This is a read-only archive of the old Scratch 1.x Forums.
Try searching the current Scratch discussion forums.

#1 2009-07-25 00:18:19

throughthefire
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-07-09
Posts: 1000+

Suggestion for scratch 1.5

I think that you could add new versions of variables like floats, booleans, or doubles. Another thing that would benefit is the addition of arrays. You should also make the multiplayer feature online instead of having to create it outside.


Back. For now. Maybe.

Offline

 

#2 2009-07-25 08:52:45

shadow_7283
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-07
Posts: 1000+

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

Cool ideas, but some of them are a bit unneccasary. For instance, a list is basically an array with a different take on it. Now, if you were suggesting that the new feature has a new form of dimensions and such, I would be all for it.  smile  Also, our current form of variables could act as any of your suggestions above, with the write programming, but I'm not quite sure what you mean about "Boolean" variables. Could you explain them a bit more?
I completely agree with your online multiplayer suggestion, but it will definentely take a lot of time and extensive programing in order to release it to the average Scratcher, because there are so many things that could go dangerously wrong.

Offline

 

#3 2009-07-25 11:58:30

throughthefire
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-07-09
Posts: 1000+

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

Booleans are basically true or false
EXAMPLE:

If (Boolean) = True
Say: THE BOOLEAN IS TRUE!!!!



Oh yeah, and the online multiplayer could take time, but it would be worth it!


Back. For now. Maybe.

Offline

 

#4 2009-07-25 12:05:56

shadow_7283
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-07
Posts: 1000+

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

The boolean suggestion can already be done with the current variable system. It just requires about two extra blocks.  wink

Offline

 

#5 2009-07-25 12:17:28

BWOG
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-09-19
Posts: 1000+

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

Yeah, by doing
Set Varible to Boolean

Offline

 

#6 2009-07-26 15:26:26

Rivendain
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-04-08
Posts: 9

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

There should be a recieving broadcast block that fits inside other blocks so you could say something like 'repeat until I recieve ...' That would make so many more things possible.
[blocks] <repeat until><when I receive[  [/blocks]

Last edited by Rivendain (2009-07-26 15:29:35)

Offline

 

#7 2009-08-04 00:23:06

throughthefire
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-07-09
Posts: 1000+

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

Maybe you could build custom procedures. For example, instead of writing all of that space taking code for jumping, you can just make a procedure for that so on all of your games you make, you can use the jump procedure to save time and space! Wouldn't that be awesome?


Back. For now. Maybe.

Offline

 

#8 2009-08-04 07:44:48

technoguyx
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-10-18
Posts: 1000+

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

I don't know what floats and double variables are, but a boolean is pretty much the same as a regular variable - Just use 2 different values, like 0 and 1, or True and False.

Multiplayer has been suggested many times already and the Scratch Team probably won't add it anytime soon (although they were testing a multiplayer feature on the Scratch Day 1.4 Beta. It was really slow, glitchy and hard to use though).

Last edited by technoguyx (2009-08-04 07:51:01)


http://getgnulinux.org/links/en/linuxliberated_4_78x116.png

Offline

 

#9 2009-08-04 10:27:03

shadow_7283
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-07
Posts: 1000+

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

throughthefire wrote:

Maybe you could build custom procedures. For example, instead of writing all of that space taking code for jumping, you can just make a procedure for that so on all of your games you make, you can use the jump procedure to save time and space! Wouldn't that be awesome?

That would be great! It would also eliminate slow programming when your are changing a script, because part of the problem is that Scratch has to reload a giant picture every time a new block is added.

Offline

 

#10 2009-08-04 10:33:44

The-Whiz
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-07-09
Posts: 1000+

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

Like custom blocks...

Offline

 

#11 2009-08-04 10:48:42

throughthefire
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-07-09
Posts: 1000+

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

Exactly!


Back. For now. Maybe.

Offline

 

#12 2009-08-06 10:54:50

blablaman
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-09-13
Posts: 89

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

[blocks]<when green flag clicked>
<if>
<set{ boolean }to( true
<else>
<set{ boolean }to( false
<end>


<forever> BLABLAMAN IS THE ABSOLUTE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!<end>

Offline

 

#13 2009-08-08 15:32:26

drhelmi
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-10-01
Posts: 100+

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

I think they need an online boolean. Example:
If <online> = true
say [You are online.]

Offline

 

#14 2009-08-08 15:34:39

The-Whiz
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-07-09
Posts: 1000+

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

Or just <online?>

Offline

 

#15 2009-08-09 11:24:50

throughthefire
Scratcher
Registered: 2009-07-09
Posts: 1000+

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

Maybe


Back. For now. Maybe.

Offline

 

#16 2009-08-09 12:02:45

sccar3
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-09-04
Posts: 100+

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

here is what i want
http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/sccar3/640971
another script i want that i didnt put in it would be a comand like this
[blocks]<when green flag clicked>[/blocks]
but instead of saying when green flag pressed it would say whenever.

Last edited by sccar3 (2009-08-09 12:06:27)


http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-WInb2DZ2LBM/UQaLETx3VII/AAAAAAAAAmQ/ZOpSwEPggiE/s1600/The%2BElder%2BScrolls%2BOnline%2BSignup%2BBeta.jpg

Offline

 

#17 2009-08-09 12:07:49

sccar3
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-09-04
Posts: 100+

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

blablaman wrote:

[blocks]<when green flag clicked>
<if>
<set{ boolean }to( true
<else>
<set{ boolean }to( false
<end>

You can do that.


http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-WInb2DZ2LBM/UQaLETx3VII/AAAAAAAAAmQ/ZOpSwEPggiE/s1600/The%2BElder%2BScrolls%2BOnline%2BSignup%2BBeta.jpg

Offline

 

#18 2009-08-09 15:59:22

shadow_7283
Scratcher
Registered: 2007-11-07
Posts: 1000+

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

The-Whiz wrote:

Or just <online?>

You already can, just not with a block. http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/BoltBait/480964
The problem is, people could use this feature to there advantage if they didn't want their project to be playable online, that way they could get a lot of downloads.

Offline

 

#19 2009-08-09 16:05:15

technoman
Scratcher
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 500+

Re: Suggestion for scratch 1.5

That's a good idea. Also for a boolean: 0 is equal to false and 1 is equal to true so boolean variables are pretty worthless to add. You could check if the variable readout was equal to 1 for true or 0 for false.

Offline

 

Board footer