting the .image, but it still wont work.

are you typing in exactly this:

Code:

sudo dpkg -i <name of deb>.deb

Visit my site, Gershmer.net
Leave me a voicemail at my Google Voice number, [removed]

Offline

 

#100 2009-09-24 02:59:31

tcb
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-03-25
Posts: 100+

Re: ITopic: scratch on linux

I'm not quite sure exactly what happens, but I know that the deb wont work, and I think its because the internet isn't working.
@gershmer: I amn't even going near the command line.


http://goo.gl/eCQLihttp://goo.gl/sK54shttp://goo.gl/jC0dehttp://goo.gl/yhGLQhttp://goo.gl/wqvsQ

Offline

 

Board footer